Skip to content
zameds

Pseudoephedrine

Sold as Adco-sufedrin, Sinu-med, Adco-symptofed, Symptofed, Monofed, Drinasal s, Dykafed, Drinasal t, Dietene, Sudafed sinus, Isofedrin, Sinu-med ped

Loading the molecular structure
C10H15NO165.23 g/mol

(1S,2S)-2-(Methylamino)-1-phenylpropan-1-ol

Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 7028.

Background

Loading...
Loading Wikipedia summary

Registration

Applicants
6
Registrations
14

Applicants and registrations

ApplicantBrandsDosagesRegistrationsScheduleLeaflets
Adcock ingram limitedCancelledAdco-sufedrin, Adco-symptofed, Symptofed, Dykafed, Dietenetablets, syrup270188, 270258, 270479, 270480, 290354, 360400Not determinedNone
Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelledSinu-med, Monofed, Sinu-med pedtablets, syrup270470, 280497, 280510, X0170Not determinedNone
Viatris South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelledDrinasal sNot stated280682Not determinedNone
Acino Pharma (Pty) LtdDrinasal tNot stated300015Not determinedNone
Johnson & Johnson (Pty) Ltd û East LondonCancelledSudafed sinusNot statedF0082Not determinedNone
The Premier Pharmaceutical Co LtdCancelledIsofedrinNot statedV0244Not determinedNone

Variants

ProductStrength and formRegistrationStatusScheduleLeaflets
Adco-sufedrin tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Tablets27018827/5.8/0188CancelledNot determinedNone
Adco-sufedrin syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg

Syrup27025827/5.8/0258CancelledNot determinedNone
Sinu-med tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Tablets27047027/5.8/0470CancelledNot determinedNone
Adco-symptofed

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Not listed27047927/5.8/0479CancelledNot determinedNone
Symptofed syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg

Syrup27048027/5.8/0480CancelledNot determinedNone
Monofed syrup

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg

Syrup28049728/5.8/0497CancelledNot determinedNone
Monofed tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Tablets28051028/5.8/0510CancelledNot determinedNone
Drinasal s

EACH 5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg

Not listed28068228/5.8/0682CancelledNot determinedNone
Dykafed tablets

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Tablets29035429/5.8/0354CancelledNot determinedNone
Drinasal t

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 ,0 mg

Not listed30001530/5.8/0015RegisteredNot determinedNone
Dietene syrup

EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 20,0 mg

Syrup36040036/11.3/0400CancelledNot determinedNone
Sudafed sinus

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Not listedF0082F/5.8/82CancelledNot determinedNone
Isofedrin*

EACH TABLET CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 60 mg

Not listedV0244V/5.8/244CancelledNot determinedNone
Sinu-med ped

EACH 5 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PSEUDOEPHEDRINE HYDROCHLORIDE 30 mg

Not listedX0170X/5.8/170CancelledNot determinedNone

Regulatory status

This product is still scheduled by law even when this site could not determine which tier it falls under. The label carries the S number in a square border; ask a pharmacist if you need to know its schedule.

Listings for this ingredient that could not be applied to this product

  • S6: Pseudoephedrine

    • except contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export, being oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 60 milligrams or controlled-release oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 120 milligrams of pseudoephedrine per dose, and not more than 240 milligrams per day, when in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, subject to a maximum pack size of 720 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer. (S2)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 10412 to 10417

  • S2: Pseudoephedrine

    • contained in products registered in terms of the Act, and not intended for export,
    • Immediate-release oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 60 milligrams of pseudoephedrine per dose or controlled-release oral preparations and mixtures containing not more than 120 milligrams of pseudoephedrine per dose, and not more than 240 milligrams per day, when in combination with another pharmacologically active substance and intended for the symptomatic relief of colds and flu, subject to a maximum pack size of 720 milligrams and limited to one pack per customer. (S6)

    Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2600 to 2607

This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.

SAHPRA documents

SAHPRA has not published a professional information or patient information leaflet for this product.

Research articles

Loading...
Loading PubMed articles