Neomycin
(2R,3S,4R,5R,6R)-5-Amino-2-(aminomethyl)-6-[(1R,2R,3S,4R,6S)-4,6-diamino-2-[(2S,3R,4S,5R)-4-[(2R,3R,4R,5S,6S)-3-amino-6-(aminomethyl)-4,5-dihydroxyoxan-2-yl]oxy-3-hydroxy-5-(hydroxymethyl)oxolan-2-yl]oxy-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]oxyoxane-3,4-diol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 8378.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 4, conditions apply
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
16 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neomycin | Neomycin huve, Neophen, Biosol soluble, +2 more | 70 %, 500 mg, tablets | 5 applicants | 6 registrations | S4 |
| Neomycin, nitrofurazone, prednisolone, vitamin a palmitate Cancelled | Prenine | ointment | Elanco Animal Health (Pty) Ltd | 83/134 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Betamethasone valerate, neomycin | Bet-vet | cream | Janssen Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | 83/562 | S4 |
| Betamethasone, neomycin | Bet-vet, Betnesol-n eye,ear and nose, Betnesol-n eye, +1 more | drops, 100 mg, 350 mg / 100 ml, ointment, cream | 3 applicants | 5 registrations | S4 |
| Hydrocortisone, neomycin | Neo-cortef, Hycortin plus, Adco-neoderm, +2 more | 1 %, ointment, 1,5 %, suspension | 4 applicants | 7 registrations | S2 to S4conditions apply |
| Neomycin, prednisolone | Optacin, Optacin eye /oogsalf | ointment, ointment/oogsalf | Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S4 |
| Bacitracin, neomycin Cancelled | Nebacetin | ointment, powder, spray powder | Byk Gulden SA (Pty) Ltd* | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Bacitracin zinc, neomycin | Bacimycin, Neobacrin antibiotic, Neobacrin tulle | ointment | 2 applicants | 3 registrations | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Dexamethasone, neomycin, tyrothricin Cancelled | Septomixine forte | Not stated | Er Bernard Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | G3233 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Chloramphenicol, naphazoline, neomycin | Covomycin | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | H1236 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Chloramphenicol, dexamethasone, neomycin | Covomycin d | Not stated | Adcock ingram limited | H1237 | S3 to S4conditions apply |
| Neomycin, sodium propionate Cancelled | Neopan eye | drops | The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd | H1303 | S4 |
Show the other 4 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chlorhexidine a, neomycin | Naseptin | Not stated | Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | H1371 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Lidocaine, neomycin, prednisolone | Optacin ear /oordruppels | drops/oordruppels | Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) Ltd | H1419 | S1 to S4conditions apply |
| Hydrocortisone, neomycin, phenylephrine, phenylpropanolamine | Nasomixin | Not stated | Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | H1422 | S1 to S6conditions apply |
| Fluorometholone, neomycin | Fml-neo liquifilm ophthalmic | 1,0 mg/ml | Abbvie (Pty) Ltd | J0335 | S4conditions apply |
3 more registered products name Neomycin in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neomycin, prednisolone, sulfur, zinc oxide Cancelled | Dog eczema | Not stated | Phenix SA (Pty) Ltd | 83/266 | |
| Neomycin, procaine penicillin | Neo-mastitar dry cow therapy | Not stated | Intervet South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 83/781 | |
| Aminopentamide, kaolin, neomycin, pectin a, phthalylsulfathiazole, sodium chloride Cancelled | Enteritis | suspension | Bayer (Pty) Ltd (Animal Health Division) | 83/82 |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Neomycin
S4: Neomycin
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7224 to 7225
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.