Sulfamethoxazole, trimethoprim
Sold as Acuco, Thoxaprim, Xeroprim, Cocydal, Pharma-q co-trimoxazole, Dynazole, Adco bencole, Bencole-t, Doctrim, Xerazole, Novatrim, Ilvitrim, Cotrivan s, Adco-co-trimoxazole, Meditrim t, Meditrim s, Co-trimoxazole shanur, Suthoxim, Septran, Septran paediatric, Septran paediatric suspensin, Bactrim, Mezenol, Lagatrim paediatric, Purbac liquid, Ultrasept, Durobac, Purbac adult, Purbac paediatric, Gentrim paediatric, Troxazole, Spectrim, Co-trim, Septran ds tab, Purbac double strength, Purbac, Co-trimoxazole, Durobac double strength, Septran forte, Co-trimoxazole biotech, Lagatrim, Lagatrim forte, Cozole, Cotrivan, Trimzol, Spectrim ds, Trimoks, Comed, Co-trimoxazole ds PHARMC, Co-trimoxazole PHARMC, Co-trimoxazole paed PHARMC, Adco-co-trimoxazole ds, Nucotrim, Sabax co-trimoxazole, Trixazole
Combination product
This product contains more than one active ingredient, so it has no single molecular structure.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 26
- Registrations
- 65
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resmed healthcare | Acuco | Not stated | 270007 | S4 | None |
| Pharmagen (Pty) LtdCancelled | Thoxaprim | Not stated | 270058 | S4 | None |
| Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd | Xeroprim | 80 mg,400 mg | 270077 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Epiglo Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Cocydal | Not stated | 270227 | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) Ltd1 of 3 cancelled | Pharma-q co-trimoxazole, Xerazole | tablets, 5 ml | 270302, 280584, 290665 | S4 | None |
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Dynazole, Trixazole | suspension | 270335, Z0209 | S4 | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Adco bencole, Bencole-t, Cotrivan s, Adco-co-trimoxazole, Adco-co-trimoxazole ds | suspension | 270391, 280166, 280452, 290402, L0226, Y0155 | S4 | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Doctrim, Nucotrim | suspension, 80 mg/400 mg | 280378, Z0026 | S4 | PIPIL |
| FDC SA (Pty) Ltd | Xerazole | suspension | 280389 | S4 | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Novatrim | suspension | 280416, W0376 | S4 | None |
| Shanur Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Ilvitrim, Co-trimoxazole shanur, Lagatrim | 40 mg/200 mg per 5 mL | 280417, 490171, R0241 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Xeragen Laboratories (Pty) LtdCancelled | Meditrim t, Meditrim s | Not stated | 330039, 330040 | S4 | None |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Suthoxim | 400/80, 800/160 | 600728, 600729 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmead2 of 13 cancelled | Septran, Septran paediatric, Septran paediatric suspensin, Mezenol, Purbac liquid, Purbac adult, Purbac paediatric, Septran ds tab, Purbac double strength, Purbac, Co-trimoxazole, Septran forte | tablet, suspension, 5 ml | B0109, B0110, B0179, G0097, G0099, J0339, J0340, K0241, L0057, L0295, L0336, L0370, P0175 | S4 | None |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Bactrim | 80 mg/400 mg per 5 mL | F0191 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd4 of 7 cancelled | Lagatrim paediatric, Gentrim paediatric, Spectrim, Co-trim, Lagatrim forte, Trimzol, Spectrim ds | Not stated | G0098, K0044, K0335, K0336, R0242, W0067, W0068 | S4 | None |
| Aquila Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Ultrasept, Dynazole | tablets, suspension | H0003, H0057, Y0239 | S4 | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Durobac, Durobac double strength | Not stated | J0279, P0055 | S4 | None |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co Ltd1 of 2 cancelled | Troxazole, Cotrivan | tablet | K0158, V0195 | S4 | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Co-trimoxazole biotech | 480, 960 | P0260, W0088 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelled | Cozole | tablets | R0279 | S4 | None |
| Alps Health Care (Pty) LtdCancelled | Trimoks | Not stated | X0160 | S4 | None |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Ilvitrim | Not stated | X0175 | S4 | None |
| Medpro Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Comed | Not stated | X0300 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacorp (Pty) Ltd | Co-trimoxazole ds PHARMC, Co-trimoxazole PHARMC, Co-trimoxazole paed PHARMC | 160 mg/800 mg, 80 mg/400 mg, 40 mg/200 mg | Y0144, Y0145, Y0146 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) LtdCancelled | Sabax co-trimoxazole | Not stated | Z0097 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acuco EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | 27000727/20.2/0007 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Thoxaprim* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | 27005827/20.2/0058 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Xeroprim EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | 80 mg,400 mgTablets. | 27007727/20.2/0077Approved 22 April 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Cocydal* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | 27022727/20.2/0227 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q co-trimoxazole tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Tablets | 27030227/20.2/0302 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Dynazole suspension EACH 5 ml CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Suspension | 27033527/20.2/0335 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco bencole EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Not listed | 27039127/20.2.1/0391 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Bencole-t EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | 28016628/20.2.1/0166 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Doctrim suspension EACH 5 ml CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Suspension | 28037828/20.2/0378 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Xerazole suspension EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40,0 mg | Suspension | 28038928/20.2/0389 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Novatrim EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | 28041628/20.2/0416 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Ilvitrim suspension EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | 40 mg/200 mg per 5 mLA white opaque viscous suspension. | 28041728/20.2/0417Approved 13 February 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Cotrivan s EACH 5 ml SUPSENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Not listed | 28045228/20.2.1/0452 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Xerazole tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Tablets | 28058428/20.2/0584 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Adco-co-trimoxazole suspension EACH 5 ml CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Suspension | 29040229/20.2/0402 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Pharma-q co-trimoxazole injection 5 ML EACH 5 ml INJECTION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | 5 mlInjection | 29066529/20.2/0665 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Meditrim t EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80,0 mg | Not listed | 33003933/20.2/0039 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Meditrim s EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40,0 mg | Not listed | 33004033/20.2/0040 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Co-trimoxazole shanur EACH TABLET CONTAINS :SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800,0 mg, TRIMETHOPRIM 160,0 mg | Not listed | 49017149/20.2/0171 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Suthoxim 400/80 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400,0 mg, TRIMETHOPRIM 80,0 mg | 400/80 | 60072860/20.2.1/0728 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Suthoxim 800/160 EACH TABLET CONTAINS: SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160,0 mg | 800/160 | 60072960/20.2.1/0729 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Septran EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | B0109B/20.2/109 