Tobramycin
Sold as Pharma-q tobramycin, Tobrabact, Tobrahale respules, Cipla-tobramycin respules, Tobi, Tobrex eye, Tobramycin fresenius
(2S,3R,4S,5S,6R)-4-Amino-2-[(1S,2S,3R,4S,6R)-4,6-diamino-3-[(2R,3R,5S,6R)-3-amino-6-(aminomethyl)-5-hydroxyoxan-2-yl]oxy-2-hydroxycyclohexyl]oxy-6-(hydroxymethyl)oxane-3,5-diol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 36294.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 6
- Registrations
- 10
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd | Pharma-q tobramycin | 20 mg/2 ml, 80 mg/2 ml | 310155, 310156 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Tobrabact | Not stated | 370082 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Tobrahale respules, Cipla-tobramycin respules | Not stated | 440048, 440049 | S4 | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Viatris south africa (pty)ltd | Tobi | 300 mg/5 ml | A400522 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Novartis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Tobrex eye | drops, ointment | P0058, P0205 | S4 | None |
| Fresenius Kabi Manufacturing SA (Pty) Ltd | Tobramycin fresenius | 20 mg/2 ml, 80 mg/2 ml | Z0286, Z0287 | S4 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharma-q tobramycin injection 20 mg/2 ML EACH 2 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 20 mg TOBRAMYCIN | 20 mg/2 mlInjection | 31015531/20.1.1/0155 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q tobramycin injection 80 mg/2 ML EACH 2 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 80 mg TOBRAMYCIN | 80 mg/2 mlInjection | 31015631/20.1.1/0156 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tobrabact EACH 1,0 ml DROPS CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg | Not listed | 37008237/15.1/0082 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Tobrahale respules EACH 5,0 ml RESPULE CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44004844/20.1.1/0048 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Cipla-tobramycin respules EACH 5,0 ml RESPULE CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN 300,0 mg | Not listed | 44004944/20.1.1/0049 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Tobi 300 mg/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN 300,0 ml | 300 mg/5 mlClear slightly yellow solution | A400522A40/20.1.1/0522Approved 14 November 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tobrex eye drops EACH 1,0 ml OPHTHALMIC SOLUTION CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg | Drops | P0058P/15.1/58 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tobrex eye ointment EACH 1,0 g OPHTHALMIC OINTMENT CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN 3,0 mg | Ointment | P0205P/15.1/205 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tobramycin fresenius 20 mg/2 ML EACH 2 ml VIAL CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 20 mg TOBRAMYCIN | 20 mg/2 ml | Z0286Z/20.1.1/286 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tobramycin 80 mg/2 ML fresenius EACH 2 ml VIAL CONTAINS TOBRAMYCIN SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 80 mg TOBRAMYCIN | 80 mg/2 mlSolution for injection or infusion | Z0287Z/20.1.1/287Approved 9 September 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Tobramycin sulphate equivalent to tobramycin
S4: Tobramycin
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8234
Pharmacological class: Broad and medium spectrum antibiotics. (class 20.1.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.