Hydrocortisone
Listed in the Consolidated Schedules as “Hydrocortisone and hydrocortisone acetate”
(8S,9S,10R,11S,13S,14S,17R)-11,17-Dihydroxy-17-(2-hydroxyacetyl)-10,13-dimethyl-2,6,7,8,9,11,12,14,15,16-decahydro-1H-cyclopenta[a]phenanthren-3-one
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5754.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 2 to 4, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
10 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrocortisone | Mezzoderm, Adco-hydrocortisone, Locoid crelo, +20 more | cream, 1 mg/ 1 g, 1%, 1,5 %, +6 more | 15 applicants | 31 registrations | S4 |
| Ciprofloxacin, hydrocortisone Cancelled | Ciprobay hc otic | drops | Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 330024 | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone, miconazole | Elozart, Daktacort | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Fusidic acid, hydrocortisone | Fucidin h | cream | Adcock ingram limited | 450568 | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone valerate | Hydrocortisone glenmark | 2,0 mg | Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 550072 | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Clioquinol, hydrocortisone | Vioform-hydrocortisone, Manoderm | cream | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone, oxytetracycline | Terra cortril topical | ointment | Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | G1625 | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone, neomycin | Neo-cortef, Hycortin plus, Adco-neoderm, +2 more | 1 %, ointment, 1,5 %, suspension | 4 applicants | 7 registrations | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Chloramphenicol, hydrocortisone Cancelled | Chloromycetin hydrocortisone ophthalmic, Cortiphenol h | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone, neomycin, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Nasomixin | Not stated | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | H1422 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
3 more registered products name Hydrocortisone in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrocortisone aceponate | Cortavance | Not stated | Virbac Rsa (Pty) Ltd | 24-Jul | |
| Hydrocortisone, sodium fusidate | Fucidin h | ointment | Adcock ingram limited | G2090 | |
| Hydrocortisone butyrate | Locoid, Locoid lipo- | cream, lotion, ointment, lipo-cream | Equity Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | 4 registrations |
Regulatory status
Where S2 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 2: a pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S2 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Hydrocortisone
S4: Hydrocortisone
- except maximum concentration of 1 percent in preparations intended for application to the skin, and
- except in a maximum concentration of 1 percent used in combination with miconazole for topical application in the treatment of athlete’s foot. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 6648 to 6652
S2: Hydrocortisone
- when maximum concentration of 1 percent in preparations intended for application to the skin, and
- when in a maximum concentration of 1 percent used in combination with miconazole for topical application in the treatment of athlete’s foot. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2110 to 2114
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.