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Septran paediatric tablet TABLET SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 100 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 20 MG | Tablet | B0110B/20.2/110 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Septran paediatric suspensin EACH 5 ml CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Not listed | B0179B/20.2/179 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Bactrim EACH 5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | 80 mg/400 mg per 5 mLSolution for infusion. | F0191F/20.2/191Approved 20 February 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Mezenol EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 80 MG | Not listed | G0097G/20.1/97 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Lagatrim paediatric EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 100 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 20 mg | Not listed | G0098G/20.2/98 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Purbac liquid EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Not listed | G0099G/20.2/99 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Ultrasept tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Tablets | H0003H/20.2.1/3 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Ultrasept suspension EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40,0 mg | Suspension | H0057H/20.2.1/57 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Durobac EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | J0279J/20.2/279 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Purbac adult EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 80 MG | Not listed | J0339J/20.2/339 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Purbac paediatric EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 100 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 20 mg | Not listed | J0340J/20.2/340 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Gentrim paediatric EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 100 mgTRIMETHOPRIM 20 mg | Not listed | K0044K/20.2.1/44 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Troxazole tablet* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Tablet | K0158K/20.2/158 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Purbac paediatric suspension EACH 5 ML SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 40 MG | Suspension | K0241K/20.2/241 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Spectrim EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80,0 mg | Not listed | K0335K/20.2.1/335 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Co-trim EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40,0 mg | Not listed | K0336K/20.2.1/336 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Septran ds tab EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160 mg | Not listed | L0057L/20.2/0057 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco-co-trimoxazole EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | L0226L/20.2/226 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Purbac double strength EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 160 MG | Not listed | L0295L/20.2/295 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Purbac injection 5 ML EACH 5 ml AMPOULE CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | 5 mlInjection | L0336L/20.2/336 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Co-trimoxazole suspension EACH 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Suspension | L0370L/20.2/370 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Durobac double strength EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160 mg | Not listed | P0055P/20.2/55 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Septran suspension forte EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80,0 mg | Suspension | P0175P/20.2/175 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Co-trimoxazole 480 biotech EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 80 MG | 480 | P0260P/20.2.1/260 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lagatrim EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | R0241R/20.2.1/241 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Lagatrim forte EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160 mg | Not listed | R0242R/20.2.1/242 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Cozole tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Tablets | R0279R/20.2/279 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Cotrivan* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | V0195V/20.2.1/195 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Trimzol EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400,0 mgTRIMETHOPRIM 80,0 mg | Not listed | W0067W/20.2.1/67 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Spectrim ds EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160 mg | Not listed | W0068W/20.2.1/68 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Co-trimoxazole 960 biotech EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 MG TRIMETHOPRIM 160 MG | 960 | W0088W/20.2.1/88 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Novatrim suspension EACHJ 5 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Suspension | W0376W/20.2/376 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Trimoks EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400,0 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80,0 mg | Not listed | X0160X/20.2/160 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Ilvitrim EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mgTRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | X0175X/20.1/175 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Comed* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | X0300X/20.2/300 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Co-trimoxazole ds PHARMC EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160 mg | Not listed | Y0144Y/20.2.1/144 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Co-trimoxazole PHARMC EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | 160 mg/800 mg, 80 mg/400 mg, 40 mg/200 mgTablets, suspension | Y0145Y/20.2.1/145Approved 1 January 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Co-trimoxazole paed PHARMC EACH 5 ml SUSPENION CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 200 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 40 mg | Not listed | Y0146Y/20.2.1/146 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco-co-trimoxazole ds EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 800 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 160 mg | Not listed | Y0155Y/20.2/155 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Dynazole EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | Y0239Y/20.2/239 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Nucotrim EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | 80 mg/400 mgTablet | Z0026Z/20.2/0026Approved 2 July 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Sabax co-trimoxazole EACH 5 ml CONCENTRATE CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mgTRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | Z0097Z/20.2/97 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Trixazole EACH TABLET CONTAINS SULFAMETHOXAZOLE 400 mg TRIMETHOPRIM 80 mg | Not listed | Z0209Z/20.2/209 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence medium.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Sulfamethoxazole, trimethoprim
S4: Sulfamethoxazole
- except when registered in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 8032 to 8033
S4: Trimethoprim
- except when specifically intended and registered in combination with sulphonamides for the treatment of gastro-enteritis and pneumonia in terms of the provisions of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act 36 of 1947).
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 8287 to 8289
Pharmacological class: Other than antibiotics. (class 20.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Xeroprim, Oethmaan Biosims (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.