Calcium
No structure available
Calcium could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 1 to 4, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
20 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calcium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate | Medsol ringer-lactate bp, Sabax hartmann's, Autosterile ringer-lactate bp, +2 more | injection | 3 applicants | 5 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium gluconate | Calcium gluconate unimed, Calcium gluconate adco, Nitro calcium gluconate, +5 more | 10%, injection, 300 MG, tablets | 7 applicants | 8 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Eadh chew contains calcium carbonate | Eno assorted fruit flavours | tablets | Haleon South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 290035 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate | Digestif rennie aniseed, Digestif rennie orange, Digestif rennie | 80MG / 680MG | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium hydroxide | Slaked lime (calcium hydroxide)-darol, Slaked lime, Slaked lime(calcium hydroxide) alchemist | Not stated | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate | Neutracid antacid, Citro-soda neutracid chew, Eno extra strength- cherry flavour, +8 more | tablets, tablet, powder | 5 applicants | 12 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, icodextrin, magnesium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate | Extraneal | Not stated | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | 380172 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, malic acid, potassium chloride, sodium acetate, sodium chloride | Ringerfundin | Not stated | B Braun Medical (Pty) Ltd | 420518 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium acetate, magnesium carbonate Cancelled | Osvaren | Not stated | Fresenius Medical Care South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 450919 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Rosuvastatin as rosuvastatin calcium | Rosvator, Vasrov, Rubistor | 5 mg, 10 mg, 20 mg, 40 mg | 3 applicants | 12 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Atorvastatin, ezetimibe | Dytorez, Dynator plus | 10/10, 10/20, 10/80, 10/10 mg, +1 more | Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | 5 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Ezetimibe, rosuvastatin | Rozumib, Lypstaplus, Tactduo, +2 more | 5/10, 5/10 mg, 10/10, 10 mg/10 mg, +9 more | 4 applicants | 18 registrations | S4 |
Show the other 8 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrochlorothiazide, zofenopril Cancelled | Zantipres co, Zofaril co | 30 mg/12,5 mg | Menarini South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S3 |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate Cancelled | Intramed peritoneal dyalysis with dextrose | 1,5 % | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | D0153 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate, light magnesium carbonate | Gr behoedmiddel | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | E1130 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Barium sulfate, calcium hydroxide Cancelled | Calcipulpe | Not stated | Er Bernard Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | H1097 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride | B.S.S | Not stated | Alcon Laboratories (SA) (Pty) Ltd | H1353 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate, calcium lactate a gluconate, vitamin c | Sandoz calcium-c (lemon), Calsource vitamin c | + | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium carbonate, calcium lactate, vitamin c Cancelled | Callimon | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | K0271 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride | Adco calcium chloride, Calcium chloride fresenius | 10%, 10 ml | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S3 |
76 more registered products name Calcium in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calcium chloride, glucose, magnesium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate | Dianeal normal calcium with glucose adco, Capd/dpca, Dianeal adco | 1,5 %, 2, 2,5%, 3, +5 more | 2 applicants | 10 registrations | |
| Calcium chloride, glacial acetic acid, magnesium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium chloride | Sabax haemocarb, Acidic bicarbonate haemodialysis concentrate sw192a, Acidic bicarbonate haemodialysis concentrate sw196a, +2 more | 1,25 MMOL/L | 2 applicants | 5 registrations | |
| Calcium folinate | Leucovorin-faulding | 10 mg/ml | Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | 290359 | |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride hexahydrate, potassium chloride, sodium acetate, sodium chloride | Sabax low calcium diasol, Haematol chronic high potassium, Haematol chronic standard, +1 more | Not stated | 2 applicants | 4 registrations | |
| Calcium gluconate, glycine, l -arginine, l-alanine, l-aspartic acid, l-cysteine, l-glutamic acid, l-histidine | Vamin | 14 | Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 300406 | |
| Calcium chloride, dextrose, glacial acetic acid, magnesium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium chloride | Sabax haemocarb formula | 2, 28 | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | |
| Calcium trisodium pentetate, stannous | Renatek | Not stated | Ntp Radioisotopes Soc Ltd û Building P2000 | 310528 | |
| Calcium carbonate, sodium alginate, sodium bicarbonate | Gelacid, Gaviscon double action, Gaviscon tropical, +7 more | tablets, granules, 500 mg / 267 mg / 160 mg, suspension, +3 more | 3 applicants | 12 registrations | S0 |
| Calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, simethicone | Rennie deflatine | Not stated | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 330134 | |
| Calcium chloride, glacial acetic acid, magnesium chloride hexahydrate, potassium chloride, sodium chloride | Acidic bicarbonate haemodialysis concentrate sw a, Sabax standard chronic acid diasol | 95 | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | |
| Calcium chloride, glucose, magnesium chloride hexahydrate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium chloride, sodium lactate | Physioneal glucose w/v/ | 1,36 % 13,6 mg/ML 40, 2,27 % 22,7 mg/ML 40, 3,86 % 38,6 mg/ML 40 | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | 3 registrations | |
| Calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, sodium alginate | Rennie duo | Not stated | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 410449 |
Show the other 64 registered products
Regulatory status
Where S1 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 1: sold by a pharmacist, no doctor's prescription needed. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S1 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Calcium
S4: Calcium
- when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
- except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5618 to 5628
S3: Calcium
- in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
- except when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S4)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3262 to 3272
S1: Calcium
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
- except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
- except when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S4)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 302 to 312
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.