Magnesium
No structure available
Magnesium could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
23 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magnesium chloride, nicotinamide, thiamine, vitamin b2, vitamin b6, zinc sulphate | Vitamag, Vitamag forte | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Magnesium hydroxide | Abantwana milk of magnesia, Phipp's milk of magnesia mint, Phipp's milk of magnesia cherry, +9 more | 425 mg/5 ml, tablets | 8 applicants | 12 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Magnesium sulphate | Impilo epsom salts, Epsom salts-darol, 77 mixture, +16 more | 77, mixture | 10 applicants | 20 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate | Digestif rennie aniseed, Digestif rennie orange, Digestif rennie | 80MG / 680MG | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Ligth magnesium carbonate, magnesium sulphate | Be-lax | suspension | Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | 320611 | S1conditions apply |
| Esomeprazole | Nexiam, *Omiflynt, Nexmezol, +47 more | 0,6 mg, 2,5 mg, 5 mg, 10 mg, +4 more | 26 applicants | 80 registrations | S4 |
| Calcium chloride, icodextrin, magnesium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate | Extraneal | Not stated | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | 380172 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, malic acid, potassium chloride, sodium acetate, sodium chloride | Ringerfundin | Not stated | B Braun Medical (Pty) Ltd | 420518 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium acetate, magnesium carbonate Cancelled | Osvaren | Not stated | Fresenius Medical Care South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 450919 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Magnesium sulfate | Magnesium sulfate lamar | 2 g/10 ml, 5 g/10 ml | Lamar International (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate Cancelled | Intramed peritoneal dyalysis with dextrose | 1,5 % | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | D0153 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Magnesium oxide | Babasuur, Will's milk of magnesia, Magnesium hydroxide lennon, +1 more | mixture | 4 applicants | 4 registrations | S1conditions apply |
Show the other 11 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Light magnesium carbonate, magnesium sulphate | Fams mist alba, African ishlambeza, Lexikon | mixture | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Light magnesium oxide | Pedimed paediatric, Muti wabantwana, No milk of magnesia | suspension, 225 | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Aloes, magnesium sulphate | Semidol | mixture | African Medicines (Pty) Ltd Trading As Pakmed Self Medication | E0961 | S1conditions apply |
| Magnesium carbonate, magnesium sulphate | White star lax, Magalba | mixture | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate, light magnesium carbonate | Gr behoedmiddel | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | E1130 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Light magnesium carbonate, oxetacaine Cancelled | Mucaine | tablet | Adcock ingram limited | E1224 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Light magnesium carbonate, potassium citrate Cancelled | Muti abantwana antacid | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | E1801 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Magnesium chloride | Slow mag | Not stated | Procter & Gamble South Africa Trading (Pty) Ltd | H0089 | S1conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride | B.S.S | Not stated | Alcon Laboratories (SA) (Pty) Ltd | H1353 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Magnesium chloride, zinc oxide Cancelled | Ultimag | tablets | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | X0079 | S1conditions apply |
| Magnesium Cancelled | Solumag | Not stated | Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Y0009 | S1conditions apply |
9 more registered products name Magnesium in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magnesium alginate, sodium alginate | Infant gaviscon aluminium free | Not stated | Reckitt Benckinser Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 320335 | |
| Magnesium carbonate, magnesium trisilicate, sodium bicarbonate | * gastrogel, Acidogel resmed | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | |
| Magnesium chloride hexahydrate, potassium chloride, sodium chloride | Plasma vet adco | Not stated | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | 85/3 | |
| Magnesium trisilicate | Magnesium trisilicate | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | |
| Magnesium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, sodium chloride | Sabax plasmalyte b, Balsol | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | |
| Magnesium sulphate, sennoside b | Konsenna | Not stated | Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | E1406 | |
| Aluminum, magnesium hydroxide, simethicone Cancelled | Maalox plus | suspension | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | R0075 | |
| Magnesium chloride, mannitol, potassium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, sodium chloride | Sabax cardioplegic a, Sabax cardioplegic c | solution | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | |
| Magnesium sulphate heptahydrate | Adco magnesium sulphate | 2 mL | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | V0253 | S3 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 sits on the scale
Sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed.
Schedule 1 medicines are normally sold by a pharmacist, or by a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant, without a doctor's visit; a veterinarian, or a licensed dispensing doctor, dentist or nurse prescriber, may also supply them. A nurse or other non-doctor prescriber may only prescribe the specific substances the Schedule names for that purpose, and may only dispense them if licensed to do so. A child under 12 may only be sold one of these medicines on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises.
Schedule S1, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist, or a supervised pharmacist intern or assistant; manufacturers and wholesalers supplying people who may lawfully possess it; a veterinarian, who may prescribe, compound or dispense it; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it, and may compound or dispense it only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); a nurse or other registered non-doctor prescriber, who may prescribe only the Scheduled substances the Schedule identifies for that purpose, and dispense them if licensed to do so; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Magnesium
S1: Magnesium
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 250 mg of Magnesium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients. (S0)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 815 to 816
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.