Clotrimazole
Sold as Innospore, Clotrimazole vaginal dis-chem, Dis-chem clotrimazole topical, Candizole v, Normospor vaginal, Normospor, Medaspor vaginal, Fungistop topical, *Fungistop vaginal, Mycoban, Medaspor topical, Micomisan, Micomisan vaginal, Innospore topical, Merck-clotrimazole vaginal, Adco-clotrimazole vaginal, Adco-clotrimazole topical, Xeraspor t, Xeraspor v, Gynezol, Clomaderm, Canex t, Canex v, Closcript topical, Closcript vaginal, Canalba, Canalba vaginal, Ascendospor, Ascendospor vaginal, Canesten duopak, Trimaze, Gyno-trimaze vaginal, Glenmark clotrimazole vaginal, Pinaspor t, Pinaspor v, Vari-clotrimazole m/m topical, Candizole vaginal, Cloderma topical, Clofem vaginal, Clofunzo vaginal, Clofunzo topical, Canesten 3vc, Canesten vaginal, Canesten topical, Candizole topical, Canesten vc, Candaspor vaginal, Candaspor, A-por, A-por vaginal, Mycoban vaginal
1-[(2-Chlorophenyl)-diphenylmethyl]imidazole
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 2812.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 19
- Registrations
- 55
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Innospore, Innospore topical | cream | 270068, 280207 | Not determined | None |
| Phyto Otc Health (Pty) Ltd | Clotrimazole vaginal dis-chem, Dis-chem clotrimazole topical | cream | 270125, 270126 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead2 of 10 cancelled | Candizole v, Canalba, Canalba vaginal, Trimaze, Gyno-trimaze vaginal, Candizole vaginal, Candizole topical, A-por, A-por vaginal | cream, tablet, solution | 270150, 290129, 290130, 310072, 310073, 380157, P0164, P0312, Z0375, Z0376 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Normospor vaginal, Normospor, Mycoban, Micomisan, Micomisan vaginal, Adco-clotrimazole vaginal, Adco-clotrimazole topical, Mycoban vaginal | cream | 270173, 270201, 280056, 280152, 280153, 280311, 280322, Z0379 | Not determined | None |
| Medpro Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd1 of 3 cancelled | Medaspor vaginal, Medaspor topical, Pinaspor v | cream | 270285, 280119, 330267 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd. | Fungistop topical, *Fungistop vaginal, Clofunzo vaginal, Clofunzo topical | 10 mg | 270337, 270338, 590660, 590661 | S1 | PIPIL |
| Merck Generics Rsa (Pty) Ltd | Merck-clotrimazole vaginal | Not stated | 280208 | Not determined | None |
| FDC SA (Pty) LtdCertificate held by FDC (Pty) Ltd | Xeraspor t, Xeraspor v | 1 g, cream | 280390, 280391 | S1 | PIPIL |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Gynezol, Clomaderm | Not stated | 280418, 280419 | Not determined | None |
| Shanur Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Canex t, Ascendospor vaginal | Not stated | 280626, 290199 | Not determined | None |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Canex v, Ascendospor | Not stated | 280627, 290198 | Not determined | None |
| Barrs Pharmaceutical Industries (Pty) Ltd | Closcript topical, Closcript vaginal | Not stated | 280629, 280630 | Not determined | None |
| Bayer (Pty) Ltd û IsandoCertificate held by Bayer2 of 7 cancelled | Canesten duopak, Canesten 3vc, Canesten vaginal, Canesten topical, Canesten vc | 20mg / 1g, 500mg, 100mg / 10g, tablets, cream, 1, 500mg / 5g | 300111, A390589, E0047, E0049, K0187, Q0281, U0205 | S1 | PIPIL |
| Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Glenmark clotrimazole vaginal | 1, 6 | 320041, 320042 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Pinaspor t | Not stated | 330266 | Not determined | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Vari-clotrimazole m/m topical | 1 % | 360245 | Not determined | None |
| Medicine Developers International (Pty) Ltd | Cloderma topical | cream | 380304 | Not determined | None |
| Mothopo pharma chem | Clofem vaginal | cream | 380305 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Candaspor vaginal, Candaspor | 10 mg/1g | Y0289, Y0290 | Not determined | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Innospore EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 27006827/20.2.2/0068 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clotrimazole vaginal cream dis-chem EACH 100 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 1 g | Cream | 27012527/20.2.2/0125 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Dis-chem clotrimazole topical cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Cream | 27012627/20.2.2/0126 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Candizole v EACH 5 G CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 50 MG | Not listed | 27015027/20.1.2/0150 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Normospor vaginal cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Cream | 27017327/20.2.2/0173 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Normospor EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 27020127/20.2.2/201 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Medaspor vaginal cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Cream | 27028527/20.2.2/0285 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Fungistop topical EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10 mgCream | 27033727/20.2.2/0337Approved 29 September 2023 | Registered | S1 | PIPIL |
| *Fungistop vaginal EACH 100 g CREAM CONTAINS :CLOTRIMAZOLE 1,0 g | 10 mgCream | 27033827/20.2.2/0338Approved 17 March 2026 | Registered | S1 | PIPIL |
| Mycoban cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Cream | 28005628/20.2.2/0056 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Medaspor topical EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 28011928/20.2.2/0119 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Micomisan EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 28015228/20.2.2/0152 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Micomisan vaginal EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 28015328/20.2.2/0153 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Innospore topical cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Cream | 28020728/20.2.2/0207 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Merck-clotrimazole vaginal EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 28020828/20.2.2/0208 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-clotrimazole vaginal cream EACH 5 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 50 mg | Cream | 28031128/20.2.2/0311 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco-clotrimazole topical cream EACH 5 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 50 mg | Cream | 28032228/20.2.2/322 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Xeraspor t cream EACH 100,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 1,0 g | 1 gCream | 28039028/20.2.2/0390Approved 21 August 2023 | Registered | S1 | PIPIL |
| Xeraspor v cream EACH 100,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 1,0 g | Cream | 28039128/20.2.2/0391 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gynezol EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 28041828/20.2.2/0418 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clomaderm EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 28041928/20.2.2/0419 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canex t EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS: CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 28062628/20.2/0626 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canex v EACH 100 G CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 1 G | Not listed | 28062728/20.2.2/0627 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Closcript topical EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 28062928/20.2.2/0629 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Closcript vaginal EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 28063028/20.2.2/0630 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canalba cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Cream | 29012929/20.2.2/0129 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canalba vaginal EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 29013029/20.2.2/0130 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Ascendospor EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 29019829/20.2.2/0198 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Ascendospor vaginal EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Not listed | 29019929/20.2.2/0199 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canesten duopak Referred to CLOTRIMAZOLE A | 500mg, 100mg / 10gVaginal tablet & cream | 30011130/20.2.2/0111Approved 20 March 2018 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Trimaze cream EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Cream | 31007231/20.2.2/0072 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gyno-trimaze vaginal cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Cream | 31007331/20.2.2/0073 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Glenmark clotrimazole 6 vaginal tablet EACH VAGINAL TABLET CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 100,0 MG | 6Tablet | 32004132/20.2.2/0041 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Glenmark clotrimazole 1 vaginal tablet EACH VAGINAL TABLET CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 500,0 mg | 1Tablet | 32004232/20.2.2/0042 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pinaspor t EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 33026633/20.2.2/0266 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pinaspor v EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 33026733/20.2.2/0267 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Vari-clotrimazole 1 % m/m topical cream EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | 1 %Cream | 36024536/20.2.2/0245 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Candizole vaginal tablet EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 500,0 mg | Tablet | 38015738/20.2.2/0157 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Cloderma topical cream EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Cream | 38030438/20.2.2/0304 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clofem vaginal cream EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS: CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Cream | 38030538/20.2.2/0305 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Clofunzo vaginal EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | 10 mgCream. | 59066059/20.2.2/0660Approved 17 March 2026 | Registered | S1 | PIPIL |
| Clofunzo topical EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 59066159/20.2.2/0661 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canesten 3vc EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 20,0 mg | 20mg / 1gVaginal cream | A390589A39/20.2.2/0589Approved 26 October 2012 | Registered | S1 | PIPIL |
| Canesten vaginal tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 100 mg | Tablets | E0047E/20.2.2/47 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Canesten topical cream EACH 20 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 200,0 mg | Cream | E0049E/20.2.2/49 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canesten vaginal cream EACH 5 g CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 50 mg | Cream | K0187K/20.2.2/187 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Candizole topical cream EACH 20 G CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 200 MG | Cream | P0164P/20.2.2/164 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Candizole topical solution EACH 20 ml CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 200 mg | Solution | P0312P/20.2.2/312 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Canesten 1 vaginal tablet EACH VAGINAL TABLET CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 50,0 mg | 1Tablet | Q0281Q/20.2.2/281 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Canesten 1 vc EACH 5 g VAGINAL CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 0,5 g | 500mg / 5gVaginal cream | U0205U/20.2.2/205Approved 12 December 2017 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Candaspor vaginal cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | 10 mg/1gCream | Y0289Y/20.2.2/289Approved 13 January 2022 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Candaspor cream* EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | 10 mg/1gCream | Y0290Y/20.2.2/290Approved 31 August 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| A-por cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Cream | Z0375Z/20.2.2/375 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| A-por vaginal EACH 100 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 1,0 g | Not listed | Z0376Z/20.2.2/376 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mycoban vaginal cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS CLOTRIMAZOLE 10 mg | Cream | Z0379Z/20.2.2/379 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S1 sits on the scale
Sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed.
Schedule 1 medicines are normally sold by a pharmacist, or by a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant, without a doctor's visit; a veterinarian, or a licensed dispensing doctor, dentist or nurse prescriber, may also supply them. A nurse or other non-doctor prescriber may only prescribe the specific substances the Schedule names for that purpose, and may only dispense them if licensed to do so. A child under 12 may only be sold one of these medicines on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises.
Schedule S1, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S4; the leaflet's S1 applies to this product.
Who may supply: A pharmacist, or a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant; manufacturers and wholesalers supplying people who may lawfully possess it; a veterinarian, who may prescribe, compound or dispense it; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it, and may compound or dispense it only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); a nurse or other registered non-doctor prescriber, who may prescribe only the Scheduled substances the Schedule identifies for that purpose, and dispense them if licensed to do so; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Clotrimazole
S4: Clotrimazole
- except when intended for application to the skin (S1) and when intended for human vaginal use, specifically for the treatment of recurrent vaginal candidiasis. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5859 to 5860
S1: Clotrimazole
- when intended for human vaginal use specifically for the treatment of recurrent vaginal candidiasis; (S4) and
- when intended for application to the skin. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 330 to 335
Pharmacological class: Fungicides. (class 20.2.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Fungistop topical, Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S1 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.