Theophylline
Sold as Theophylline sr 200-lennon, Theophylline sr lennon, Theomax, Theophylline GDC, Theolair liquid, Adco- alcophyllin, Vernthol, Resphyllin, Biophyllin, Nuelin, Nuelin SA, Nuelin liquid, Theophylline anhydrous kiara, Pulmophyllin sr
1,3-Dimethyl-7H-purine-2,6-dione
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 2153.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 8
- Registrations
- 18
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Theophylline sr 200-lennon, Theophylline sr lennon | 300 - | 290330, 290331 | Not determined | None |
| Warner-lambert SA (Pty) LtdCancelled | Theomax | 200, 300 | 290649, 290650 | Not determined | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd., Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Theophylline GDC, Theolair liquid, Nuelin SA, Nuelin liquid | 25 mg/5 ml, 200, 250 mg, 300 | 330416, 330417, 511071, P0054, S0126 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Adcock ingram limited3 of 4 cancelled | Adco- alcophyllin, Biophyllin, Pulmophyllin sr | 200, 300 | G0721, G1252, Y0056, Y0057 | Not determined | None |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelled | Vernthol | Not stated | G0902 | Not determined | None |
| Resmed healthcare | Resphyllin | Not stated | G0924 | Not determined | None |
| Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Nuelin | 125 mg | H0296 | Not determined | None |
| Kiara Health (Pty) Ltd | Theophylline anhydrous kiara | 200, 300 | X0053, X0054 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Theophylline sr 200-lennon EACH TABLET CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 200 mg | Not listed | 29033029/10.2.2/0330 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Theophylline sr 300 - lennon EACH TABLET CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 300,0 mg | 300 - | 29033129/10.2.2/0331 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Theomax 200 CAPSULE ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 200 MG | 200 | 29064929/10.2/0649 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Theomax 300 CAPSULE ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 300 MG | 300 | 29065029/10.2/0650 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Theophylline 200 GDC EACH TABLET CONTAINS THEOPHYLLINE 200,0 mg | 200 | 33041633/10.2/0416 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Theophylline 300 GDC EACH TABLET CONTAINS THEOPHYLLINE 300,0 mg | 300 | 33041733/10.2/0417 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Theolair liquid Each 5,0 ml Liquid contains: Theophylline 25,0 mg | 25 mg/5 mlLiquid | 51107151/10.2/1071Approved 13 May 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Adco- alcophyllin EACH 5,0 ml LIQUID CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE A 26,667 mg | Not listed | G0721 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Vernthol 15 ML ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE A 80 MG | Not listed | G0902 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Resphyllin 5 ML THEOPHYLLINE A 26,625 MG | Not listed | G0924 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Biophyllin EACH 15 ml LIQUID CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE A 80 mg | Not listed | G1252 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Nuelin 125 MG EACH TABLET CONTAINS THEOPHYLLINE 125 mg | 125 mg | H0296H/10.2/296 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Nuelin SA EACH TABLET CONTAINS : THEOPHYLLINE 250 mg | 250 mgTablet. | P0054P/10.2/54Approved 10 April 2022 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Nuelin liquid EACH 5,0 ml LIQUID CONTAINS:THEOPHYLLINE 25,0 mg | 25 mg/5 mlLiquid | S0126S/10.2/126Approved 13 May 2021 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Theophylline anhydrous 200 kiara EACH TABLET CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 200 mg | 200 | X0053X/10.2/53 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Theophylline anhydrous 300 kiara EACH TABLET CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 300 mg | 300 | X0054X/10.2/54 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Pulmophyllin sr 200 EACH TABLET CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 200 mg | 200 | Y0056Y/10.2.2/56 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pulmophyllin sr 300 EACH TABLET CONTAINS ANHYDROUS THEOPHYLLINE 300 mg | 300 | Y0057Y/10.2.2/57 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Theophylline
- unless listed elsewhere in the Schedules, and preparations intended for injection. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 8173 to 8174
S2: Theophylline
- unless listed in another Schedule, and except in preparations for injection.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 2723
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.