Calcium carbonate
Sold as Neutracid antacid, Citro-soda neutracid chew, Eno extra strength- cherry flavour, Eno extra strength lemon flavour, Eno extra strength- orange flavour, Eno extra strength assorted flavour, Restomac, Eno orange flavour, Eno peppermint flavour, Rolaids antacid, Calsuba calcium
No structure available
This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 5
- Registrations
- 12
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Neutracid antacid, Citro-soda neutracid chew | tablets | 330497, 350005 | Not determined | None |
| Haleon South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Eno extra strength- cherry flavour, Eno extra strength lemon flavour, Eno extra strength- orange flavour, Eno extra strength assorted flavour, Eno orange flavour, Eno peppermint flavour | tablets, tablet | 491036, 491039, 491040, 491041, M0006, M0023 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Restomac | Not stated | L0276 | Not determined | None |
| Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East LondonCancelled | Rolaids antacid | Not stated | W0013 | Not determined | None |
| Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelled | Calsuba calcium | tablets, powder | Y0033, Y0202 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neutracid antacid EACH TABLET CONTAINS CALCIUM CARBONATE 500,0 mg | Not listed | 33049733/11.4.1/0497 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Citro-soda neutracid chew tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CALCIUM CARBONATE 716,0 mg | Tablets | 35000535/11.4.1/0005 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Eno tablets extra strength- cherry flavour EACH CHEWABLE TABLET CONTAINS: CALCIUM CARBONATE 750,0 mg | Tablets | 49103649/11.4/1036 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Eno tablet extra strength lemon flavour EACH CHEWABLE TABLET CONTAINS: CALCIUM CARBONATE 750,0 mg | Tablet | 49103949/11.4/1039 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Eno tablets extra strength- orange flavour EACH CHEWABLE TABLET CONTAINS: CALCIUM CARBONATE 750,0 mg | Tablets | 49104049/11.4/1040 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Eno tablet extra strength assorted flavour EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CALCIUM CARBONATE 750,0 mg | Tablet | 49104149/11.4/1041 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Restomac EACH TABLET CONTAINS CALCIUM CARBONATE 420 mg | Not listed | L0276L/11.4/276 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Eno tablets orange flavour EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CALCIUM CARBONATE 500,0 mg | Tablets | M0006M/11.4/6 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Eno tablets peppermint flavour EACH TABLET CONTAINS: CALCIUM CARBONATE 500 mg | Tablets | M0023M/11.4/23 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Rolaids antacid EACH TABLET CONTAINS CALCIUM CARBONATE 650 mg | Not listed | W0013W/11.4.1/13 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Calsuba calcium tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS CALCIUM CARBONATE 500,0 mg | Tablets | Y0033Y/24/33 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Calsuba calcium powder EACH 5 g POWDER CONTAINS CALCIUM CARBONATE 1 g | Powder | Y0202Y/24/202 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Calcium
- when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
- except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 5618 to 5628
S3: Calcium
- in preparations thereof for injection; (S0)
- except in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S1)
- except when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S4)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3262 to 3272
S1: Calcium
- in oral preparations or mixtures containing more than 1300 mg of calcium per recommended daily dose alone or in combination with other active pharmaceutical ingredients; (S0)
- except in preparations thereof for injection; (S3)
- except when indicated for the treatment of hyperphosphataemia; (S4)
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 302 to 312
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.