Skip to content
zameds

Tenofovir disoproxil

Sold as Medpro tenofovir, Cipla tenofovir, Aspen tenofovir, Sonke tenofovir, Zefin, Cylor, Vireno, Adco-tenofovir, Taidof, Tenofovir propan, Ricovir, Hetero tenofovir, Tenofovir winthrop, SPEC tenofovir, Riovex, Tenolaurus, Viread

S4
Loading the molecular structure
C9H14N5O4P287.21 g/mol

[(2R)-1-(6-Aminopurin-9-yl)propan-2-yl]oxymethylphosphonic acid

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 464205.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
12
Registrations
17
Schedule source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelledMedpro tenofovir, Cipla tenofovir300420560, 420561S4None
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Aspen pharmacare2 of 3 cancelledAspen tenofovir, Tenolaurus, Viread300mg430181, 520388, A400681S4PIPIL
Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelledSonke tenofovir300430695S4None
Novagen Pharma (Pty) LtdCancelledZefin300 mg440307S4None
Aurobindo Pharma (Pty) LtdCylor300 mg440308S4None
Aurogen South Africa (Pty) LtdVireno300 mg440309S4None
Adcock ingram limited1 of 3 cancelledAdco-tenofovir, Taidof, Tenofovir propan300 mg440332, 440333, 440334S4None
Viatris Healthcare (Pty) LtdRicovirNot stated450825S4None
Hetero Drugs South Africa (Pty) LtdHetero tenofovir300 mg460019S4None
Winthrop Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdTenofovir winthropNot stated460040Not determinedNone
Specpharm (Pty) LtdCancelledSPEC tenofovir300460510S4None
Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) LtdRiovex300460852S4None

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Medpro tenofovir 300

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

30042056042/20.2.8/0560CancelledS4None
Cipla tenofovir 300

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

30042056142/20.2.8/0561CancelledS4None
Aspen tenofovir

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

Not listed43018143/20.2.8/0181RegisteredS4None
Sonke tenofovir 300

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

30043069543/20.2.8/0695CancelledS4None
Zefin 300 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

300 mgTablets44030744/20.2.8/0307CancelledS4None
Cylor 300 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

300 mgTablets44030844/20.2.8/0308RegisteredS4None
Vireno 300 MG tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

300 mgTablets44030944/20.2.8/0309RegisteredS4None
Adco-tenofovir 300 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS :TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE EQUIVALENT TO TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL 300,0 mg

300 mg44033244/20.2.8/332RegisteredNot determinedNone
Taidof 300 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

300 mg44033344/20.2.8/0333RegisteredS4None
Tenofovir propan

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

Not listed44033444/20.2.8/0334CancelledS4None
Ricovir

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

Not listed45082545/20.2.8/0825RegisteredS4None
Hetero tenofovir 300 MG

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

300 mg46001946/20.2.8/0019RegisteredS4None
Tenofovir winthrop

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE EQUIVALENT TO TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL 300,0 mg

Not listed46004046/20.2.8/0040RegisteredNot determinedNone
SPEC tenofovir 300

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

30046051046/20.2.8/0510CancelledS4None
Riovex 300

Each Tablet contains: Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 300 mg equivalent to Tenofovir Disoproxil 245,0 mg

30046085246/20.2.8/0852RegisteredS4None
Tenolaurus

Each Tablet contains: Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 300 mg

Not listed52038852/20.2.8/0388CancelledS4None
Viread

EACH TABLET CONTAINS TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE 300,0 mg

300mgTabletA400681A40/20.2.8/0681Approved 24 November 2022CancelledS4PIPIL

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence medium.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Tenofovir disoproxil fumarate

  • S4: Tenofovir

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8130

Pharmacological class: Antiviral agents. (class 20.2.8)

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Viread, Pharmacare limited û woodmead is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles