Drospirenone
(1R,2R,4R,10R,11S,14S,15S,16S,18S,19S)-10,14-Dimethylspiro[hexacyclo[9.8.0.02,4.05,10.014,19.016,18]nonadec-5-ene-15,5'-oxolane]-2',7-dione
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 68873.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 3 to 4, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
2 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drospirenone, estradiol | Angeliq low dose | Not stated | Bayer (Pty) Ltd û Isando | 509999 | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Drospirenone | Slynd | Not stated | Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 560367 | S3 to S4conditions apply |
5 more registered products name Drospirenone in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drospirenone, ethinylestradiol | Yasmin, Yaz, Ruby, +18 more | 0,02 mg, 3,0 mg, 0,03 mg, 3,0 mg, 0,03 mg 3/0,, 3mg, +4 more | 9 applicants | 21 registrations | S4 |
| Drospirenone, ethinylestradiol, levomefolate | Yaz plus, Yasmin plus, Ruby plus, +1 more | 3mg/0.02 mg/0.451 mg, 3mg/0.03 mg/0.451 mg | 2 applicants | 4 registrations | S4 |
| Drospirenone, ethinyl estradiol | Ocaz, Leyla, Drosmyl, +2 more | Not stated | 4 applicants | 5 registrations | |
| Drospirenone, estetrol | Drovelis | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | 560933 | |
| Drospirenone, each yellow contains levomefolate calcium, ethinylestradiol, levomefolate | Rubaz plus, Rosnylevo | Not stated | Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations |
Regulatory status
Where S3 to S4 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 3: needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist. At the most restrictive, Schedule 4: prescription-only medicine. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S3 to S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Drospirenone
S4: Drospirenone
- when intended for hormone replacement therapy;
- except when intended for oral contraception. (S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 6127 to 6131
S3: Drospirenone
- when intended for oral contraception;
- except when intended for hormone replacement therapy. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3490 to 3494
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.