Lamivudine, zidovudine
Sold as Combivir, Aspen lamzid, Colamziv, Colazid, Combozil, Adco lamivudine and zidovudine, Zilam, Propan lamivudine and zidovudine, Macleods lamivudine150 and zidovudine, Zovilam, Macleods lamivudine zidovudine, Hetzimuv, Cozilam, Zidocomb, Aspen zidolam, Cipla duovir, Sonke-lamivudine zidovudine, Aspen lamivudine & zidovudine combipack, Lodiz
Combination product
This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 13
- Registrations
- 19
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) LimitedCancelled | Combivir | Not stated | 320705 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead1 of 3 cancelled | Aspen lamzid, Aspen zidolam, Aspen lamivudine & zidovudine combipack | Not stated | 380112, A380382, A400311 | S4 | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Colamziv | Not stated | 380151 | S4 | None |
| Aurobindo Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Colazid | tablets | 410916 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Combozil, Hetzimuv | 150/300 | 430362, 460680 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited2 of 3 cancelled | Adco lamivudine and zidovudine, Zilam, Propan lamivudine and zidovudine | 150/300, tablets | 440106, 440107, 440108 | S4 | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd | Macleods lamivudine150 and zidovudine, Macleods lamivudine zidovudine | 150 mg 300 mg /, 300 | 440591, 450889 | S4 | None |
| Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Zovilam | 150 mg, 300 mg | 450170 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cozilam | Not stated | 480572 | S4 | None |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Zidocomb | Not stated | 530184 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd | Cipla duovir | Not stated | A400244 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Sonke-lamivudine zidovudine | + | A400254 | S4 | PI |
| Novagen Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Lodiz | Not stated | A400381 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Combivir EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 32070532/20.2.8/0705 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Aspen lamzid EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 38011238/20.2.8/0112 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Colamziv EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 38015138/20.2.8/0151 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Colazid tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 41091641/20.2.8/0916 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Combozil 150/300 EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | 150/300 | 43036243/20.2.8/0362 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco lamivudine and zidovudine 150/300 EACH TABLET CONTAINS :LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg, ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | 150/300 | 44010644/20.2.8/0106 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Zilam tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Tablets | 44010744/20.2.8/0107 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Propan lamivudine and zidovudine 150/300 EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | 150/300 | 44010844/20.2.8/0108 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Macleods lamivudine150 and zidovudine 300 EACH TABLET CONRTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | 300 | 44059144/20.2.8/0591 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Zovilam EACH TABLET CONTAINS :LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg, ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | 150 mg, 300 mgTablets | 45017045/20.2.8/0170Approved 27 January 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Macleods lamivudine 150 mg/ zidovudine 300 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS :LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg, ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | 150 mg 300 mg / | 45088945/20.2.8/0889 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Hetzimuv EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 46068046/20.2.8/0680 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cozilam EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 48057248/20.2.8/0572 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Zidocomb EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | 53018453/20.2.8/0184 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Aspen zidolam EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | A380382A38/20.2.8/0382 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cipla duovir EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | A400244A40/20.2.8/0244 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Sonke-lamivudine + zidovudine EACH TABLET CONTAINS: LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg, ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | +Film-coated tablets | A400254A40/20.2.8/0254Approved 21 November 2022 | Registered | S4 | PI |
| Aspen lamivudine & zidovudine combipack EACH COMBIPACK CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | A400311A40/20.2.8/0311 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Lodiz EACH TABLET CONTAINS LAMIVUDINE 150,0 mg , ZIDOVUDINE 300,0 mg | Not listed | A400381A40/20.2.8/0381 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence medium.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Lamivudine, zidovudine
S4: Lamivudine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 6850
S4: Zidovudine
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8412
Pharmacological class: Antiviral agents. (class 20.2.8)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Zovilam, Viatris Healthcare (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.