Skip to content
zameds

Chlorpheniramine, paracetamol, vitamin c

Sold as Coryx para c, Paragrip c, Efferflu-c cold & flu

S2Read from the PI-PIL document and verified

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
3
Registrations
3
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCoryx para cNot stated470576Not determinedNone
Unicorn Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdParagrip cNot statedA390450Not determinedNone
Pharma Dynamics (Pty) LtdEfferflu-c cold & flu250 mgA390451S2PIPIL

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Coryx para c

Each tablet contains PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg and VITAMIN C (ASCORBIC ACID) 250,0 mg and CHLORPHENIRAMINE MALEATE 2,0 mg

Not listed47057647/5.8/0576RegisteredNot determinedNone
Paragrip c

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CHLORPHENIRAMINE MALEATE 2,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg SODIUM ASCORBATE EQUIVALENT TO VITAMIN C 250,0 mg

Not listedA390450A39/5.8/0450RegisteredNot determinedNone
Efferflu-c cold & flu

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CHLORPHENIRAMINE MALEATE 2,0 mg PARACETAMOL 500,0 mg VITAMIN C 250,0 mg

250 mgEffervescent tabletsA390451A39/5.8/0451Approved 7 November 2025RegisteredS2PIPIL

Regulatory status

Where S2 sits on the scale

A pharmacist can sell it directly, without a prescription.

Schedule 2 medicines sit behind the pharmacy counter. A pharmacist can decide to sell one of these directly, using their own professional judgement, without a doctor's prescription. It can also be dispensed against a prescription like the higher tiers, in which case the usual repeat limits apply. A child under 12 may only be sold a Schedule 2 substance on a prescription, or on a written order that names the purpose and carries a signature the seller recognises. Even though it cannot be advertised to the public in the ordinary sense, its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S2, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S3; the leaflet's S2 applies to this product.

Who may supply: Only a pharmacist, pharmacist intern or supervised pharmacist's assistant may sell it without a prescription. It may otherwise be dispensed by a pharmacist against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Chlorpheniramine maleate, paracetamol, vitamin c

  • S3: Paracetamol

    • when intended for injection.

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4093

  • S3: Vitamin c

    • in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
    • except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 1000 mg of Vitamin C per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients. (S1)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 4435 to 4440

  • S2: Chlorpheniramine

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 1732

  • S2: Paracetamol

    • when contained in rectal suppositories, or
    • when contained in modified release formulations. (S0, S1, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2496 to 2500

  • S1: Paracetamol

    • immediate release tablets or capsules each containing 500 milligrams or less of paracetamol, or in individually wrapped powders or in sachets containing 1 000 milligrams or less of paracetamol, subject to - (i) a maximum of 12,5 grams of paracetamol per primary pack, and (ii) in the case of tablets or capsules, presented in blister strip packaging or in containers with child-resistant closures; and (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
    • in liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres or in paediatric drops containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 1,2 millilitres, subject to - (i) a maximum of 100 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres; (ii) a maximum of 20 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the paediatric drops; (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
    • when contained in rectal suppositories. (S2)
    • when contained in modified release formulations. (S2)
    • when intended for injection. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 958 to 997

  • S1: Vitamin c

    • in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 1000 mg of Vitamin C per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
    • except in preparations thereof for injection. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1184 to 1189

Pharmacological class: Preparations for the common cold including nasal decongestants. (class 5.8)

14 of 67 approved products with this ingredient carry S5 on their leaflet.

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Efferflu-c cold & flu, Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S2 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles