Skip to content
zameds

Caffeine, codeine, meprobamate, paracetamol

Sold as Acugesil, Astrapain forte, Vacudol forte, Goldgesic, Micro gesic, Adco salterpyn, Fevapar, Hopyn, Gsa-para-cod-mepro-caff, Spectrapain forte t, Mepropayne, Novagesic, Stopayne, Tenston SA, Supragesic, Scripto-gesic, Stilpane, Spectrapain forte, Painrite forte, Adco-tripyn, Adco mepromol, Megapyn, Synaleve L.S., Pynmed /tablette, Adco-payne, Ban pain, Noralget, Dynapayne tablette, Antipyn forte, Nucopain

S5Read from the PI-PIL document and verified

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
16
Registrations
33
Schedule source
SAHPRA documentation

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Resmed healthcareAcugesilNot stated270005Not determinedNone
Astral Pharma (Pty) LtdAstrapain forte, Hopyn320 mg270137, 280422Not determinedPIPIL
Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdVacudol forteNot stated270231Not determinedNone
Shanur Healthcare (Pty) LtdGoldgesicNot stated270249Not determinedNone
Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) LtdMicro gesictablets270303Not determinedNone
Adcock ingram limitedCertificate held by Adcock Ingram Limited (Pty) Ltd3 of 10 cancelledAdco salterpyn, Gsa-para-cod-mepro-caff, Stopayne, Tenston SA, Scripto-gesic, Adco-tripyn, Adco mepromol, Adco-paynetablets, 1 mg, capsules270574, 280462, B0866, C0015, E0086, F0142, R0090, U0160, X0173, X0412Not determinedPIPIL
Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelledFevapar, Pynmed /tablettetablets, tablets/tablette280384, X0298Not determinedNone
Ascendis Pharma (Pty) LtdSpectrapain forte tNot stated290280Not determinedNone
Unimed Healthcare (Pty) LtdMepropayneNot stated380303Not determinedNone
Medicine Developers International (Pty) LtdNovagesicNot stated380310Not determinedNone
Pharmaceutical Enterprises (Pty) LtdSupragesiccapsulesF0141Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited4 of 6 cancelledStilpane, Painrite forte, Megapyn, Ban pain, Noralget, Antipyn forte150 mg, tabletsM0002, Q0242, X0240, Y0051, Y0118, Y0321S5PIPIL
Alliance Pharma (Pty) LtdSpectrapain forteNot statedN0081Not determinedNone
The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd1 of 2 cancelledScripto-gesic, Synaleve L.S.tabletsR0125, X0279Not determinedNone
Arya Pharma (Pty) LtdDynapayne tablette/Y0237Not determinedNone
Gulf Drug Company (Pty) LtdNucopainNot statedZ0027Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Acugesil

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listed27000527/2.8/0005RegisteredNot determinedNone
Astrapain forte tablets

EACH TABLET C ONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

320 mgTablet.27013727/2.8/0137Approved 6 November 2025RegisteredNot determinedPIPIL
Vacudol forte

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listed27023127/2.8/0231RegisteredNot determinedNone
Goldgesic

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listed27024927/2.8/0249RegisteredNot determinedNone
Micro gesic tablets

TABLET CAFFEINE 32 MG CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 MG MEPROBAMATE 150 MG PARACETAMOL 320 MG

Tablets27030327/2.8/0303RegisteredNot determinedNone
Adco salterpyn tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Tablets27057427/2.8/0574RegisteredNot determinedNone
Fevapar tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Tablets28038428/2.8/0384RegisteredNot determinedNone
Hopyn

EACH TABLET CONTAINS:CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg, CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg, MEPROBAMATE 150 mg, PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listed28042228/2.8/0422RegisteredNot determinedNone
Gsa-para-cod-mepro-caff

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listed28046228/2.8/0462CancelledNot determinedNone
Spectrapain forte t

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listed29028029/2.8/0280RegisteredNot determinedNone
Mepropayne

EACH TABLET CONTAINS :CAFFEINE 32,0 mg, CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg, MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg, PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

Not listed38030338/2.7/0303RegisteredNot determinedNone
Novagesic

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32,0 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

Not listed38031038/3.2/0310RegisteredNot determinedNone
Stopayne tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE A 32,4 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE A 8,2 mg MEPROBAMATE A 150 mg PARACETAMOL A 320 mg

1 mgTabletsB0866Approved 5 June 2021Old MedicineNot determinedPIPIL
Stopayne capsules

EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CAFFEINE 48 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

CapsulesC0015C/2.8/15RegisteredNot determinedNone
Tenston SA tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 30 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 200 mg

TabletsE0086E/2.8/86RegisteredNot determinedNone
Supragesic capsules

EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CAFFEINE 50 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 350 mg

CapsulesF0141F/2.9/141RegisteredNot determinedNone
Scripto-gesic capsules

EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CAFFEINE 50 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 350 mg

