Phenylpropanolamine
Also known as: norephedrine
(1R,2S)-2-Amino-1-phenylpropan-1-ol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 10297.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 2 to 6, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
13 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paracetamol, phenylpropanolamine | Sinuclear, Sinutab nd, Sinustat | capsules | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Dextromethorphan, paracetamol, phenylpropanolamine | Sinustat flu, Flustat | syrup, 20 ml | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Betalix decongestant, Rinex, Rinex diffucaps, +1 more | 5 ml, syrup | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Phenylpropanolamine | Equi-sinus, Equi-decon, Phenylephrine hetero | drops, oral drops, 10 mg/ml, 50 mg/5 ml | 2 applicants | 4 registrations | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Brompheniramine, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Dimetapp extentabs, Dimetapp elixer | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Diphenylpyraline, phenylpropanolamine Cancelled | Eskornade spansule | capsules | Pharmaco Distribution (Pty) Ltd | C0622 | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Atropine, chlorpheniramine, phenylpropanolamine Cancelled | Contac | 600 | Smith Kline French (Pty) Ltd * | C0630 | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Mepyramine, pheniramine, phenylpropanolamine | Triaminic | oral drops | Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | C0989 | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, dextromethorphan, paracetamol, phenylpropanolamine | Degoran, Nitecall, Degoran t, +1 more | Not stated | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Paracetamol, phenylpropanolamine, phenyltoloxamine Cancelled | Sinutab original, Sinutab 12-hour cold and flu, Sinutab paediatric, +2 more | suspension, tablets | 2 applicants | 5 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, paracetamol, phenylpropanolamine, phenyltoloxamine | Sinutab with codeine, Sinustop with codeine, Adco-sinal co | Not stated | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Dextromethorphan, phenylpropanolamine Cancelled | Ornacol | Not stated | Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) Limited | 2 registrations | S2 to S6conditions apply |
Show the other 1 registered product
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrocortisone, neomycin, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Nasomixin | Not stated | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | H1422 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
Regulatory status
Where S2 to S6 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 2: a pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription. At the most restrictive, Schedule 6: prescription-only, no repeats without a new prescription. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S2 to S6, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Phenylpropanolamine
S6: Phenylpropanolamine (norephedrine)
- except products registered in terms of the Act, not intended for export and oral preparations and mixtures where the recommended daily dose for adults does not exceed 100 milligrams and for children 6 to 12 years does not exceed 50 milligrams, when in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of nasal and sinus congestion, subject to a maximum pack size of 300 milligrams for adults and 150 milligrams for children, limited to one pack per customer. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10387 to 10394
S2: Phenylpropanolamine (norephedrine)
- contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export, unless listed separately in the Schedules,
- oral preparations and mixtures where the recommended daily dose for adults does not exceed 100 milligrams and for children 6 to 12 years does not exceed 50 milligrams, when in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of nasal and sinus congestion, subject to a maximum pack size of 300 milligrams for adults and 150 milligrams for children, limited to one pack per customer. (S6)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2516 to 2523
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.