S1 - Pharmacy Medicine
Available from pharmacy only
About S1 Drugs
Where S1 sits on the scale
Sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed.
Schedule 1 medicines are normally sold by a pharmacist, or by a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant, without a doctor's visit; a veterinarian, or a licensed dispensing doctor, dentist or nurse prescriber, may also supply them. A nurse or other non-doctor prescriber may only prescribe the specific substances the Schedule names for that purpose, and may only dispense them if licensed to do so. A child under 12 may only be sold one of these medicines on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises.
Cited: Act s22A(4), s22A(4)(b)
Who may supply
A pharmacist, or a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant; manufacturers and wholesalers supplying people who may lawfully possess it; a veterinarian, who may prescribe, compound or dispense it; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it, and may compound or dispense it only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); a nurse or other registered non-doctor prescriber, who may prescribe only the Scheduled substances the Schedule identifies for that purpose, and dispense them if licensed to do so; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Cited: Act s22A(4)(a)(ii), s22A(4)(a)(iii), s22A(4)(a)(iv), s22A(4)(a)(v)(aa), s22A(6)(r)
Advertising: May be advertised to the public.
Cited: reg 42(1) (General Regulations, 2017)
Labelling: Must show the letter S and the number 1 in a square border, immediately before the product's brand name.
Cited: reg 10(1)(a) (General Regulations, 2017)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
S1 Scheduled Drugs
| Name | Variants | Applicant | Number | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mebendazole (Rioworm, Adco-wormex) | tablets, suspension, 100 mg, 100mg/ 5ml, 500 mg | Adcock ingram limited | 6 registrations | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Loceryl) | 50 mg/1 ml. | Galderma Laboratories S.A. (Pty) Ltd | 270163 | S1 |
| Ibuprofen (Brufen Sugar-free, Brufen, Brufen Rapid, +4 more) | suspension, granules, 400 mg, 200mg, 400, 600 | Abbott Laboratories S.A. (Pty) Ltd | 9 registrations | S1 |
| Clotrimazole (Fungistop Topical, *Fungistop Vaginal, Clofunzo Vaginal, +1 more) | 10 mg | Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Acetylcysteine (Solmucol, Tussmuco, Parvolex, +1 more) | 200, 400, 600 mg, 200mg / 10ml, 100 | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 7 registrations | S2 |
| Flurbiprofen (Transact, Strepsils Intensive) | 8.75mg | Reckitt Benckinser Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Mebendazole (Wormgo, D-worm Sd, Wormgo Chew) | tablets, suspension | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Clotrimazole (Xeraspor T, Xeraspor V) | 1 g, cream | FDC SA (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Pancreatin (Creon, Pankreozym) | 25 000, 10 000, 40 000 | Abbott Laboratories S.A. (Pty) Ltd | 5 registrations | S1 |
| Amylmetacresol, dichlorobenzyl alcohol, lidocaine (Strepsils Numbing) | 2.4 mg / 1.2 mg / 0.6 mg | Reckitt Benckinser Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 280647 | S1 |
| Nicotine (Nicorette, Nicorette Mint, Nicorette Microtab, +5 more) | 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg, 2 mg, 4 mg, inhaler, 25 mg, 1 mg | Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East London | 19 registrations | S1 |
| Mebendazole (D-worm Ped) | Not stated | Triomed (Pty) Ltd | 290286 | S1 |
| Miconazole (Gyno-daktarin, Daktarin) | 200 mg 1, 20mg / 1g | Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East London | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Sodium cromoglycate (Cromobex, Lecrolyn Sdu, Lecrolyn) | 20 mg/ml, 40 mg/ml | Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | 5 registrations | S1 |
| Hyoscine-n-butyl (A-lennon Hyoscine Butylbromide, Hyospasmol, Hyospasmol Tabblet) | 20mg/1ml, 20 mg, 5 ml, 10 mg, injection | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 5 registrations | S1 |
| Clotrimazole (Canesten Duopak, Canesten 3vc, Canesten Vaginal, +2 more) | 500mg, 100mg / 10g, 20mg / 1g, tablets, cream, 1, 500mg / 5g | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 7 registrations | S1 |
| Mebendazole (Cipex) | tablets | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Lidocaine, prilocaine (Emla) | 25 mg/ 25 mg, 5% | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Mebendazole (Wormstop) | suspension, 100, 500 mg | Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) Ltd | 3 registrations | S1 |
| Ibuprofen (Nurofen For Children Orange, Nurofen Express, Nurofen, +8 more) | 100 mg per 5 ml, 200 mg, caplets, gel capsules, gel, 200mg, 400mg, 200, powder, 400, tablets, 200 mg per 5 ml | Reckitt Benckinser Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 16 registrations | S2 |
| Fexofenadine (Telfast) | 120, 180 mg, suspension | Opella Healthcare South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 3 registrations | S1 |
| Mebendazole (Vermox Sd, Vermox) | suspension, 100 mg, 500 mg | Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East London | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Azelaic acid (Skinoren, Skinoren Acne) | gel, cream | Adcock ingram limited | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Paracetamol (Paracetamol Austell, Pacipayn) | 500 mg | Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Cetirizine (Allecet, Acuzyrt) | 10,0 mg, tablets, 1 mL | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Cetirizine (Seasoneze) | 10 mg | Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | 370086 | S1 |
