Nicotinamide
Listed in the Consolidated Schedules as “Nicotinamide and derivatives thereof”
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
9 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magnesium chloride, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, vitamin b6, zinc sulphate | Vitamag, Vitamag forte | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Nicotinamide, thiamine | Gertges special reconstructive tonic | Not stated | Technikon Laboratories (Pty) Ltd û Anvil Road | G2452 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Nicotinamide Cancelled | Nicotinamide | 50 MG, 100 MG | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | 2 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, yeast a Cancelled | Brewers yeast fortified | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | H2042 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Ergocalciferol, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin b2, vitamin b6, vitamin c Cancelled | Norstan-multivitamin | syrup | Hoechst Marion Roussel Ltd | H2072 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Ergocalciferol, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin b2, vitamin c Cancelled | Norstan-multivitamin | tablet | Hoechst Marion Roussel Ltd | H2094 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin c, vitamin d Cancelled | Multiple vitamin | tablet | Hoechst Marion Roussel Ltd | H2496 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Ergocalciferol, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, vitamin c Cancelled | Adamol | tablets | Hoechst Marion Roussel Ltd | H2500 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Biotin, folic acid, nicotinamide, pantothenic acid, pyridoxine, thiamine, vitamin b12, vitamin b2, vitamin c | Soluvit novum | 10 ml | Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) Ltd | U0200 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
3 more registered products name Nicotinamide in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nicotinamide, phenobarbitone, pyridoxine, riboflavine, thiamine | Adco-phenobarbitone vitalet | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | B1492 | |
| Nicotinamide, panthenol a, thiamine, vitamin a, vitamin b6, vitamin c, vitamin d | Genvite | injection | Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd | H2557 | |
| Modified starch, nicotinamide, starch maize, sucrose | Nicotinamide unimed | 100 mg | Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | T1208 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 sits on the scale
Sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed.
Schedule 1 medicines are normally sold by a pharmacist, or by a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant, without a doctor's visit; a veterinarian, or a licensed dispensing doctor, dentist or nurse prescriber, may also supply them. A nurse or other non-doctor prescriber may only prescribe the specific substances the Schedule names for that purpose, and may only dispense them if licensed to do so. A child under 12 may only be sold one of these medicines on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises.
Schedule S1, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist, or a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant; manufacturers and wholesalers supplying people who may lawfully possess it; a veterinarian, who may prescribe, compound or dispense it; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it, and may compound or dispense it only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); a nurse or other registered non-doctor prescriber, who may prescribe only the Scheduled substances the Schedule identifies for that purpose, and dispense them if licensed to do so; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Nicotinamide
S1: Nicotinamide
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 500 mg of Nicotinamide per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients. (S0)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 886 to 888
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.