Salicylic acid
Sold as Green cross corn plasters, Scholl wart remover, Scholl original corn removers, Scholl corn removers (fabric), Scholl corn removers (washproof), Scholl medicated callous removal pads, Emzaclear acne, Corn paint, Watkins corn, Yalta corn salve, Sb unola corn remover, Afmed corn cure, Carnation corn caps
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 9
- Registrations
- 14
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jav webbCancelled | Green cross corn plasters | Not stated | 280111 | Not determined | None |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Scholl wart remover, Scholl original corn removers, Scholl corn removers (fabric), Scholl corn removers (washproof), Scholl medicated callous removal pads | Not stated | 290680, 310250, 310252, 310253, 310254 | Not determined | None |
| Meyerzall Laboratories (Pty) LtdCancelled | Emzaclear acne | lotion | 330123 | Not determined | None |
| African Medicines (Pty) Ltd Trading As Pakmed Self Medication | Corn paint, Afmed corn cure | Not stated | G1425, G1947 | Not determined | None |
| The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelled | Watkins corn | Not stated | G1819 | Not determined | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Yalta corn salve | Not stated | G1844 | Not determined | None |
| Universal Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Sb unola corn remover | Not stated | G1929 | Not determined | None |
| Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Carnation corn caps | 36 mg | U0024 | S0 | PIPIL |
| Trinity Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Carnation corn caps | 36 mg | X0255 | S0 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Green cross corn plasters EACH PLASTER CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 19,25 MG | Not listed | 28011128/13.8/0111 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Scholl wart remover EACH 1 g MEDICATED DISC CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 400 mg | Not listed | 29068029/13.8/0680 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Scholl original corn removers EACH 1 g MEDICATED DISK CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 400,0 mg | Not listed | 31025031/13.8/0250 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Scholl corn removers (fabric) EACH 1 g MEDICATED DISC CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 400,0 mg | Not listed | 31025231/13.8/0252 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Scholl corn removers (washproof) EACH 1 g MEDICATED DISC CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 400,0 mg | Not listed | 31025331/13.8/0253 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Scholl medicated callous removal pads EACH 1 g MEDICATED DISC CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 400,0 mg | Not listed | 31025431/13.8/0254 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Emzaclear acne lotion EACH 100,0 g LOTION CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 0,50 g | Lotion | 33012333/13.12/0123 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Corn paint 10 ML SALICYLIC ACID A 1,0 G | Not listed | G1425 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Watkins corn 100 g SALICYLIC ACID A 25 G | Not listed | G1819 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Yalta corn salve Each 25 G contains: SALICYLIC ACID A 8,764 G | Not listed | G1844 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Sb unola corn remover 10 ML SALICYLIC ACID A 1,2 G | Not listed | G1929 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Afmed corn cure 10 ML SALICYLIC ACID A 1,0 G | Not listed | G1947 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Carnation corn caps EACH PLASTER CONTAIN: SALICYLIC ACID A 40 G | 36 mgPlaster | U0024Approved 22 February 2024 | Old Medicine | S0 | PIPIL |
| Carnation corn caps EACH PLASTER CONTAINS SALICYLIC ACID 36,0 mg | 36 mgPlaster | X0255X/13.8/255Approved 22 February 2024 | Registered | S0 | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S0 sits on the scale
Sold anywhere, no pharmacist needed.
This is the least restricted tier of medicine. You can buy it in an ordinary shop such as a supermarket or petrol station, and no pharmacist needs to be involved in the sale. It may also be advertised to the public, subject to the general advertising rules that apply to all medicines; the label must still carry the schedule mark like every other tier.
Schedule S0, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: Anyone. It may be sold in an ordinary shop, not only in a pharmacy.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Carnation corn caps, Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S0 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.