Iron
Sold as Venofer, Equifer, Ferinject, Monofer, Rautevene, Innofer, Tevifer, Children's tonic, Ferrimed
No structure available
This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 7
- Registrations
- 14
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Takeda (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Pharmacare limited | Venofer, Ferinject, Ferrimed | injection, 50 mg/ 500 mg, capsules, syrup | 320166, 450948, H0840, H0842 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Equity Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Equifer | Not stated | 450335 | Not determined | None |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Monofer | 000 mg 1, 100 mg, 500 mg | 460166, 460167, 460168 | Not determined | None |
| Gen-eye (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Gen-eye (Pty) Ltd1 | Rautevene | 5 ml | 460849 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Innofer | Not stated | 500580 | Not determined | None |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Tevifer | 1 000, 100, 500 | 570484, 570485, 570486 | Not determined | None |
| African Medicines (Pty) Ltd Trading As Pakmed Self Medication | Children's tonic | Not stated | G2615 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Venofer injection EACH 5,0 ml AMPOULE CONTAINS IRON 100,0 mg | Injection | 32016632/8.3/0166 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Equifer EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS IRON 20,0 mg | Not listed | 45033545/8.3/0335 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Ferinject EACH 1,0 ml CONTAINS IRON 50,0 mg | 50 mg/ 500 mgSolution for injection/infusion. | 45094845/8.3/0948Approved 28 March 2025 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Monofer 100 MG EACH VIAL/AMPOULE CONTAINS IRON (III) ISOMALTOSIDE EQUIVALENT TO IRON 100,0 mg | 100 mg | 46016646/8.3/0166 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Monofer 500 MG EACH VIAL/AMPOULE CONTAINS IRON (III) ISOMALTOSIDE EQUIVALENT TO IRON 500,0 mg | 500 mg | 46016746/8.3/0167 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Monofer 1 000 MG EACH VIAL/AMPOULE CONTAINS IRON (III) ISOMALTOSIDE EQUIVALENT TO IRON 1 000,0 mg | 000 mg 1 | 46016846/8.3/0168 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Rautevene EACH AMPOULE CONTAINS IRON 100,0 mg | 5 mlSolution for injection / concentrate for solution for infusion | 46084946/8.3/0849Approved 9 February 2022 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Innofer EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS IRON 100,0 mg | Not listed | 50058050/8.3/0580 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Tevifer 100 EACH 2,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FERRIC CARBOXYMALTOSE EQUIVALENT TO IRON 100,0 mg | 100 | 57048457/8.3/0484 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Tevifer 500 EACH 10,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FERRIC CARBOXYMALTOSE EQUIVALENT TO IRON 500,0 mg | 500 | 57048557/8.3/0485 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Tevifer 1 000 EACH 20,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS FERRIC CARBOXYMALTOSE EQUIVALENT TO IRON 1 000,0 mg | 1 000 | 57048657/8.3/0486 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Children's tonic EACH 5 ML MIXTURE CONTAINS IRON A 10,5 MG | Not listed | G2615 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Ferrimed capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS IRON A 50,0 mg | Capsules | H0840 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Ferrimed syrup EACH 5 ML CONTAINS IRON POLYMALTOSE A EQUIVALENT TO 50,0 mg IRON | Syrup | H0842 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Iron
S3: Iron
- in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 24 mg of elemental iron per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3808 to 3820
S1: Iron
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 24 mg of elemental iron per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
- except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 571 to 579
Pharmacological class: Erythropoietics (haematinics). (class 8.3)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Ferinject, Takeda (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S3 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.