Skip to content
zameds

Codeine, pseudoephedrine, triprolidine

Sold as Adco-tussend, Tuscodin co, Fludactil co, Actifed dry cough regular, Endcol cough, Acugest co, Merck-cough

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
6
Registrations
7

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Adcock ingram limitedCancelledAdco-tussendNot stated270256Not determinedNone
The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelledTuscodin coNot stated280133Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmead1 of 2 cancelledFludactil co, Endcol coughlinctus300049, T0235Not determinedNone
Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) LimitedCancelledActifed dry cough regularNot statedG0524Not determinedNone
Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelledAcugest colinctusX0002Not determinedNone
Nkunzi pharmaceuticalsMerck-coughlinctusY0138Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Adco-tussend

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mgPSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mgTRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1,25 mg

Not listed27025627/10.1/0256CancelledNot determinedNone
Tuscodin co*

EACH 5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mg PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg TRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1,25 mg

Not listed28013328/10.1/0133CancelledNot determinedNone
Fludactil co linctus

EACH 5 ML CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 MG PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 MG TRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1,25 MG

Linctus30004930/5.8/0049RegisteredNot determinedNone
Actifed dry cough - regular

5 ML CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 10 MG PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE A 30 MG TRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE A 1,25 MG

-G0524CancelledNot determinedNone
Endcol cough linctus

EACH 5 ML CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 MG PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 MG TRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1,25 MG

LinctusT0235T/10.1/235CancelledNot determinedNone
Acugest co linctus

EACH 5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mgPSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mgTRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1,25 mg

LinctusX0002X/10.1/2CancelledNot determinedNone
Merck-cough linctus

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mg PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg TRIPROLIDINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1,25 mg

LinctusY0138Y/10.1/138RegisteredNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.

Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product

  • S6: Codeine

    • single component codeine preparations;
    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export; (S2, S3)
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export. (S2, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10128 to 10136

  • S6: Pseudoephedrine

    • except contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export, being oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 60 milligrams or controlled-release oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 120 milligrams of pseudoephedrine per dose, and not more than 240 milligrams per day, when in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, subject to a maximum pack size of 720 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer. (S2)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10412 to 10417

  • S3: Codeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
    • except single component codeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3350 to 3372

  • S2: Codeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days, and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit; (S3)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit; (S3)
    • except single component codeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1758 to 1778

  • S2: Pseudoephedrine

    • contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export,
    • Immediate-release oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 60 milligrams of pseudoephedrine per dose or controlled-release oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 120 milligrams of pseudoephedrine per dose, and not more than 240 milligrams per day, when in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, subject to a maximum pack size of 720 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2600 to 2607

  • S2: Triprolidine

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 2745

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles