Doxycycline
Sold as Doxycyl, Dumoxin, Cyclidox ec, Doryx, Doxitab, Doxycycline biotech, Doxyhexal, Doxytet, Doximal, Doxycycline austell, Doxycycline shanur, * doxycycline shanur, Doxyclin, Vibramycin, Doxymycin, Thedox, Cyclidox, A-lennon doxycycline
(4S,4AR,5S,5aR,6R,12aR)-4-(dimethylamino)-1,5,10,11,12a-pentahydroxy-6-methyl-3,12-dioxo-4a,5,5a,6-tetrahydro-4H-tetracene-2-carboxamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 54671203.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 12
- Registrations
- 25
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adcock ingram limited1 of 3 cancelled | Doxycyl, Thedox | capsules, 100 | 270495, 280059, P0039 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead3 of 7 cancelled | Dumoxin, Doxyclin, Doxymycin, A-lennon doxycycline | 50, 100 mg | 270497, E0026, M0506, N0144, P0296, Y0225, Z0263 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cyclidox ec | 50 mg, 100 mg, 200 mg | 280004, 280005, 280006 | Not determined | None |
| Warner-lambert SA (Pty) LtdCancelled | Doryx | 50 | 280666 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Doxitab, Doximal | Not stated | 290298, 340073 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd. | Doxycycline biotech | 100 mg | 310425 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Arya Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Doxyhexal | 100 | 320117 | Not determined | None |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Doxytet | 100 mg | 320254 | Not determined | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Doxycycline austell | 50, 100 | 560042, 560043 | Not determined | None |
| Shanur Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Doxycycline shanur, * doxycycline shanur | 50, 100 | 560044.042, 560045.043 | Not determined | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) LtdCancelled | Vibramycin | Not stated | F0105 | Not determined | None |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Cyclidox | capsules | Q0283 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Doxycyl capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 50 MG DOXYCYCLINE | Capsules | 27049527/20.1.1/0495 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Dumoxin 50 capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 50 MG DOXYCYCLINE | 50Capsules | 27049727/20.1.1/0497 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cyclidox ec 50 MG capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 50 mg DOXYCYCLINE | 50 mgCapsules | 28000428/20.1.1/0004 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cyclidox ec 100 MG capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 mg DOXYCYCLINE | 100 mgCapsules | 28000528/20.1.1/0005 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cyclidox ec 200 MG capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 200 mg DOXYCYCLINE | 200 mgCapsules | 28000628/20.1.1/0006 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Doxycyl 100 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 MG DOXYCYCLINE | 100 | 28005928/20.1.1/0059 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doryx 50* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 50 mg DOXYCYCLINE | 50 | 28066628/20.1.1/0666 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Doxitab EACH TABLET CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100 mg | Not listed | 29029829/20.1.1/0298 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Doxycycline biotech 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100,0 mg | 100 mgFilm-coated tablets. | 31042531/20.1.1/0425Approved 3 March 2025 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Doxyhexal 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE MONOHYDRATE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100,0 mg | 100 | 32011732/20.1.1/0117 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doxytet 100 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100,0 mg | 100 mg | 32025432/20.1.1/0254 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doximal EACH TABLET CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100,0 mg | Not listed | 34007334/20.1.1/0073 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Doxycycline 50 austell EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYCLATE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 | 56004256/20.1.1/0042 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doxycycline 100 austell EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYCLATE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100,0 mg | 100 | 56004356/20.1.1/0043 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doxycycline 50 shanur EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS: DOXYCYCLINE HYCLATE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 | 560044.04256/20.1.1/0044.042 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| * doxycycline 100 shanur EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYCLATE EQUIVALENT TO DOXYCYCLINE 100,0 mg | 100 | 560045.04356/20.1.1/0045.043 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doxyclin EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 mg DOXYCYCLINE | Not listed | E0026E/20.1.1/26 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Vibramycin* EACH VIAL CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE 100 mg | Not listed | F0105F/10.1.1/105 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Doxymycin - 100 capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 mg DOXYCYCLINE | - 100Capsules | M0506M/20.1.1/506 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doxymycin - 100 EACH TABLET CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 MG DOXYCYCLINE | - 100 | N0144N/20.1.1/144 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Thedox capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE 100 mg AS DOXYCYCLINE POLYPHOSPHATE SODIUM COMPLEX | Capsules | P0039P/20.1.1/39 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Dumoxin EACH TABLET CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 MG DOXYCYCLINE | Not listed | P0296P/20.1.1/96 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cyclidox capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 100 mg DOXYCYCLINE | Capsules | Q0283Q/20.1.1/283 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon doxycycline 100 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE 100 mg | 100 mg | Y0225Y/20.1.1/225 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Doxymycin - 50 capsules EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE HYDROCHLORIDE EQUIVALENT TO 50 MG DOXYCYCLINE | - 50Capsules | Z0263Z/20.1.1/263 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Doxycycline
- when intended and labelled for the chemoprophylaxis of malaria in those aged 8 years and older. (S2)
- in preparations thereof for the treatment of animals and registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 6118 to 6123
S2: Doxycycline
- when intended and labelled for the chemoprophylaxis of malaria in those aged 8 years and older. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1873 to 1875
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.