Skip to content
zameds

Mometasone furoate

Schedule 2 to 4, conditions apply
Loading the molecular structure
C27H30Cl2O6521.40 g/mol

[(8S,9R,10S,11S,13S,14S,16R,17R)-9-Chloro-17-(2-chloroacetyl)-11-hydroxy-10,13,16-trimethyl-3-oxo-6,7,8,11,12,14,15,16-octahydrocyclopenta[a]phenanthren-17-yl] furan-2-carboxylate

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 441336.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Listing

Schedules
Schedule 2 to 4, conditions apply
Source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Registered medicines

7 registered products listed

Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.

Registered products
NameBrandsDosagesApplicantsRegistrationsSchedule
Mometasone furoate, orbifloxacin, posaconazolePosatexNot statedIntervet South Africa (Pty) Ltd14-DecS2 to S4conditions apply
Florfenicol, mometasone furoate, terbinafineNeptra eardropsElanco Animal Health (Pty) Ltd20/06S1 to S4conditions apply
Mometasone furoateElica, Elomet, Nasonex, +16 morecream, ointment, lotion, 0,1 %, +6 more9 applicants26 registrationsS4
Formoterol, mometasone furoateDulera50/5 mcg, 100/5 mcg, 200/5 mcgOrganon South Africa (Pty) Ltd3 registrationsS2 to S4conditions apply
Azelastine, mometasone furoateAstinasil ns50/140Forrester Pharma (Pty) Ltd500481S2 to S4conditions apply
Indacaterol, mometasone furoateAtectura breezhaler, Bemrist breezhaler80_g, 150_g, 160_g, 320_gNovartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd6 registrationsS2 to S4conditions apply
Glycopyrronium, indacaterol, mometasone furoateEnerzair breezhaler, Zimbus breezhaler150/50/80, 150/50/160Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd4 registrationsS2 to S4conditions apply

1 more registered product name Mometasone furoate in their active ingredient

Registered products
NameBrandsDosagesApplicantsRegistrationsSchedule
Mometasone furoate, olopatadineRyaltrisNot statedGlenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd530457

Regulatory status

Where S2 to S4 sits on the scale

Depends on which listing applies

At the least restrictive, Schedule 2: a pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.

Schedule S2 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Mometasone furoate

  • S4: Mometasone furoate

    • except when intended for inhalation or nasal administration.

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7167

  • S3: Mometasone furoate

    • when intended for inhalation or nasal administration, except when intended for nasal administration as an aqueous spray, other than by pressurized aerosol, and indicated for the treatment of the symptoms of seasonal or perennial allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children between the age of 2 and 11 years of age, subject to
    • when a maximum dose of 200 micrograms per nostril in adults and 50 micrograms per nostril in children; and
    • when a maximum pack size of 200 doses. (S2, S4)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3960 to 3965

  • S2: Mometasone furoate

    • when intended for nasal administration as an aqueous spray, other than by pressurized aerosol, and indicated for the treatment of the symptoms of seasonal or perennial allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children between the age of 2 and 11 years of age, subject to
    • when a maximum dose of 200 micrograms per nostril in adults and 50 micrograms per nostril in children; and
    • when a maximum pack size of 200 doses. (S3, S4)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2284 to 2290

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles