Salbutamol
Sold as Airomir, Asthavent, Asthavent dp-caps, Venta, Ventolin cfc-free, Venteze easyhaler forte, Asthavent ecohaler, Vari-salbutamol, Adco-salbutamol clickhaler, Ventimax cfc free, Ventimax easi breathe cfc free, Venteze-eco, Butovent, Adco-salbutamol, Merck-salbutamol, Merck-salbutamol k haler, Asthalin, Azmaler, Proventil, Glenbute, Salbutamol glenmark, Venteze cfc free, Asthavent respules, Cipla-salbutamol respules, Ventolin respirator, Ventolin, Ventolin for intravenous, Venteze, Venteze respirator, Breatheze, Ventimax, Ventimax sr, Ventolin nebules, Salbulin autohaler
4-[2-(tert-Butylamino)-1-hydroxyethyl]-2-(hydroxymethyl)phenol
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 2083.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 16
- Registrations
- 42
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inova Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Airomir, Salbulin autohaler | Not stated | 300032, Z0071 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd.4 of 6 cancelled | Asthavent, Asthavent dp-caps, Asthavent ecohaler, Asthavent respules, Cipla-salbutamol respules | 2,0 mg/5 mL, 100 µg | 300119, 300200, 300345, 340354, A390482, A390483 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Venta | Not stated | 310470 | Not determined | None |
| Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) LimitedCertificate held by Glaxosmithkline South Africa (Pty) Ltd4 of 6 cancelled | Ventolin cfc-free, Ventolin respirator, Ventolin, Ventolin for intravenous, Ventolin nebules | inhaler, solution, 0.5 mg/ml, 1 mg/ml, 2,5 mg, 5,0 mg | 320344, D0203, H0118, H0119, Y0416, Y0417 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited4 of 9 cancelled | Venteze easyhaler forte, Venteze-eco, Venteze cfc free, Venteze, Venteze respirator | 2 mg,4 mg, injection, inhaler, syrup, solution | 340076, 370351, A390154, M0014, M0015, M0111, R0292, T0084, U0187 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Lebasi Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Vari-salbutamol | 2 mg/ml | 350142 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Adco-salbutamol clickhaler, Butovent, Adco-salbutamol, Ventimax sr | syrup, 2 mg, 4 mg, 8 | 360287, 370522, 370565, U0053, U0054, Y0034 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd.1 of 2 cancelled | Ventimax cfc free, Ventimax easi breathe cfc free | 100 μg | 360393, 360394 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Merck Generics Rsa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Merck-salbutamol | inhaler | 410228 | Not determined | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Merck-salbutamol k haler | Not stated | 420043 | Not determined | None |
| Forrester Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Asthalin | Not stated | 490134 | Not determined | None |
| Unimed Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Azmaler | 100 μg | 490135 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Ipharma (Pty) Ltd | Proventil | 100 µg | 520726 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Glenmark Pharmaceuticals South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Glenbute, Salbutamol glenmark | 100 ug | 540852, 540853.852 | Not determined | None |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Breatheze | Not stated | W0062 | Not determined | None |
| Norton Healthcare (Pty) LtdCancelled | Ventimax | Not stated | W0226 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airomir EACH INHALATION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100 ug | Not listed | 30003230/10.2.1/0032 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Asthavent EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100 mcg | Not listed | 30011930/10.2.1/0119 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Asthavent syrup EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 2 mg SALBUTAMOL | 2,0 mg/5 mLSyrup | 30020030/10.2.2/0200Approved 8 March 2023 | Registered | Not determined | PIPIL |
| Asthavent dp-caps EACH ROTACAP CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 0,2 mg SALBUTAMOL | Not listed | 30034530/10.2.1/0345 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Venta EACH 1 ML SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE 0,6 MG EQUIVALENT TO 0,5 MG | Not listed | 31047031/10.2.2/0470 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Ventolin inhaler cfc-free EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | Inhaler | 32034432/10.2.1/0344 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Venteze easyhaler forte EACH DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 200,0 ug | Not listed | 34007634/10.2.1/0076 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Asthavent ecohaler EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | 100 µgMetered dose inhaler | 34035434/10.2.1/0354Approved 5 November 2025 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Vari-salbutamol 2 mg/ml syrup EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2,00 mg | 2 mg/mlSyrup | 35014235/10.2/0142 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-salbutamol clickhaler EACH INHALED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 90,0 ug | Not listed | 36028736/10.2.2/0287 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventimax cfc free EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | 100 μgMetered dose inhaler | 36039336/10.2.1/0393Approved 21 December 2021 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Ventimax easi breathe cfc free EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | Not listed | 36039436/10.2.1/0394 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Venteze-eco EACH ACTUATION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | Not listed | 37035137/10.2.1/0351 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Butovent EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2,0 mg | Not listed | 37052237/10.2/0522 