| Cetirizine (Zelary, Austell Cetirizine, Cetirizine Austell) | 10 mg, 5 mg | Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Cetirizine (Zyncet) | 10 mg | Unichem SA (Pty) Ltd | 370651 | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexaway, Tellerge) | 120, 180, 120 mg, 180 mg | Adcock ingram limited | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fastway) | 120, 180 | Dr Reddyæs Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Acetylcysteine (Pholtex Mucus) | 200 mg | Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 430512 | S1 |
| Oxymetazoline (Sinarest) | 1 mL | Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Levocetirizine (Texamer) | 5 mg, 0,5 mg/ml | Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Levocetirizine (Cetorin) | 5 mg, 2,5 MG/ 5 ML | Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Acetylcysteine (Mucofizz) | 200 mg | Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | 460384 | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (* Fexofenadine Unicorn, Fexofenadine Clicks) | 120 mg, 180 mg | Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Sensafex, Obihist) | 120 mg, 180 mg | Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Onyban) | 5 % | Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 480207 | S1 |
| Benzydamine, chlorhexidine gluconate (Gesoral) | 15 ml | Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | 480942 | S1 |
| Levocetirizine (Levocetirizine Austell, Lergilez, Lezlerg) | 5 mg, 2 mg | Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 3 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexxtab) | 120, 180 | Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Oxymetazoline (Iliadin Aloe) | 1,0 ml | P&g South African Trading (Pty) Ltd | 50335 | S1 |
| Xylometazoline (Zylovin, Nasylo) | 1 mg/mL | Lamar International (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexohet) | 120, 180 | Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Amorolfine Glenmark) | 50 mg | Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 530560 | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Amofun, Fungoryl) | 50 mg | Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Benzydamine, cetylpyridinium (Septolete Co, Septolete Plus) | lozenge, 1.5mg/5mg/ml | LHC Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Entop | 5 mg, 50 mg | Medfour Healthcare CC | 550512 | S1 |
| Acetycysteine (Acc For) | 200 mg | Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 550685 | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Amortivo) | 5 % | Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | 550751 | S1 |
| Phenylephrine (Rusaine) | 10 mg | Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | 560060 | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Lyrecol) | 5 % w/v | Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | 560174 | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexofenadine Kiara) | 120, 180 | Kiara Health (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Terbinafine (Terbane Nail, Terbinafine Unicorn, Terbane, +1 more) | 10 % w/w, 250, 10 mg, cream | Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Amorolfine (Lovacil) | 5% | Astral Pharma (Pty) Ltd | 561212 | S1 |
| Acetylcysteine (Mucoloc, Corenza Muco, Acetylcysteine Adco) | 200, 600 | Adcock ingram limited | 5 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexofenadine Pharma-q) | 120, 180 | Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fenoaleji) | Not stated | Pharmacorp (Pty) Ltd | 590031 | S1 |
| Hyoscine butylbromide (Juposci) | 5 mg | Adcock Ingram Healthcare (Pty) Ltd - Clayville | 590174 | S1 |
| Oxibendazole (Seroh) | Not stated | Logos Agvet (Pty) Ltd | 83/521 | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fenohist) | 120, 180 | Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fenofex) | 120 | Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | A380407 | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fenofex) | 180 | Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) Ltd | A380408 | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexo, Cipla-fexofenadine Hydrochloride) | 120, 180 | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Fexogen) | 120mg/180mg | Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Fexofenadine (Pollofex) | 120, 180 | Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Ox bile, dried, pancreatin (Nutrizym) | Not stated | Merck (Pty) Ltd | E0509 | S1 |
| Pancreatin (Combizym) Cancelled | Not stated | Swisspharm (Pty) Ltd | E0558 | S1 |
| Bile salts, pancreatin (Entozyme) Cancelled | Not stated | A H Robins Co (SA) (Pty) Ltd* | E0926 | S1 |
| Thiomersal (Merthiolate Tincture) | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | G1352 | S1 |
| Thiomersal (Micro Thiomersalate Tincture) | Not stated | Micro Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | G1461 | S1 |
| Procaine (Gerovital) Cancelled | Not stated | Pharmapak Company (Pty) Ltd* | G2645 | S1 |
| Ethyl (Adco-ethyl Chloride) | spray | Adcock ingram limited | G2750 | S1 |
| Procaine (Procaine In Saline) Cancelled | 1 % | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G2768 | S1 |
| Procaine (Pulperyl) Cancelled | Not stated | Er Bernard Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | H1102 | S1 |
| Mebendazole (Victoria Worm, Wormazol) | syrup | Resmed healthcare | 2 registrations | S1 |
| Ibuprofen (Lenafen, Adfen, Adco-ibuprofen, +3 more) | 200 mg, tablets, 400 mg, capsules | Adcock ingram limited | 6 registrations | S1 |
| Pramoxine (Anusol Pain Relief) | ointment | Mdi Healthcare CC | T0065 | S1 |
| Malathion (Lesoderm) | lotion | Resmed healthcare | T0205 | S1 |
| Fluorescein (Minims Fluorescein Sodium) | 10 mg | Soflens (Pty) Ltd | T86 | S1 |
| Benzocaine, chlorhexidine gluconate (Coryx Throat) | 100 mL | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | W0058 | S1 |
| Ketoprofen (Fastum) | 2.5 g per 100 g | Menarini South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Z0165 | S1 |