Phenylephrine
3-[(1R)-1-Hydroxy-2-(methylamino)ethyl]phenol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 6041.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 4, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
38 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caffeine, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Bsp cold and flu, Adco sinal ns | capsules | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Paracetamol, phenylephrine, vitamin c | Med lemon flu & congestion hot medication with vitamin c, Corenza para-c | effervescent | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Caffeine, chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine, vitamin c | Sinustat flu, Flustat, Degoran c, +1 more | capsules, 5 mg | 4 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Betalix decongestant, Rinex, Rinex diffucaps, +1 more | 5 ml, syrup | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Mepyramine, phenylephrine | Eyegene antihistamine eye | drops | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 300338 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Phenylephrine | Minims phenylephrine hydrochloride, Sudafed pe sinus decongestant, Phenylephrine cipla, +20 more | 0,1 mg/ml, 0.1/ 10mg/ml, 0,25 %, 1 %, +10 more | 19 applicants | 28 registrations | S4 |
| Brompheniramine, phenylephrine Cancelled | Dimetapp cold and allergy, Dimetapp paediatric cold & allergy | Not stated | Glaxosmithkline Consumer Healthcare SA (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Paracetamol, phenylephrine | Sinuphen sinus pain, Flutex junior cold and flu | syrup | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Dextromethorphan, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Flusin day time | capsules | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 450480 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, ibuprofen, phenylephrine | Corenza with ibuprofen, Grippon fizz with ibuprofen | effervescent tablets | Adcock ingram limited | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Paracetamol, phenylephrine, sodium citrate Cancelled | Lemsip | Not stated | Reckitt Benckinser Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | B0032 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Ascorbic acid, diphenhydramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine Cancelled | Cold stop | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | B0085 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
Show the other 26 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chlorpheniramine, phenylephrine | Demazin, Asalen paediatric | 1,25 mg and 2,5 mg,, syrup | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S2 |
| Brompheniramine, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Dimetapp extentabs, Dimetapp elixer | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Caffeine, chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Degoran plus, Grippon cold and flu, Histacon | capsules | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Codeine, mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine Cancelled | Sinupain | tablets | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0679 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Caffeine, codeine, paracetamol, pheniramine, phenylephrine Cancelled | Flupac | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0685 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Aspirin, caffeine, chlorpheniramine, phenylephrine | Dristan | tablet | Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | C0717 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Sinu-flu | tablets | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | C0739 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Ascorbic acid, caffeine, chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Grippon, Dristan cold & flu | capsules | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Codeine, diphenhydramine, mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine Cancelled | Antiflu | tablets | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0834 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Dequa-flu | Not stated | Micro Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | C0879 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Atropine, caffeine, chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine, vitamin c | Colstat | 300 mg | Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | C0955 | S2 |
| Diphenhydramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine, vitamin c | Fluend | Not stated | Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | C1009 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Caffeine, mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine Cancelled | Cetamine | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | D0031 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine, quinine, vitamin c Cancelled | Cetamine | tablets | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | D0032 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Dextromethorphan, diphenhydramine, phenylephrine Cancelled | Benyphed | Not stated | Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East London | E0198 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Betamethasone valerate, lidocaine, phenylephrine | Betnovate compound | suppositories | Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) Limited | E0538 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Dimethindene, phenylephrine | Vibrocil-s nasal, Vibrocil-s | gel, solution | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Ascorbic acid, atropine, caffeine, chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine | Famucaps | 2 mg | Brunel Laboratoria (Pty) Ltd | G1235 | S2 |
| Cyclopentolate, phenylephrine | Cyclomydril | Not stated | Alcon Laboratories (SA) (Pty) Ltd | H1149 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Phenazone, phenylephrine | Ikleer | Not stated | Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd | H1205 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Boric acid, phenylephrine | B.E. Eye | drops | Beige Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | H1223 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Borax, boric acid, phenylephrine, sodium chloride | Eye-gene eye, I-glo eye | drops | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone, neomycin, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Nasomixin | Not stated | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | H1422 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Naphazoline, phenylephrine | Jacks thick nose, Fenox nasal, Ent nasal | drops, spray | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Pheniramine, phenylephrine | Dristan nasal mist | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | H1495 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Anhydrous, caffeine, chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine, vitamin c Cancelled | Cepacol cold | capsules | Adcock ingram limited | R0247 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
1 more registered product name Phenylephrine in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phenylephrine, pholcodine | Pholtex plus | Not stated | Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 460711 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Phenylephrine
S4: Phenylephrine
- when intended for injection
- except ophthalmic preparations containing 0,2 percent or less. (S0)
- except for oral dosage forms, nasal dosage forms, or ophthalmic dosage forms containing more than 0,2 percent (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7545 to 7552
S1: Phenylephrine
- when intended for oral dosage forms, nasal dosage forms, or ophthalmic dosage forms containing more than 0,2 percent; (S1)
- except ophthalmic preparations containing 0,2 percent or less; (S0)
- except when intended for injection. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1007 to 1014
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.