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco-salbutamol syrup EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2,0 mg | Syrup | 37056537/10.2/0565 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Merck-salbutamol inhaler EACH ACTUATION DELIVERS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | Inhaler | 41022841/10.2.1/0228 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Merck-salbutamol k haler EACH DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 0,1 mg | Not listed | 42004342/10.2.1/0043 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Asthalin EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 µg | Not listed | 49013449/10.2.1/0134 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Azmaler EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS: SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 μg | 100 μgMetered dose inhaler | 49013549/10.2.1/0135Approved 20 March 2025 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Proventil | 100 µgPressurised metered-dose inhaler. | 52072652/10.2.1/0726Approved 28 November 2025 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Glenbute EACH ACTUATION DELIVERS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE 100,0 ug | Not listed | 54085254/10.2.1/0852 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Salbutamol 100 ug glenmark EACH ACTUATION DELIVERS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE 100,0 ug | 100 ug | 540853.85254/10.2.1/0853.852 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Venteze cfc free EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 100,0 ug | Not listed | A390154A39/10.2.1/0154 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Asthavent respules EACH 2,5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2,5 mg | Not listed | A390482A39/10.2.1/0482 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Cipla-salbutamol respules EACH 2,5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2,5 mg | Not listed | A390483A39/10.2.1/0483 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventolin respirator solution EACH 1 ml AQUEOS SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 5 mg SALBUTAMOL | Solution | D0203D/10.2.1/203 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventolin injection EACH I ML CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 0,5 mg | 0.5 mg/mlInjection. | H0118H/10.2.2/118Approved 22 September 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Ventolin solution for intravenous infusion EACH I ml CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 1,0 mg | 1 mg/mlSolution for infusion. | H0119H/10.2.2/119Approved 22 September 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Venteze - 2 EACH TABLET CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 2 mg SALBUTAMOL | 2 mg,4 mgTablet. syrup | M0014M/10.2/14Approved 6 June 2022 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Venteze - 4 EACH TABLET CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 4 mg SALBUTAMOL | 2 mg,4 mgTablet. syrup | M0015M/10.2/15Approved 6 June 2022 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Venteze injection EACH 1 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 1 mcg SALBUTAMOL | Injection | M0111M/10.2/111 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Venteze inhaler EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100 ug | Inhaler | R0292R/10.2.1/292 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Venteze syrup EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 2 mg SALBUTAMOL | Syrup | T0084T/10.2/84 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-salbutamol tablets 2 mg* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2 mg | 2 mgTablets | U0053U/10.2.2/53 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Adco-salbutamol tablets 4 mg* EACH TABLET CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 4 mg | 4 mgTablets | U0054U/10.2.2/54 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Venteze respirator solution EACH 1 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO 5 mg SALBUTAMOL | Solution | U0187U/10.2.1/187 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Breatheze EACH METERED INHALATION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100 mcg | Not listed | W0062W/10.2.1/62 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventimax EACH METERED DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100 MCG | Not listed | W0226W/10.2.1/226 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventimax sr-8 EACH TABLET CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 8 mg | 8 | Y0034Y/10.2/34 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventolin nebules 2,5 MG EACH 2,5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 2,5 mg | 2,5 mg | Y0416Y/10.2.1/416 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Ventolin nebules 5,0 MG EACH 2,5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL SULPHATE EQUIVALENT TO SALBUTAMOL 5,0 mg | 5,0 mg | Y0417Y/10.2.1/417 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Salbulin autohaler EACH DOSE CONTAINS SALBUTAMOL 100 ug | Not listed | Z0071Z/10.2.1/71 | Registered | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Salbutamol sulphate equivalent to salbutamol
S4: Salbutamol
- when intended for injection.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7867
S3: Ipratropium
- when contained in respirator solutions.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 3804
S3: Salbutamol
- when contained in respirator solutions.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4238
S2: Ipratropium
- except when contained in respirator solutions.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 2177
S2: Salbutamol
- when contained in respirator solutions; (S3) and
- when intended for injection. (S4)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2654 to 2658
Matched through the component Ipratropium.
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.