Lidocaine
2-(Diethylamino)-N-(2,6-dimethylphenyl)acetamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 3676.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 4, conditions apply
- Also listed as
- Lignocaine (Schedule 1 and 4), see Lidocaine
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
14 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lidocaine, prilocaine | Emla, Topla | 5%, 25 mg/ 25 mg | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 |
| Lidocaine | Merck-ceftriaxone diluent, Lignocaine-hcl b braun, Versatis, +24 more | 0,5 %, 1 % 10 ML, 1 % 20 ML, 1 % 5 ML, +19 more | 12 applicants | 43 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Chlorhexidine gluconate, lidocaine | Endostil | 6 ml, 11 ml | Gen-eye (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Bromhexine, lidocaine, oxytetracycline | Bisolvomycin vet | Not stated | Janssen Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | 83/329 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Dequalinium, lidocaine | Dequadin mouth paint, Flusin | lozenges | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Betamethasone valerate, lidocaine, phenylephrine | Betnovate compound | suppositories | Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) Limited | E0538 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Lidocaine, methylprednisolone Cancelled | Depo-medrol with lidocaine | Not stated | Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | F0228 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Epinephrine bitartrate, lidocaine | Lignotox "a", Lignane a, Lidocaine a | 80 | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Lidocaine, norepinephrine bitartrate | Lignane 'n' dental cartridges, Lidocaine n dental cart. | 80 | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Lidocaine, norepinephrine | Xylotox l | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | G2798 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Lidocaine, neomycin, prednisolone | Optacin ear /oordruppels | drops/oordruppels | Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) Ltd | H1419 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Epinephrine, lidocaine | Lignospan | 2% | The Dental Warehouse (Pty) Ltd | J0208 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
Show the other 2 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fluorescein, lidocaine Cancelled | Minims lidocaine and fluorescein | Not stated | Soflens (Pty) Ltd | L0369 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Adrenaline, lidocaine | Xylotox e80-a, Xylestesin-a, Locaine a | Not stated | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
2 more registered products name Lidocaine in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lidocaine, lindane, neomycin, nystatin, triamcinolone acetonide Cancelled | Oridermyl | Not stated | Bayer (Pty) Ltd (Animal Health Division) | 83/795 | |
| Cetrimide, lidocaine | Xylonor | gel | The Dental Warehouse (Pty) Ltd | X0881 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Lidocaine
S4: Lidocaine
- when intended for ophthalmic or parenteral use;
- when intended for the treatment of neuropathic pain associated with previous herpes zoster infection;
- except when intended for topical use; (S1)
- except in oral preparations containing 2 percent or less of lidocaine per dosage form. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 6923 to 6935
S1: Lidocaine
- when intended for topical use;
- in oral preparations containing 2 percent or less of lidocaine, per dosage unit;
- except when intended for ophthalmic or parenteral use; (S4)
- except when intended for the treatment of neuropathic pain associated with previous herpes zoster infection. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 777 to 786
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.