Teriflunomide
Sold as Aubagio, Auberif, Teriflunomide teva, Aubamide, Teritemso, Teriflunomide adco, Teriflunomide ascend, Reltif, Denomide, Flunovo, Bagiocord, * tirifoma, Teriflunomide hetero, Teriflunomide PD, Scleromide
(Z)-2-Cyano-3-hydroxy-N-[4-(trifluoromethyl)phenyl]but-2-enamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 54684141.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 11
- Registrations
- 15
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Aubagio | 14 mg | 470859 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sanofi Industries South Africa (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Auberif | 14 mg | 470860 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Teriflunomide teva | 14 mg | 540737 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd | Aubamide | 14 mg | 550228 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Adcock ingram limited | Teritemso, Teriflunomide adco | 14 mg | 550244, 550245.244 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ascend Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Teriflunomide ascend | 14 mg | 550633 | S4 | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Reltif, Denomide, Flunovo | Not stated | 550838, 550839.838, 550840.838 | S4 | None |
| Accord Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Bagiocord | Not stated | 560307 | S4 | None |
| Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) Ltd | * tirifoma, Teriflunomide hetero | Not stated | 560538, 560539 | S4 | None |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | Teriflunomide PD | Not stated | 561234 | S4 | None |
| Gen-eye (Pty) Ltd | Scleromide | Not stated | 570534 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aubagio EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | 14 mgFilm-coated tablets | 47085947/32.16/0859Approved 20 April 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Auberif EACH FILM-COATED TABLET CONTAINS: TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | 14 mgFilm-coated tablets | 47086047/32.16/0860Approved 26 October 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teriflunomide 14 teva | 14 mgFilm-coated tablets | 54073754/32.16/0737Approved 7 February 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Aubamide 14 MG | 14 mgTablet | 55022855/32.16/0228Approved 28 June 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teritemso EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | 14 mgTablet | 55024455/32.16/0244Approved 13 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teriflunomide adco EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | 14 mgTablet | 550245.24455/32.16/0245.244Approved 13 June 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Teriflunomide 14 MG ascend EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 10,0 mg | 14 mg | 55063355/32.16/0633 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Reltif EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 55083855/32.16/0838 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Denomide EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 550839.83855/32.16/0839.838 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Flunovo EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 550840.83855/32.16/0840.838 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bagiocord EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 56030756/32.16/0307 | Registered | S4 | None |
| * tirifoma EACH TABLET CONTAINS: TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 56053856/32.16/0538 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Teriflunomide hetero EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 56053956/32.16/0539.538 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Teriflunomide PD EACH TABLET CONTAINS TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 56123456/32.16/1243 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Scleromide EACH TABLET CONTAINS: TERIFLUNOMIDE 14,0 mg | Not listed | 57053457/32.16/0534 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Teriflunomide
S4: Teriflunomide
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8138
Pharmacological class: Others. (class 32.16)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Aubagio, Sanofi-aventis South Africa (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.