Potassium
No structure available
Potassium could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 2 to 3, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
11 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potassium chloride, sodium chloride, sodium lactate | Sabax darrows, Darrow's, Sabax plasmalyte l, +1 more | solution | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S2 to S3conditions apply |
| Potassium chloride | Cardioplegic induction fresenius, Cardioplegic maintenance fresenius, Ultipot, +15 more | 3.757 g/500 m AND 1.375 g/500 ml, solution, 14,9 %, 15 %, +5 more | 10 applicants | 18 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, losartan | Cozaar comp, Fortzaar, Lotensin co, +21 more | 50/12,5, 50 mg, 100 mg, 100/25, +4 more | 16 applicants | 39 registrations | S3 |
| Potassium nitrate | Salpetre-darol, Salpetre alchemist | Not stated | Barrs Pharmaceutical Industries (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S2 to S3conditions apply |
| Calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, malic acid, potassium chloride, sodium acetate, sodium chloride | Ringerfundin | Not stated | B Braun Medical (Pty) Ltd | 420518 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Amlodipine, losartan | Amzaar | 5/50, 5/100 | Organon South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S3 |
| Phenoxymethylpenicillin potassium a phenoxymethylpenicillin Cancelled | Gsa-phenoxy-meth-pen | 250 | Adcock ingram limited | A0556 | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Light magnesium carbonate, potassium citrate Cancelled | Muti abantwana antacid | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | E1801 | S1 to S3conditions apply |
| Potassium acetate | Bruindulsies | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | H1627 | S2 to S3conditions apply |
| Potassium citrate | Omega kidney and bladder, Resmed mist pot cit, Propan mist pot cit simplex, +3 more | mixture, 1,250 g | 4 applicants | 6 registrations | S2 to S3conditions apply |
| Potassium Cancelled | Kalimed | injection | Swisspharm (Pty) Ltd | J0447 | S2 to S3conditions apply |
12 more registered products name Potassium in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potassium bicarbonate, potassium iodide, potassium nitrate, sod sulph, sodium salicylate Cancelled | Rheumaticuro | mixture | Gr Pharmaceuticals (1967) (Pty) Ltd | B0898 | |
| Potassium permanganate | Potassium permanganate, Potassium permangenate hm | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | |
| Potassium bicarbonate, potassium citrate, sodium salicylate Cancelled | Sok 4-day rheumatic pain treatment | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0725 | |
| Potassium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, sodium chloride | Nitrolyte | tablets | Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) Ltd | E0758 | |
| Potassium citrate, sodium salicylate, sodium sulphate | Impilo yamadodo I.N.Y., Impilo yabafazi | solution | Impilo Drugs (1966) (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | |
| Potassium bicarbonate, potassium citrate | Imbiza yezinso nesinye, Imbiza yesinge nezintso | Not stated | Gr Pharmaceuticals (1967) (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | |
| Potassium glycerophosphate, thiamine Cancelled | Vintonic | Not stated | Heynes Mathew Ltd | G2459 | |
| Potassium acid, sublimed sulphur, yeast Cancelled | Ayrton's sulphur and yeast | tablets | Pharmapak Company (Pty) Ltd* | G2644 | |
| Potassium acid, sulfur | Gertges 's' | lozenges | Technikon Laboratories (Pty) Ltd û Anvil Road | H0760 | |
| Potassium hydroxyquinoline Cancelled | Dermakleer | Not stated | Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) Ltd | H1023 | |
| Potassium citrate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium sulphate Cancelled | Muti lax | mixture | African Medicines (Pty) Ltd Trading As Pakmed Self Medication | L0039 | |
| Potassium iodate | Potassium iodate | tablets | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | X0296 |
Regulatory status
Where S2 to S3 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 2: a pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription. At the most restrictive, Schedule 3: needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S2 to S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Potassium
S3: Potassium
- when intended for intravenous infusion or for injection;
- except when contained in oral rehydration preparations; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 20 millimoles (1500mg) of potassium per 24 hours. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 4148 to 4153
S2: Potassium
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 20 millimoles (1500mg) of potassium per 24 hours;
- except when intended for intravenous infusion or for injection; (S3) and
- except when contained in oral rehydration preparations. (S0)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2563 to 2569
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.