Ephedrine
(1R,2S)-2-(Methylamino)-1-phenylpropan-1-ol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 9294.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 6, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
10 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caffeine, chlorpheniramine, ephedrine, paracetamol | Sinuend, Flusin, Sinucon | 200 mg/6 mg/ 20 mg/2 mg | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S2 |
| Chlorpheniramine, ephedrine, paracetamol | Grippon cold and flu, Colcleer | syrup, tablets | Adcock ingram limited | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Ascorbic acid, caffeine, ephedrine, thiamine, vitamin a Cancelled | Be-leane slimming | capsules | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | E1251 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, ephedrine, mepyramine | Kiddiekof, Resmed mephcotus | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, ephedrine, promethazine | Lenazine forte cough, Antituss cough, Sedlinct, +2 more | 9 mg/7,2 mg/3,6 mg per 5 ml, linctus, mixture, syrup | 3 applicants | 5 registrations | S2 |
| Ephedrine | Ephedrine hydrochloride lennon, Ipesandrine, Ephedrine hydrochloride, +2 more | 30 mg -, 30 MG, 60 MG, mixture, +1 more | 5 applicants | 6 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Ephedrine, mepyramine | Dykatuss co | linctus | Vesta Medicines (Pty) Ltd | G0664 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, codeine, ephedrine Cancelled | Phen e cod | mixture | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G0747 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Dextromethorphan, doxylamine, ephedrine, paracetamol | Vicks medinite | Not stated | Procter & Gamble South Africa Trading (Pty) Ltd | H0140 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Dextromethorphan, diphenhydramine, ephedrine, paracetamol Cancelled | Colcaps nite med | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | S0155 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
1 more registered product name Ephedrine in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ephedrine, eucalyptus oil, menthol, sodium bromide, thyme tincture | Bronchicum | elixir | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | G0634 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S6 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 6: prescription-only, no repeats without a new prescription. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S6, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Ephedrine
S6: Ephedrine
- except products registered in terms of the Act, not intended for export, and being oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, containing not more than 30 milligrams of ephedrine per dose, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 120 milligrams, subject to a maximum pack size of 360 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer; (S2)
- except preparations and mixtures intended for application to the skin, eyes, ears and nares and containing 1 percent or less of ephedrine. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10226 to 10235
S2: Ephedrine
- contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export,
- oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, containing not more than 30 milligrams of ephedrine per dose, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 120 milligrams, subject to a maximum pack size of 360 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer; (S6)
- except preparations and mixtures intended for application to the skin, eyes, ears and nares and containing 1 percent or less of ephedrine. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1899 to 1907
S1: Ephedrine
- preparations and mixtures intended for application to the skin, eyes, ears and nares and containing 1 percent or less of ephedrine, and not intended for export; (S6)
- except products registered in terms of the Act, not intended for export, and being oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, containing not more than 30 milligrams of ephedrine per dose, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 120 milligrams, subject to a maximum pack size of 360 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 410 to 419
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.