Tigecycline
Sold as Tigecycline pfizer, Tacyl, Cytagil iv, Gaticil iv iv, Rubicil, Tigebax, Tigecycline adco, Tizeg, Tigejex, Tygiv, Tyclin, Tygacil
(4S,4AS,5aR,12aR)-9-[[2-(tert-butylamino)acetyl]amino]-4,7-bis(dimethylamino)-1,10,11,12a-tetrahydroxy-3,12-dioxo-4a,5,5a,6-tetrahydro-4H-tetracene-2-carboxamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 54686904.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 9
- Registrations
- 12
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Pfizer | Tigecycline pfizer, Tygacil | 50 mg, 50mg / 5ml | 530075, A400230 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Tacyl | 50,0 mg | 530630 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Cytagil iv, Gaticil iv iv | 50 mg | 530715, 530716.715 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ruby Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Rubicil | Not stated | 530730 | S4 | None |
| Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Tigebax | Not stated | 540165 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limited | Tigecycline adco | 50 mg | 550750 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Tizeg | 50 mg | 560531 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Lamar International (Pty) Ltd | Tigejex | 50 mg | 580015 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Abex Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Tygiv, Tyclin | 50 mg | 590423, 590424.423 | S4 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tigecycline 50 MG pfizer TIGECYCLINE | 50 mgSterile powder for intravenous infusion | 53007553/20.1.1/0075Approved 21 February 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tacyl EACH VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50,0 mgSterile powder for solution for intravenous infusion | 53063053/20.1.1/0630Approved 13 September 2022 | Cancelled | S4 | PIPIL |
| Cytagil iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgPowder for solution for infusion. | 53071553/20.1.1/0715Approved 25 April 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Gaticil iv iv EACH VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | Not listed | 530716.71553/20.1.1/0716.715 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rubicil EACH VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | Not listed | 53073053/20.1.1/0730 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tigebax EACH VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | Not listed | 54016554/20.1.1/0165 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Tigecycline adco EACH VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgSterile powder for solution for intravenous infusion | 55075055/20.1.1/0750Approved 9 May 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tizeg EACH 10 ml CONTAINS 50,0 mg OF TIGECYCLINE | 50 mgPowder for solution for infusion | 56053156/20.1.1/0531Approved 31 January 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tigejex EACH VIAL CONTAINS: TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgLyophilised powder for injection | 58001558/20.1.1/0015Approved 9 June 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tygiv EACH VIAL CONTAINS: TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgSterile powder for solution for infusion | 59042359/20.1.1/0423Approved 21 April 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tyclin EACH VIAL CONTAINS: TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50 mgSterile powder for solution for infusion | 590424.42359/20.1.1/0424.423Approved 21 April 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Tygacil EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS TIGECYCLINE 50,0 mg | 50mg / 5mlInfusion | A400230A40/20.1.1/0230Approved 20 October 2019 | Registered | S4 | PI |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Tigecycline
S4: Tigecycline
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8211
Pharmacological class: Broad and medium spectrum antibiotics. (class 20.1.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Tigecycline 50 MG pfizer, Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.