Sodium fluoride
Sold as Duraphat varnish dental, Zymafluor, Listerfluor fluoride, Mentadent p fluoride mouth wash
No structure available
This product's active ingredient could not be matched to a single known compound.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 4
- Registrations
- 4
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mc Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Duraphat varnish dental | 50 mg/ml | 510188 | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Zymafluor | Not stated | E0728 | Not determined | None |
| Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East LondonCancelled | Listerfluor fluoride | chewable tablets | W0091 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | Mentadent p fluoride mouth wash | Not stated | Z0156 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duraphat varnish 50mg/ml dental suspension Each 1 ml of suspension contains 50,0 MG SODIUM FLUORIDE EQUIVALENT TO FLUORIDE 22,6 m | 50 mg/mlDental suspension | 51018851/32.10/0188Approved 18 March 2026 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Zymafluor EACH TABLET CONTAINS SODIUM FLUORIDE 0,25 mg | Not listed | E0728E/24/728 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Listerfluor chewable fluoride tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS SODIUM FLUORIDE 0,55 mg | Chewable tablets | W0091W/24/91 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Mentadent p fluoride mouth wash EACH 10 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SODIUM FLUORIDE 20 mg | Not listed | Z0156Z/24/156 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.
Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product
S4: Sodium fluoride
- except oral medicinal preparations and mixtures thereof containing 40 milligrams or more per daily dose. (S1)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 7950 to 7951
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.