Mometasone furoate
Sold as Elica, Elomet, Nasonex, Rinelon, Uniclar, Asmanex twisthaler, Momate, Mometasone sandoz nasal, Zilfone nasal, Monact, Naxal aqueous nasal, Momagex, Mometasone adco, Mometasone glenmark, Nexomist, Nasomist, Aspen mometasone, Mometagen, Elocon
[(8S,9R,10S,11S,13S,14S,16R,17R)-9-Chloro-17-(2-chloroacetyl)-11-hydroxy-10,13,16-trimethyl-3-oxo-6,7,8,11,12,14,15,16-octahydrocyclopenta[a]phenanthren-17-yl] furan-2-carboxylate
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 441336.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 9
- Registrations
- 26
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Organon South Africa (Pty) Ltd1 of 14 cancelled | Elica, Elomet, Nasonex, Rinelon, Uniclar, Asmanex twisthaler, Elocon | cream, ointment, lotion, 100 mg, 200 ug, 400 ug | 310544, 310545, 310546, 310547, 310590, 310591, 320157, 330482, 330483, 340343, 340344, V0272, V0273, X0266 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Momate | ointment | 440095 | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Mometasone sandoz nasal, Zilfone nasal | spray | 460490, 460491.49 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd1 of 3 cancelled | Monact, Nexomist, Nasomist | Not stated | 471223, A380341, A380342 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Naxal aqueous nasal | spray | 510005 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Momagex, Mometasone adco | Not stated | 530167, 530168.167 | Not determined | None |
| Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Mometasone glenmark | 50 μg | 530614 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited | Aspen mometasone | 1,0 mg/1,0 g | A380668 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) LtdCancelled | Mometagen | 0,1 % | A400666 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elica cream EACH 1 g CREAM CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Cream | 31054431/13.4.1/0544 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elica ointment EACH 1 g OINTMENT CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Ointment | 31054531/13.4.1/0545 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elomet cream EACH 1 g OF CREAM CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Cream | 31054631/13.4.1/0546 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elomet ointment EACH 1,0 g OINTMENT CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Ointment | 31054731/13.4.1/0547 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elica lotion EACH 1 g OF LOTION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Lotion | 31059031/13.4.1/0590 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elomet lotion EACH 1,0 g LOTION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Lotion | 31059131/13.4.1/0591 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nasonex EACH METERED-DOSE CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | 100 mgAqueous nasal spray | 32015732/21.5.1/0157Approved 19 January 2018 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Rinelon EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | 100 mgAqueous nasal spray | 33048233/21.5.1/0482Approved 19 January 2018 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Uniclar EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | Not listed | 33048333/21.5.1/0483 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Asmanex twisthaler 200 ug EACH UNIT DOSE CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 200,0 ug | 200 ug | 34034334/21.5.1/0343 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Asmanex twisthaler 400 ug EACH UNIT DOSE CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 400,0 ug | 400 ug | 34034434/21.5.1/0344 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Momate ointment EACH 1,0 g OINTMENT CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | Ointment | 44009544/21.5.1/0095 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mometasone sandoz nasal spray EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | Spray | 46049046/21.5.1/0490 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Zilfone nasal spray EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | Spray | 460491.4946/21.5.1/0491.490 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Monact Each metered actuation contains: Mometasone Furoate monohydrate equivalent to mometasone Furoate 50,0 ug | Not listed | 47122347/21.5.1/1223 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Naxal aqueous nasal spray EACH METERED DOSE PUMP ACTUATION CONTAINS: MOMETASONE FUROATE MONOHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO MOMETASONE FUROATE ANHYDROUS 50,0 mcg | Spray | 51000551/21.5.1/0005 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Momagex EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE MONOHYDRATE 50,0 µg | Not listed | 53016753/21.5/0167 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mometasone adco EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE MONOHYDRATE 50,0 µg | Not listed | 530168.16753/21.5/0168.167 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Mometasone 50 μg glenmark EACH SUSPENSION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 μg | 50 μg | 53061453/21.5.1/0614 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nexomist EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | Not listed | A380341A38/21.5.1/0341 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nasomist EACH METERED SPRAY CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 50,0 ug | Not listed | A380342A38/21.5.1/0342 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Aspen mometasone cream EACH 1,0.g CREAM CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | 1,0 mg/1,0 gCream | A380668A38/13.4.1/0668Approved 4 April 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Mometagen 0,1 % EACH 1,0 g CREAM CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1,0 mg | 0,1 % | A400666A40/13.4.1/0666 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Elocon cream 1 G MOMETASONE FUROATE 1 MG | Cream | V0272V/13.4.1/272 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elocon ointment EACH 1 g OINTMENT CONTAINS MOMETASONE FUROATE 1 mg | Ointment | V0273V/13.4.1/273 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Elocon lotion 1 G MOMETASONE FUROATE 1 MG | Lotion | X0266X/13.4.1/266 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Mometasone furoate
S4: Mometasone furoate
- except when intended for inhalation or nasal administration.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7167
S3: Mometasone furoate
- when intended for inhalation or nasal administration, except when intended for nasal administration as an aqueous spray, other than by pressurized aerosol, and indicated for the treatment of the symptoms of seasonal or perennial allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children between the age of 2 and 11 years of age, subject to
- a maximum dose of 200 micrograms per nostril in adults and 50 micrograms per nostril in children; and
- a maximum pack size of 200 doses. (S2, S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3960 to 3965
S2: Mometasone furoate
- when intended for nasal administration as an aqueous spray, other than by pressurized aerosol, and indicated for the treatment of the symptoms of seasonal or perennial allergic rhinitis (hay fever) in adults and children between the age of 2 and 11 years of age, subject to
- a maximum dose of 200 micrograms per nostril in adults and 50 micrograms per nostril in children; and
- a maximum pack size of 200 doses. (S3, S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2284 to 2290
Pharmacological class: Corticosteroids with or without anti-infective agents. (class 13.4.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.