Copper
No structure available
Copper could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 3, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
1 registered product listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | Nova-t | 380 | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 340132 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
4 more registered products name Copper in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper chloride, manganese chloride, potassium iodide, sodium fluoride, sodium selenite pentahydrate, zinc chloride | Peditrace | 1 mL | Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 290462 | |
| Copper sulphate, ferrous sulphate, manganese sulphate, sodium molybdate, sodium selenite, zinc sulphate | Jevity plus | Not stated | Abbott Laboratories S.A. (Pty) Ltd | F1077 | |
| Copper sulphate, ferrous sulphate, manganese sulphate | Ferrous sulphate co, Feluna pills, Genferrosulf co, +1 more | tablets | 5 applicants | 5 registrations | |
| Copper tetrafluoroborate, l-cysteine, stannous | Cardiolite | Not stated | Ntp Radioisotopes Soc Ltd û Building P2000 | Z0108 |
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S3 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 3: needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Copper
S3: Copper
- in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 4 mg of Copper per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3379 to 3384
S1: Copper
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 4 mg of Copper per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
- except in preparations thereof for injection. (S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 344 to 349
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.