Skip to content
zameds

Timolol

Schedule 3
Loading the molecular structure
C13H24N4O3S316.42 g/mol

(2S)-1-(tert-Butylamino)-3-[(4-morpholin-4-yl-1,2,5-thiadiazol-3-yl)oxy]propan-2-ol

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 33624.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Listing

Schedules
Schedule 3
Source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Registered medicines

12 registered products listed

Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.

Registered products
NameBrandsDosagesApplicantsRegistrationsSchedule
TimololGlaucosan, Glaucobex, Timoptol-xe, +8 more0,1%, 0,25%, 0,25 %, 0.5 %, +5 more8 applicants17 registrationsS3
Dorzolamide, timololCosopt, Glauopt co, Dorzotim, +14 more20/5 mg, 20 mg/ml + 5 mg/ml, drops, 20 mg, 5 mg14 applicants17 registrationsS3
Latanoprost, timololXalacom, Co-atana ophthalmic, Oculatim, +9 more5 mg/mL, solution, 50 μg/mL and 5 mg/mL, drops8 applicants12 registrationsS4
Bimatoprost, timololGanfort, Bimagam fort, Bimapres fort, +7 more0,3 mg/ml, 0,3 mg/mL and 5 mg/mL, 5 mg, 0,3 mg5 applicants10 registrationsS4
Brinzolamide, timololAzargaNot statedNovartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd440046S3 to S4
Latanoprost 50 0 g, timololComarestol50 µg/ 5 mg/mlIpharma (Pty) Ltd490155S4
Brimonidine, timololBrimoct co, Combigan2 mg/ml + 5 mg/ml2 applicants2 registrationsS3 to S4
Timolol, travoprostOcutra, Mytramtil eye, Opituran, +1 moredrops solution, drops4 applicants4 registrationsS3 to S4
Dorzalomide, timololAdortim, Optitrin, Glauspec20 mg, 5 mgTrinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd3 registrationsS3
Timolol, tranvoprostRavtagon forteNot statedAustell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd560727S3 to S4
Dorzolamide20, timololDorzolamide/timolol eye FDCdropsFDC SA (Pty) Ltd561209S3 to S4
Amiloride, hydrochlorothiazide, timololServatrin2.5mgPharmacare limited û woodmeadV0354S3

Regulatory status

Where S3 sits on the scale

Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.

Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Timolol

  • S3: Timolol

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4325

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles