Zopiclone
Sold as Sandoz zopiclone, Alchera, Adco zopimed, Propan zopiclone, Z-dorm, Zopivane, Zopigen, Z-dorm hs, Zopisleep, Bio zopiclone, Sedastell, Austovane, Zopiclone innovata, Zopiclone unicorn, Zopiclone austell
[6-(5-Chloro-2-pyridinyl)-5-oxo-7H-pyrrolo[3,4-b]pyrazin-7-yl] 4-methylpiperazine-1-carboxylate
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5735.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 11
- Registrations
- 17
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sandoz SA (Pty) Ltd | Sandoz zopiclone | 7,5 mg | 320487 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead | Alchera | Not stated | 330029 | S5 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited1 of 2 cancelled | Adco zopimed, Propan zopiclone | Not stated | 330450, 330451 | S5 | None |
| Kiara Health (Pty) Ltd | Z-dorm | Not stated | 340421 | S5 | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd. | Zopivane | 7,5 mg | 350021 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Zopigen | Not stated | 360426 | S5 | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Z-dorm hs | Not stated | 360447 | S5 | None |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Zopisleep | 7.5 mg | 370375 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Bio zopiclone | 7,5 mg | 420537 | S5 | PIPIL |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Sedastell, Austovane, Zopiclone unicorn, Zopiclone austell | 3,75 mg, 7,5 mg | 430064, 430065, 430066, 430067, A390021, A390022 | S5 | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Zopiclone innovata | 7,5 | 570124 | S5 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandoz zopiclone 7,5 EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 mgFilm-coated tablets | 32048732/2.2/0487Approved 22 June 2022 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Alchera EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | Not listed | 33002933/2.2/0029 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Adco zopimed EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | Not listed | 33045033/2.2/0450 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Propan zopiclone EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | Not listed | 33045133/2.2/0451 | Cancelled | S5 | None |
| Z-dorm EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | Not listed | 34042134/2.2/0421 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Zopivane EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 mgFilm-coated tablets | 35002135/2.2/0021Approved 10 January 2023 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Zopigen EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | Not listed | 36042636/2.2/0426 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Z-dorm hs EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 3,75 Mg | Not listed | 36044736/2.2/0447 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Zopisleep EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7.5 mgFilm-coated tablet | 37037537/2.2/0375Approved 1 December 2019 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Bio zopiclone 7,5 EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 mgFilm-coated tablets) | 42053742/2.2/0537Approved 6 December 2022 | Registered | S5 | PIPIL |
| Sedastell 3,75 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 3,75 mg | 3,75 mg | 43006443/2.2/0064 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Sedastell 7,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 mg | 43006543/2.2/0065 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Austovane 3,75 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 3,75 mg | 3,75 mg | 43006643/2.2/0066 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Austovane 7,5 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 mg | 43006743/2.2/0067 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Zopiclone 7,5 innovata EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 | 57012457/2.2/0124 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Zopiclone 7,5 MG unicorn EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 MG | A390021A39/2.2/0021 | Registered | S5 | None |
| Zopiclone 7,5 MG austell EACH TABLET CONTAINS ZOPICLONE 7,5 mg | 7,5 mg | A390022A39/2.2/0022 | Registered | S5 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S5 sits on the scale
Prescription-only, with tighter controls on repeats.
Schedule 5 medicines need a prescription, and repeat dispensing is capped at six months in total; the prescriber must state upfront how many times, and at what intervals, it may be repeated. Extra limits apply to some uses: if it is being used for its anxiolytic, antidepressant, tranquillising or analgesic properties, it cannot be prescribed for longer than six months without a further consultation. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S5, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Zopiclone
S5: Zopiclone
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 9779
Pharmacological class: Sedatives, hypnotics. (class 2.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Sandoz zopiclone 7,5, Sandoz South Africa (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S5 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.