Codeine
Also known as: methylmorphine
(4R,4AR,7S,7aR,12bS)-9-methoxy-3-methyl-2,4,4a,7,7a,13-hexahydro-1H-4,12-methanobenzofuro[3,2-e]isoquinolin-7-ol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5284371.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 2 to 6, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
34 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caffeine, codeine, meprobamate, paracetamol | Acugesil, Astrapain forte, Vacudol forte, +27 more | 320 mg, tablets, 1 mg, capsules, +3 more | 16 applicants | 33 registrations | S5 |
| Codeine, paracetamol | Amstil, Dino-cod, Pyngesicfizz co, +30 more | tablets, 10 mg, 500 mg, 500 mg/8 mg, syrup | 20 applicants | 36 registrations | S3 |
| Codeine, paracetamol, promethazine | Astrapain, Vacudol, Goldgesic, +20 more | 120 mg, syrup, 5 ml, 10 mg/200 mg/350 mg, +1 more | 10 applicants | 23 registrations | S2 |
| Codeine, pseudoephedrine, triprolidine | Adco-tussend, Tuscodin co, Fludactil co, +4 more | linctus | 6 applicants | 7 registrations | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Caffeine, codeine, doxylamine, paracetamol | Paxidal, Tensodol, Zurich-paxidal, +20 more | 10 mg, 5 mg, 450 mg, 30 mg, effervescent, 2 mg, 5mg / 10mg / 45mg / 450mg, +3 more | 15 applicants | 24 registrations | S2 |
| Codeine, paracetamol, pseudoephedrine | Sinumax with codeine, Colcaps children's orange flavour, Sinustop junior, +1 more | syrup | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, ibuprofen, paracetamol | Mybulen, Gen-payne, Mybucod, +7 more | capsules, 10 mg/200 mg/350 mg, 10 mg, 10 mg/200 mg/250 mg, +4 more | 4 applicants | 13 registrations | S3 |
| Codeine, ibuprofen | Ibucod, Nurofen plus | 200 mg | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S2 |
| Chlorpheniramine, codeine, paracetamol, pseudoephedrine | Sinutab sinus pain extra strength | 2 mg, 10 mg, 500 mg | Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East London | 370139 | S2 |
| Codeine, meprobamate, paracetamol | Panlevacod, Synaleve, Stilpane, +2 more | capsules, 150 mg/8 mg/320 mg, tablets | 2 applicants | 5 registrations | S5 |
| Contains codeine, ibuprofen, paracetamol | Gen-payne | suspension | Adcock ingram limited | 590376 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Aspirin, codeine Cancelled | Capcod forte, Codis, Capcod, +4 more | tablets, 300 mg 10 mg | 5 applicants | 7 registrations | S2 to S6conditions apply |
Show the other 22 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aspirin, codeine, paracetamol | Aspramol co, Nervadin, Paincod, +1 more | tablets | 4 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Caffeine, codeine, paracetamol, phenyltoloxamine Cancelled | Suncodin | tablets | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | B0697 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Caffeine, codeine, paracetamol | Biopyn, Antipyn, Docdol, +1 more | tablets | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, morphine, papaverine | Omnopon-fresenius | 1ml | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S6 |
| Aspirin, caffeine, codeine, paracetamol | Tenston, Propain co | tablets | Adcock ingram limited | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine | Codeine phosphate, Codeine phosphate sad, A-lennon codeine, +2 more | 15 mg, syrup, norstan-syrup | 4 applicants | 7 registrations | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, codeine, paracetamol Cancelled | Meprogesic paediatric | syrup | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | B1417 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, doxylamine, paracetamol Cancelled | Adco-dol | syrup | Adcock ingram limited | C0232 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine Cancelled | Sinupain | tablets | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0679 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Caffeine, codeine, paracetamol, pheniramine, phenylephrine Cancelled | Flupac | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0685 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, diphenhydramine, mepyramine, paracetamol, phenylephrine Cancelled | Antiflu | tablets | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | C0834 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, paracetamol, promethazine, pseudoephedrine Cancelled | Colcaps children's | 5 ml | Adcock ingram limited | D0054 | S2 |
| Caffeine, codeine, diphenhydramine, paracetamol | Propain, Diphagesic, Forte pain, +2 more | powders, 10 mg/5 mg/400 mg/50 mg, tablets | 3 applicants | 5 registrations | S2 |
| Codeine, paracetamol, phenylpropanolamine, phenyltoloxamine | Sinutab with codeine, Sinustop with codeine, Adco-sinal co | Not stated | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, ephedrine, mepyramine | Kiddiekof, Resmed mephcotus | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, ephedrine, promethazine | Lenazine forte cough, Antituss cough, Sedlinct, +2 more | 9 mg/7,2 mg/3,6 mg per 5 ml, linctus, mixture, syrup | 3 applicants | 5 registrations | S2 |
| Codeine, diphenhydramine, paracetamol | Antiflu, Betapyn, Dipardod | syrup | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Chlorpheniramine, codeine, ephedrine Cancelled | Phen e cod | mixture | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G0747 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, mepyramine, theophylline Cancelled | Adco-metaxol | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | G0892 | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Codeine, mepyramine | Codomill | syrup | Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | G1260 | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Aspirin, codeine, phenacetin Cancelled | A p codeine nitro brand | tablets | Adcock ingram limited | J0365 | S2 to S6conditions apply |
| Anhydrous, caffeine, codeine, meprobamate, paracetamol Cancelled | Painagon | tablets | Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) Ltd | R0270 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
6 more registered products name Codeine in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Codeine, guaifenesin, pseudoephedrine, triprolidine | Colzor adult, Adco-neofed paediatric, Neofed adult, +16 more | syrup, 1 g, 5 mg/5 ml, 5 ml, +1 more | 6 applicants | 19 registrations | S2 |
| Aluminium hydroxide, codeine, paracetamol, phenobarbitone Cancelled | Expyn | Not stated | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | B0807 | |
| Codeine, paracetamol, salicylamide Cancelled | Cetacod | capsules | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | B1456 | |
| Codeine, ephedrine, mepyramine, pholcodine Cancelled | Docsed | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | G0616 | |
| Codeine, mepyramine, sodium citrate, sulfogaiacol Cancelled | Pyracod | syrup | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | G0893 | |
| Codeine, ephedrine, glycerol, mepyramine | Codef | syrup | Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | G1236 |
Regulatory status
Where S2 to S6 sits on the scale
Depends on which listing applies
At the least restrictive, Schedule 2: a pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription. At the most restrictive, Schedule 6: prescription-only, no repeats without a new prescription. The listings below say which applies to which form, strength or pack size.
Schedule S2 to S6, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Codeine
S6: Codeine (methylmorphine)
- single component codeine preparations;
- oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export; (S2, S3)
- liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export. (S2, S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10128 to 10136
S3: Codeine (methylmorphine)
- oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
- except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
- except single component codeine preparations. (S6)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3350 to 3372
S2: Codeine (methylmorphine)
- oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days, and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
- except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit; (S3)
- except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit; (S3)
- except single component codeine preparations. (S6)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1758 to 1778
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.