Skip to content
zameds

Sulfacetamide

Sold as Lennon sulphacetamide eye, Fams sulphacetamide eye, Nitro ss, Albucid, Opti-cet, Spersamide, Covosulf

S4
Loading the molecular structure
C8H10N2O3S214.24 g/mol

N-(4-Aminophenyl)sulfonylacetamide

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5320.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
6
Registrations
8
Schedule source
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limitedLennon sulphacetamide eye3,5 gH1169S2PI
Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) LtdFams sulphacetamide eyeointmentH1208S4None
Specpharm Holdings (Pty) LtdNitro ssNot statedH1228S4None
Schering-plough (Pty) LtdAlbucid10 %, 30 %H1242, H1243S4None
The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelledOpti-cetNot statedH1308S4None
Adcock ingram limitedSpersamide, Covosulf10 %H1309, L0028S4None

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Lennon sulphacetamide eye ointment

EACH 1 G CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 100 MG

3,5 gEye ointmentH1169Approved 31 January 2025Old MedicineS2PI
Fams sulphacetamide eye ointment

EACH GRAM CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 100 mg

OintmentH1208Old MedicineS4None
Nitro ss

EACH 10 ml CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 1,0 g

Not listedH1228Old MedicineS4None
Albucid 30 %

EACH 1 ml CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 300 mg

30 %H1242Old MedicineS4None
Albucid 10 %

EACH 1 ml CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 100 mg

10 %H1243Old MedicineS4None
Opti-cet

EACH GRAM CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 100 mg

Not listedH1308CancelledS4None
Spersamide 10 %

EACH 1 ml CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM A 100 mg

10 %H1309Old MedicineS4None
Covosulf 10

EACH 15 ml EYE DROPS CONTAINS SULFACETAMIDE SODIUM 1,5 g

10L0028L/15.1/28RegisteredS4None

Regulatory status

Where S4 sits on the scale

Prescription-only medicine.

Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.

Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.

Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.

Consolidated Schedules listings for Sulfacetamide sodium

  • S4: Sulfacetamide

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 8003

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

Schedule verified from official documents

Schedule Verification

Lennon sulphacetamide eye ointment, Pharmacare limited û woodmead is scheduled S2 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.

These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles