Niacin
Listed in the Consolidated Schedules as “Niacin (Nicotinic Acid, Vitamin B3) and derivatives thereof”
Also known as: Nicotinic Acid
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 4, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Also listed as
- Vitamin B3 (Schedule 3), see Niacin
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
4 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nicotinic acid | Niaspan, Tempo, Nicotinic acid | 50MG, 375mg, 500 mg, 750 mg, +3 more | 2 applicants | 7 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Caffeine, nicotinic acid, nux vomica Cancelled | Force x | Not stated | Astley Laboratories S.A (Pty) Ltd | G2545 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Caffeine, nicotinic acid Cancelled | No hot blood & bangalala | 1 | J L Rosenberg (Pty) Ltd * | G2599 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Adenosine, nicotinic acid, phospholipids, vitamin b6 Cancelled | Lipostabil | Not stated | Rhone-poulenc Rorer SA (Pty) Ltd | H0656 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Niacin
S4: Niacin (Nicotinic Acid)
- when intended for hypercholesterolaemia and for the management of dyslipidaemias; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 35 mg of Niacin per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7247 to 7252
S1: Niacin (Nicotinic Acid, Vitamin B3)
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 35 mg of Niacin per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
- except when intended for hypercholesterolaemia and for the management of dyslipidaemias. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 879 to 884
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.