Rocuronium
Sold as Esmeron, Rocustetic, Sandoz rocuronium, Adco rocuronium, Covan rocuronium, Restan-rocuronium, Restan rocuronium, Rocuronium iv biotech, Esroc, Rocuronium fresenius, Rocuronium ( ) viatris, Ronia, Euronom, Trakeze, Meraxt, Immaroc, Rocuronium kiara, Rocuronium bromide RBC, Vataron
[(2S,3S,5S,8R,9S,10S,13S,14S,16S,17R)-3-Hydroxy-10,13-dimethyl-2-morpholin-4-yl-16-(1-prop-2-enylpyrrolidin-1-ium-1-yl)-2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,11,12,14,15,16,17-tetradecahydro-1H-cyclopenta[a]phenanthren-17-yl] acetate
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 441290.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 16
- Registrations
- 27
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Msd (Pty) Ltd | Esmeron | 50 mg, 100 mg | 300192, 300193 | S4 | None |
| Sandoz South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Rocustetic | 50, 100 | 431135, 431136 | S4 | None |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) Ltd | Sandoz rocuronium | 50, 100 | 431140, 431141 | S4 | None |
| Adcock Ingram Critical Care (Pty) Ltd2 of 6 cancelled | Adco rocuronium, Covan rocuronium, Restan-rocuronium, Restan rocuronium | 50 mg, 100 mg | 440134, 440135, 440136, 440137, 440138, 440139 | S4 | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Rocuronium iv biotech | 50 | 440188 | S4 | None |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) LtdCancelled | Esroc | Not stated | 450664 | S4 | None |
| Fresenius Kabi South Africa (Pty) Ltd2 of 3 cancelled | Rocuronium fresenius | 25 mg/2,5 ml, 50 mg/5 ml, 100 mg/10 ml | 460060, 460061, 460062 | S4 | None |
| Viatris South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Rocuronium ( ) viatris | 10mg/ml 5ml | 490591 | S4 | None |
| Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Abex Pharmaceutica (Pty) Ltd | Ronia | 1 ml | 510970.969 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Activo Health (Pty) Ltd | Euronom | Not stated | 530158 | S4 | None |
| Pharma Dynamics (Pty) Ltd | Trakeze | 1 mL | 530159.158 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Kahma Biotech (Pty) Ltd | Meraxt | 10 mg/ml | 540866 | S4 | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Ruby Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Immaroc | 50mg | 550102 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Kiara Health (Pty) Ltd | Rocuronium kiara | 50 mg/ 5 ml, 100 mg/ 10 ml | 561070, 561071 | S4 | None |
| RBC Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Rocuronium bromide RBC | 50 mg/5 ml | 570359 | S4 | None |
| Innovata pharmaceuticals | Vataron | 10 mg/ml | 610186 | S4 | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Esmeron 50 MG EACH 5 ml CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50 mg | 50 mg | 30019230/17.1/0192 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Esmeron 100 MG EACH 10,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 100,0 mg | 100 mg | 30019330/17.1/0193 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Rocustetic 50 Each 5,0 ml Solution contains: Rocuronium Bromide 50,0 mg | 50 | 43113543/17.1.1/1135 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rocustetic 100 Each 10,0 ml Solution contains: Rocuronium Bromide 100,0 mg | 100 | 43113643/17.1/1136 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Sandoz rocuronium 50 EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50 | 43114043/17.1/1140 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Sandoz rocuronium 100 EACH 10,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 100,0 mg | 100 | 43114143/17.1/1141 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco rocuronium 50 MG EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50 mg | 44013444/17.1/0134 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Adco rocuronium 100 MG EACH 10,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 100,0 mg | 100 mg | 44013544/17.1/0135 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Covan rocuronium 50 MG EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50 mg | 44013644/17.1/0136 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Covan rocuronium 100 MG EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 100,0 mg | 100 mg | 44013744/17.1/0137 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Restan-rocuronium 50 MG EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50 mg | 44013844/17.1/0138 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Restan rocuronium 100 MG EACH 10,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 100,0 mg | 100 mg | 44013944/17.1/0139 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium 50 iv biotech EACH 5,0 ml VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50 | 44018844/17.1/0188 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Esroc EACH VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | Not listed | 45066445/17.1/0664 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium 25 mg/2,5 ML fresenius EACH 2,5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 25,0 mg | 25 mg/2,5 ml | 46006046/17.1/0060 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium 50 mg/5 ML fresenius EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50 mg/5 ml | 46006146/17.1/0061 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium 100 mg/10 ML fresenius EACH 10,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 100,0 mg | 100 mg/10 ml | 46006246/17.1/0062 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium injection 10mg/ml (5ml) viatris Each 5,0 ml Vial contains: Rocuronium Bromide 50,0 mg | 10mg/ml 5mlInjection | 49059149/17.1/0591 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Ronia | 1 mlSolution for injection or infusion. | 510970.96951/17.1/0970.969Approved 30 April 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Euronom EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 10,0 mg | Not listed | 53015853/17.1/0158 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Trakeze EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 10,0 mg | 1 mLSolution for injection or infusion. | 530159.15853/17.1/0159.158Approved 22 November 2023 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Meraxt 10 mg/ml EACH VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 10 mg/ml | 54086654/17.1/0866 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Immaroc EACH VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 50,0 mg | 50mgSolution for injection | 55010255/17.1/0102Approved 29 March 2022 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Rocuronium 50 mg/ 5 ML kiara EACH VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE EQUIVALENT TO ROCURONIUM 50,0 mg | 50 mg/ 5 ml | 56107056/1.2.2/1070 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium 100 mg/ 10 ML kiara EACH VIAL CONTAINS ROCURONIUM BROMIDE EQUIVALENT TO ROCURONIUM 100,0 mg | 100 mg/ 10 ml | 56107156/1.2.2/1071 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Rocuronium bromide 50 mg/5 ML injection RBC Each vial contains: Rocuronium Bromide 50,0 mg | 50 mg/5 mlInjection | 57035957/17.1/0359 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Vataron 10 mg/ml EACH 1,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS: ROCURONIUM BROMIDE 10,0 mg | 10 mg/ml | 61018661/17.1/0186 | Registered | S4 | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Rocuronium bromide
S4: Rocuronium
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7832
Pharmacological class: Peripherally acting muscle relaxants. (class 17.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Ronia, Macleods Pharmaceuticals SA (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.