CapsulesF0142F/2.9/142CancelledNot determinedNone
Stilpane

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

150 mgTabletsM0002M/2.9/2Approved 21 October 2025RegisteredS5PIPIL
Spectrapain forte

EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CAFFEINE 48,0 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

Not listedN0081N/2.9/81RegisteredNot determinedNone
Painrite forte

EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CAFFEINE 48 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listedQ0242Q/2.9/242CancelledNot determinedNone
Tenston SA capsules

EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS CAFFEINE 30 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 10 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 200 mg

CapsulesR0090R/2.9/90RegisteredNot determinedNone
Scripto-gesic tablets*

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 325 mg

TabletsR0125R/2.9/125CancelledNot determinedNone
Adco-tripyn tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS, 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

TabletsU0160U/2.8/160CancelledNot determinedNone
Adco mepromol tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS, 32,0 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

TabletsX0173X/2.8/173RegisteredNot determinedNone
Megapyn tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

TabletsX0240X/2.8/240CancelledNot determinedNone
Synaleve L.S. Tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS, 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

TabletsX0279X/2.8/279RegisteredNot determinedNone
Pynmed tablets/tablette

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS, 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Tablets/tabletteX0298X/2.8/298CancelledNot determinedNone
Adco-payne tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32,0 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

TabletsX0412X/2.8/412RegisteredNot determinedNone
Ban pain tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32,0 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

TabletsY0051Y/2.8/51CancelledNot determinedNone
Noralget tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

TabletsY0118Y/2.8/118CancelledNot determinedNone
Dynapayne tablets / tablette

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32,0 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8,0 mg MEPROBAMATE 150,0 mg PARACETAMOL 320,0 mg

/TabletsY0237Y/2.8/237RegisteredNot determinedNone
Antipyn forte

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listedY0321Y/2.8/321RegisteredNot determinedNone
Nucopain

EACH TABLET CONTAINS CAFFEINE 32 mg CODEINE PHOSPHATE 8 mg MEPROBAMATE 150 mg PARACETAMOL 320 mg

Not listedZ0027Z/2.8/27RegisteredNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

Where S5 sits on the scale

Prescription-only, with tighter controls on repeats.

Schedule 5 medicines need a prescription, and repeat dispensing is capped at six months in total; the prescriber must state upfront how many times, and at what intervals, it may be repeated. Extra limits apply to some uses: if it is being used for its anxiolytic, antidepressant, tranquillising or analgesic properties, it cannot be prescribed for longer than six months without a further consultation. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S5, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.

The Consolidated Schedules list this ingredient up to S6; the leaflet's S5 applies to this product.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Caffeine, codeine phosphate, meprobamate, paracetamol

  • S6: Codeine

    • single component codeine preparations;
    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export; (S2, S3)
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, in preparations not registered in terms of the Act, or when intended for export. (S2, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10128 to 10136

  • S5: Meprobamate

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 9539

  • S3: Caffeine

    • when intended for injection.

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3256

  • S3: Codeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export; (S2)
    • except single component codeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 3350 to 3372

  • S3: Paracetamol

    • when intended for injection.

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4093

  • S2: Codeine

    • oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and in packs containing sufficient dosage units for a maximum treatment period of 5 days, and limited to one pack per customer, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing not more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit, with a maximum daily dose not exceeding 80 milligrams, and with a pack size not exceeding 100 millilitres, when contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export;
    • except oral solid preparations, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per dosage unit; (S3)
    • except liquid oral preparations and mixtures, in combination with one or more therapeutically active substances, containing more than 10 milligrams of codeine (calculated as base) per 5 millilitre dosage unit; (S3)
    • except single component codeine preparations. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 1758 to 1778

  • S2: Paracetamol

    • when contained in rectal suppositories, or
    • when contained in modified release formulations. (S0, S1, S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2496 to 2500

  • S1: Paracetamol

    • immediate release tablets or capsules each containing 500 milligrams or less of paracetamol, or in individually wrapped powders or in sachets containing 1 000 milligrams or less of paracetamol, subject to - (i) a maximum of 12,5 grams of paracetamol per primary pack, and (ii) in the case of tablets or capsules, presented in blister strip packaging or in containers with child-resistant closures; and (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
    • in liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres or in paediatric drops containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 1,2 millilitres, subject to - (i) a maximum of 100 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the liquid or syrup dosage form containing 120 milligrams or less of paracetamol per 5 millilitres; (ii) a maximum of 20 millilitres per primary pack in the case of the paediatric drops; (iii) labelled with the following boxed warning, placed prominently on at least the main panel of the immediate container label and outer label (carton): “CONTAINS PARACETAMOL - READ THE PACKAGE INSERT”; (S0)
    • when contained in rectal suppositories. (S2)
    • when contained in modified release formulations. (S2)
    • when intended for injection. (S3)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 958 to 997

Pharmacological class: Other analgesics. (class 2.9)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles