Sodium phosphate
No structure available
Sodium phosphate could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 3, conditions apply
- Exceptions reach
- Schedule 0
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
7 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Betamethasone | Lenovate, Betanoid, Adco-betamethasone, +16 more | ointment, 0,60 mg /5 ml, cream, 0,5 mg, +7 more | 10 applicants | 23 registrations | S4 |
| Betamethasone, neomycin | Bet-vet, Betnesol-n eye,ear and nose, Betnesol-n eye, +1 more | drops, 100 mg, 350 mg / 100 ml, ointment, cream | 3 applicants | 5 registrations | S4 |
| Acid, dihydrate, sodium phosphate | Lenolax paediatric | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | E1982 | S3conditions apply |
| Sodium acid, sodium phosphate | Adco fosenema | Not stated | Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd | F0054 | S3conditions apply |
| Chloramphenicol, dexamethasone, neomycin | Covomycin d | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | H1237 | S3 to S4conditions apply |
| Chloramphenicol, dexamethasone | Spersadex comp. Eye | drops | Adcock ingram limited | H1278 | S3 to S4conditions apply |
| Chloramphenicol, dexamethasone, tetrahydrozoline | Spersadexoline | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | H1287 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
1 more registered product name Sodium phosphate in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sodium acid, sodium phosphate heptahydrate | Lenolax | Not stated | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | E0819 |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Sodium phosphate
S3: Sodium phosphate
- in preparations intended for the management of faecal impaction or for bowel cleansing prior to surgical and diagnostic procedures. (S0)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 4251 to 4252
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.