Skip to content
zameds

Calcium hydroxide

Sold as Slaked lime (calcium hydroxide)-darol, Slaked lime, Slaked lime(calcium hydroxide) alchemist

No structure available

This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
2
Registrations
3

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Barrs Pharmaceutical Industries (Pty) LtdSlaked lime (calcium hydroxide)-darol, Slaked lime(calcium hydroxide) alchemistNot stated330143, BV0707Not determinedNone
Allied Drug Company (Pty) LtdSlaked limeNot statedBV0359Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Slaked lime (calcium hydroxide)-darol

EACH 50,0 g POWDER CONTAINS CALCIUM HYDROXIDE 50,0 g

Not listed33014333/34/0143RegisteredNot determinedNone
Slaked lime

EACH 100 g CONTAINS CALCIUM HYDROXIDE A 100 g

Not listedBV0359Old MedicineNot determinedNone
Slaked lime(calcium hydroxide) alchemist

CALCIUM HYDROXIDE A 100 %

Not listedBV0707Old MedicineNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.

Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product

  • S4: Calcium

    • when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S0)
    • except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
    • except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
    • except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5618 to 5628

  • S3: Calcium

    • in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
    • except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
    • except when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S4)
    • except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3262 to 3272

  • S1: Calcium

    • in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
    • except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
    • except when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S4)
    • except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 302 to 312

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles