Hydrochlorothiazide
6-Chloro-1,1-dioxo-3,4-dihydro-2H-1lambda6,2,4-benzothiadiazine-7-sulfonamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 3639.
Background
Listing
- Schedules
- Schedule 3
- Source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Registered medicines
21 registered products listed
Counted through the register's ingredient index, which does not reach every record.
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrochlorothiazide, quinapril | Accuretic, Accumax co, Quinapril hydrochlorothiazide zydus, +2 more | 10/12,5, 10/12,5 mg, 20/12,5, 20/12,5 mg | 4 applicants | 10 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, lisinopril | Zestoretic, Adco zetomax co, Zetomax co, +10 more | 10 mg, 10/12,5, 20 mg, 20/25, +1 more | 11 applicants | 23 registrations | S3 |
| Amiloride, hydrochlorothiazide | Gsa-retic, Aquadrex, Dezretic, +7 more | 5/50, tablets, 5 mg/50 mg | 7 applicants | 10 registrations | S3 |
| Captopril, hydrochlorothiazide | Zapto-co, Captoretic | Not stated | 2 applicants | 2 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, triamterene | Loretic, Dyazide, Renezide, +1 more | tablets, 50/25 | 3 applicants | 4 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, losartan | Cozaar comp, Fortzaar, Lotensin co, +21 more | 50/12,5, 50 mg, 100 mg, 100/25, +4 more | 16 applicants | 39 registrations | S3 |
| Bisoprolol, hydrochlorothiazide | Ziak, Ziabeta, Bisozyd co, +5 more | 2,5/6,25 mg, 2,5/6,25, 5 mg/6,25 mg, 5/6,25 mg, +5 more | 5 applicants | 22 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, valsartan | Co-diovan, Co-tareg, Co-diovan plus, +15 more | 80/12.5, 160/12.5, 320/12.5, 320/25 mg, 80, 80/12,5, 160, +5 more | 10 applicants | 37 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | Hydrochlorothiazide ascendis, Hexazide, Unizide, +11 more | 12.5 mg, 12,5 mg, 25 mg, 50, +1 more | 10 applicants | 23 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, irbesartan | Coaprovel, Isart co, Irbesartan hydrochlorothiazide zydus, +5 more | 150/12,5, 150, 150/12,5 mg, 300/12,5, +4 more | 6 applicants | 14 registrations | S3 |
| Lisinopril | Zetomax, Sinopren, Hexal-lisinopril, +15 more | 2,5 mg, 2,5/ 5/ 10/ 20 mg, 5 mg, 5mg/10mg/20mg, +2 more | 12 applicants | 42 registrations | S3 |
| Enalapril, hydrochlorothiazide | Enap-co, Pharmapress co, Renipral-co, +7 more | 20,0/12,5 mg, 20.0mg/12.5 mg, 20/12,5, 20 mg, 12,5 mg | 6 applicants | 10 registrations | S3 |
Show the other 9 registered products
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quinapril | Accumax, Quinaspen, Quinapril zydus, +4 more | 5 mg, 10 mg, 20 mg, 40 mg | 6 applicants | 23 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, telmisartan | Co-micardis, Co-pritor, Tremistan plus, +4 more | 40/12,5 mg, 40/12,5, 40/12.5 mg, 80/12,5 mg, +3 more | 5 applicants | 17 registrations | S3 |
| Amlodipine, hydrochlorothiazide, valsartan | Co exforge, Co- copalia, Co-copalia, +10 more | 5 mg/160 mg/12,5 mg, 5 mg/160 mg/25 mg, 5/160/12,5mg, 5/160/25mg, +15 more | 7 applicants | 54 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide usp, telmisartan usp Cancelled | Lesirta co | 40/12,5, 80/12,5 | Aurogen South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, zofenopril Cancelled | Zantipres co, Zofaril co | 30 mg/12,5 mg | Menarini South Africa (Pty) Ltd | 2 registrations | S3 |
| Eprosartan, hydrochlorothiazide | Teveten plus | Not stated | Abbott Laboratories S.A. (Pty) Ltd | A380728 | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, methyldopa | Hydromet | Not stated | Msd (Pty) Ltd | H0593 | S3 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide, potassium chloride Cancelled | Urirex k | tablets | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | H1888 | S3 |
| Amiloride, hydrochlorothiazide, timolol | Servatrin | 2.5mg | Pharmacare limited û woodmead | V0354 | S3 |
1 more registered product name Hydrochlorothiazide in their active ingredient
| Name | Brands | Dosages | Applicants | Registrations | Schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrochlorothiazide, olmesartan medoxomil | Olmetec plus, Omesar plus | 20/12,5, 20/12,5 mg, 20/25 mg | Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | 3 registrations |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, as the Consolidated Schedules list it.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Hydrochlorothiazide
S3: Hydrochlorothiazide
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3721
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.