Lamivudine
4-Amino-1-[(2R,5S)-2-(hydroxymethyl)-1,3-oxathiolan-5-yl]pyrimidin-2-one
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 60825.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 4
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
21 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lamivudine | Tc, Cipla lamivudine, Bio-lamivudine, +21 more | 3, oral solution, 10 mg/ml, 10 mg, +5 more | 19 applicants | 35 registrations | S4 |
| Lamivudine, zidovudine | Combivir, Aspen lamzid, Colamziv, +16 more | tablets, 150/300, 150 mg, 300 mg, 150 mg 300 mg /, +2 more | 13 applicants | 19 registrations | S4 |
| Emtricitabine, tenofovir disoproxil | Truvada, Tencitab, Tyricten, +22 more | 200mg, 200/300 mg, 200 mg / 300 mg, 200mg & 300 mg, +5 more | 17 applicants | 25 registrations | S4 |
| Lamivudine, nevirapine, stavudine | Tridex, Virtrium, Stalanev, +2 more | 30/150/200, 30, 40/150/200, 40 | 5 applicants | 8 registrations | S4 |
| Efavirenz, lamivudine, zidovudine | Cipla duovir and efavirenz copack, Sonke lamivudine+zidovudine and sonke-efavirenz co-pack, Zilastoc | 150/300 600 | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S4 |
| Lamivudine, nevirapine, zidovudine | Triplavar, Vutalin, Comozen, +3 more | Not stated | 5 applicants | 6 registrations | S4 |
| Lamivudine, stavudine | Lastavine, Sonke-lastad | 30 mg/150 mg, 30, 40 mg/150 mg, 40 | 2 applicants | 4 registrations | S4 |
| Tenofovir disoproxil | Medpro tenofovir, Cipla tenofovir, Aspen tenofovir, +14 more | 300 mg, 300mg | 12 applicants | 17 registrations | S4 |
| Abacavir, lamivudine | Azadar, Auro-abacavir/lamivudine, Dumiva, +10 more | 300mg, 300 mg, 600/300 mg, 600/300, +3 more | 10 applicants | 13 registrations | S4 |
| Abacavir, lamivudine, zidovudine | Bacatac, Terzala adult, Sonke-abaclamizid | Not stated | 3 applicants | 3 registrations | S4 |
| Lamivudine, tenofovir disoproxil | Tenolam, Tenlam, Mivuten, +11 more | 300mg, 300/300, 300/300 mg, 300 mg, 245 mg | 11 applicants | 14 registrations | S4 |
| Efavirenz, lamivudine, tenofovir disoproxil | Tenarenz, Eflaten, Hetlatef, +15 more | 300mg, 300 mg, 300 mg, 400 mg, 400mg, 300 mg, 300 mg, 600mg, +1 more | 12 applicants | 18 registrations | S4 |
Show the other 9 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dolutegravir | Tivicay, Gravita, Olegra, +20 more | 10 mg, 25 mg, 50 mg | 10 applicants | 23 registrations | S4 |
| Dolutegravir, lamivudine, tenofovir disoproxil | Acriptega, Ranega, Odystra, +34 more | 23 mg, 23 mg), 25 mg, 50mg, +11 more | 20 applicants | 37 registrations | S4 |
| Abacavir, dolutegravir, lamivudine | Kavideza, Kavmyl, Dolab, +12 more | 50 mg, 50 mg, 600 mg, 300 mg, 60 mg, 5 mg & 30 mg, 60 mg/5 mg/30 mg, +3 more | 9 applicants | 15 registrations | S4 |
| Doravirine, lamivudine, tenofovir disoproxil | Delstrigo | 100mg.245mg.300mg | Msd (Pty) Ltd | 530233 | S4 |
| Dolutegravir, lamivudine | Dalvutin, Lomida | 50/300 mg | Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S4 |
| Lamivudine, tenofovir | Virlam | 300 mg | Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | 550111 | S4 |
| Dolutegravir, lamivudine, tenofovir | Tetrilune | 50 mg, 300 mg, 25 mg | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | 560464 | S4 |
| Dolutegravir, lamivudine, tenofovir disoproxil fumarate equvalent to tenofovir disoproxil | Juxolu | 50 mg/300 mg/300 mg | Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | 560487 | S4 |
| Abacavir sulphate equivalet to abacavir, dolutegravir, lamivudine | Tulodiv | 600 mg, 50 mg, 300 mg, | Adcock ingram limited | 570108 | S4 |
1 more registered product name Lamivudine in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lamivudine, tenofovir disoproxil fumerate | Lamivudine and tenofovir cipla | 300/300 | Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | 510572 |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Lamivudine
S4: Lamivudine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6850
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.