Iron
No structure available
Iron could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 3, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
1 registered product listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iron | Venofer, Equifer, Ferinject, +6 more | injection, 000 mg 1, 1 000, 5 ml, +5 more | 7 applicants | 14 registrations | S3 |
5 more registered products name Iron in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biotin, calcium, copper, folic acid, iron, lecithin Cancelled | Pharmaton | Not stated | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 350269 | |
| Iron sugar | Iron sucrose zydus, Zypiron | 20 mg | Zydus Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | |
| Iron sucrose | Aculefr | Not stated | Qhayisa 2014 Trading & Projects (Pty) Ltd | 570224 | |
| Iron bile salts, liquid paraffin, starch a Cancelled | Bilron | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | E0526 | |
| Iron, nicotinamide, vitamin, vitamin b1, vitamin b12, vitamin b2, vitamin b6, vitamin c | Vi-daylin plus iron | Not stated | Tiger consumer brands | X0040 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S3 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 3: needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Iron
S3: Iron
- in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 24 mg of elemental iron per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3808 to 3820
S1: Iron
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 24 mg of elemental iron per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
- except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 571 to 579
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.