Benzocaine
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 4, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
7 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benzocaine, chlorhexidine gluconate | Orochlor, Coryx throat | spray solution, 100 ml | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 |
| Benzocaine | Orajel mouth, Nitro toothache, Orosoothe | gel, drops | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Benzocaine, mepyramine, paracetamol Cancelled | Vidol | powders | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | B0917 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Benzocaine a | Kiddigum | Not stated | Allied Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | G2817 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Benzocaine, phenazone | Otised ear, Aurasept | drops | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Benzocaine, chloramphenicol | Covotop | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | H1473 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Benzocaine, phenazone, sulfacetamide, urea | Covancaine | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | H1474 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
22 more registered products name Benzocaine in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benzocaine, cetylpyridinium | Benylin medi-kain throat, Medi-kain coolmint, Cepacol plus blackcurrant, +6 more | lozenges | 3 applicants | 9 registrations | |
| Benzocaine, cetylpyridinium, dextromethorphan | Cepacol cough discs | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | B0163 | |
| Benzocaine, phenylmercuric Cancelled | Eudicaine | Not stated | Rexall (Pty) Ltd * | E1192 | |
| Benzocaine, salicylamide | Intralgin | Not stated | Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | G1719 | |
| Benzocaine, chlorbutol, diiodohydroxyquinoline | Viodor | cream | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | G1782 | |
| Benzocaine, calamine, pheniramine, phenol | Calasthetic | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G1796 | |
| Benzocaine, triclosan | Solarcaine | spray, cream, lotion | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | |
| Benzocaine, calamine, camphor, diphenhydramine Cancelled | Histamed | lotion | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G1895 | |
| Benzocaine, menthol | Numzit | Not stated | Beige Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | G1992 | |
| Benzocaine, calamine, camphor, diphenhydramine, zinc oxide Cancelled | Calahist | lotion | Adcock ingram limited | G2047 | |
| Benzocaine, calamine, diphenhydramine | Beracal | lotion | Hoechst Marion Roussel Ltd | G2091 | |
| Benzocaine, calamine a, mepyramine | Calbentol | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G2189 |
Show the other 10 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benzocaine, benzyl alcohol, cetylpyridinium, cinchocaine | Medi-keel a throat gargle | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | H0199 | |
| Benzocaine, cetrimide, chlorhexidine, vitamin a palmitate Cancelled | Aeroceutical burn-med | Not stated | Linkpark / Link Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | H1038 | |
| Benzocaine, benzyl alcohol, castor oil, chlorhexidine, menthol, vitamin a palmitate Cancelled | Burn-a-sept | spray | Adcock ingram limited | H1048 | |
| Benzocaine, benzyl alcohol, cetrimide, chlorhexidine, vitamin a palmitate Cancelled | Sprayburn | Not stated | T goldberg * | H1056 | |
| Benzocaine, cetrimide, chlorhexidine Cancelled | Burn-aid | Not stated | De-nol Laboratories CC | H1058 | |
| Benzocaine, cetrimide | Benzet, Orocaine throat | lozenges | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | |
| Benzocaine, chlorbutol, phenazone | Aurone forte, Auratal, Oti-ezze, +2 more | drops | 4 applicants | 5 registrations | |
| Benzocaine, benzyl alcohol, cetylpyridinium | Endcol throat | lozenges | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | H1392 | |
| Benzocaine, chlorbutol, ephedrine, phenazone, potassium hydroxyquinoline Cancelled | B.c.co | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | H1404 | |
| Benzocaine, glycerol a ad, phenazone Cancelled | Auralyt | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | H1480 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Benzocaine
S4: Benzocaine
- when intended for ophthalmic or parenteral use;
- except in lozenges containing 30 milligrams or less of benzocaine, per dosage unit; (S1)
- except when intended for topical use; (S1)
- except in preparations containing 2 percent or less of benzocaine. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5467 to 5475
S1: Benzocaine
- when intended for topical use;
- in oral preparations containing 2 percent or less of benzocaine;
- in lozenges containing 30 milligrams or less of benzocaine, per dosage unit;
- except when intended for ophthalmic or parenteral use. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 156 to 164
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.