Skip to content
zameds

Benzocaine, chlorbutol, phenazone

Sold as Aurone forte, Auratal, Oti-ezze, Nitro ear, Aurodor forte

Combination product

This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
4
Registrations
5

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Pharmacare limited û woodmead1 of 2 cancelledAurone forte, Aurodor forteNot statedH1390, H1561Not determinedNone
Noristan LtdCancelledAuratalNot statedH1424Not determinedNone
Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) LtdCancelledOti-ezzeNot statedH1453Not determinedNone
Beige Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdNitro eardropsH1463Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Aurone forte

EACH 15 ML CONTAINS BENZOCAINE A 150 MG CHLORBUTOL A 150 MG PHENAZONE A 750 MG

Not listedH1390Old MedicineNot determinedNone
Auratal

EACH GRAM CONTAINS BENZOCAINE A 10 mg CHLORBUTOL A 10 mg PHENAZONE A 50 mg

Not listedH1424CancelledNot determinedNone
Oti-ezze

EACH 10,0 ml LIQUID CONTAINS BENZOCAINE A 0,1 g CHLORBUTOL A 0,1 g PHENAZONE A 0,5 g

Not listedH1453CancelledNot determinedNone
Nitro ear drops

EACH 10 ml CONTAINS BENZOCAINE A 0,1 g CHLORBUTOL A 0,1 g PHENAZONE A 0,5 g

DropsH1463Old MedicineNot determinedNone
Aurodor forte

EACH 5 ml EAR DROPS CONTAIN BENZOCAINE A 62,5 mg CHLORBUTOL A 50,0 mg PHENAZONE A 250,0 mg

Not listedH1561CancelledNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles