Skip to content
zameds

Vitamin B1

Listed in the Consolidated Schedules as “Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) and derivatives thereof

Schedule 1 to 3, conditions apply
Loading the molecular structure
C12H17N4OS+265.36 g/mol

2-[3-[(4-Amino-2-methylpyrimidin-5-yl)methyl]-4-methyl-1,3-thiazol-3-ium-5-yl]ethanol

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 1130.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Listing

Schedules
Schedule 1 to 3, conditions apply
Exceptions reach
Schedule 0
Also listed as
Thiamine (Schedule 1 and 3), see Vitamin B1
Source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Registered medicines

12 registered products listed

Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.

Registered products
NameBrandsDosagesApplicantsRegistrationsSchedule
Magnesium chloride, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, vitamin b6, zinc sulphateVitamag, Vitamag forteNot stated2 applicants2 registrationsS1 to S3conditions apply
Ascorbic acid, caffeine, ephedrine, thiamine, vitamin a CancelledBe-leane slimmingcapsulesThe Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdE1251S1 to S6conditions apply
Nicotinamide, thiamineGertges special reconstructive tonicNot statedTechnikon Laboratories (Pty) Ltd û Anvil RoadG2452S1 to S3conditions apply
ThiamineIntsimbi yokutya kwegazi, Thiamine hydrochloride, A-lennon thiamine, +1 more50 mg, injection3 applicants4 registrationsS1 to S3conditions apply
Nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, yeast a CancelledBrewers yeast fortifiedNot statedPharmacare limited û woodmeadH2042S1 to S3conditions apply
Thiamine, yeast a CancelledBrewers yeast, Forvite brewers yeastNot statedPharmacare limited û woodmead2 registrationsS1 to S3conditions apply
Ergocalciferol, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin b2, vitamin b6, vitamin c CancelledNorstan-multivitaminsyrupHoechst Marion Roussel LtdH2072S1 to S3conditions apply
Ergocalciferol, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin b2, vitamin c CancelledNorstan-multivitamintabletHoechst Marion Roussel LtdH2094S1 to S3conditions apply
Thiamine, vitamin b12, vitamin b6Neurobion3 mlMerck (Pty) LtdH2488S1 to S3conditions apply
Nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin c, vitamin d CancelledMultiple vitamintabletHoechst Marion Roussel LtdH2496S1 to S3conditions apply
Ergocalciferol, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, vitamin c CancelledAdamoltabletsHoechst Marion Roussel LtdH2500S1 to S3conditions apply
Biotin, folic acid, nicotinamide, pantothenic acid, pyridoxine, thiamine, vitamin b12, vitamin b2, vitamin cSoluvit novum10 mlFresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) LtdU0200S1 to S3conditions apply

Regulatory status

Where S1 to S3 sits on the scale

Depends on which listing applies

At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 3: needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.

Schedule S1 to S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Vitamin b1

  • S3: Vitamin B1 (Thiamine)

    • in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
    • except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 100 mg of Vitamin B1 per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients. (S1)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 4392 to 4397

  • S1: Vitamin B1 (Thiamine)

    • in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 100 mg of Vitamin B1 per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
    • except in preparations thereof for injection. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1149 to 1154

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles