Prednisolone
Sold as Prelone, Nuflam, Adco prednisolone, Panafcortelone, Aspelone, Redipred, Deltacortril injectable, Solu-delta cortef, Prednisone, Lenisolone, Prednisolone B.P., Predeltilone, Prednidor, Pred mild sterile eye, Pred forte sterile eye, Minims prednisolone sodium phosphate
(8S,9S,10R,11S,13S,14S,17R)-11,17-Dihydroxy-17-(2-hydroxyacetyl)-10,13-dimethyl-7,8,9,11,12,14,15,16-octahydro-6H-cyclopenta[a]phenanthren-3-one
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 5755.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 13
- Registrations
- 19
- Schedule source
- Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adcock ingram limited1 of 4 cancelled | Prelone, Adco prednisolone, Panafcortelone | syrup, 15 mg/ 5 ml, tablets | 280158, 380125, 380126, G3055 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) LtdCancelled | Nuflam | Not stated | 370022 | S4 | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited1 of 3 cancelled | Aspelone, Redipred, Lenisolone | 5 mg, 15 mg per 5 ml | 410189, 410243, G2968 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Deltacortril injectable | suspension | 83/488 | S4 | None |
| Zoetis South Africa (Pty) LtdCancelled | Solu-delta cortef | 100 mg | 83/751 | S4 | None |
| Upjohn South Africa (Pty) Ltd | Solu-delta cortef | 500 MG | 83/752 | S4 | None |
| Resmed healthcare | Prednisone | 5mg | G1670 | S4 | None |
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Prednisolone B.P. | tablet | G3094 | S4 | None |
| Hoechst Marion Roussel LtdCancelled | Predeltilone | Not stated | G3098 | S4 | None |
| Monopharm CCCancelled | Prednidor | Not stated | G3195 | S4 | None |
| Abbvie (Pty) Ltd | Pred mild sterile eye, Pred forte sterile eye | suspension | J0073, J0077 | S4 | None |
| Allergan Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd | Pred forte sterile eye | suspension | J77 | S4 | None |
| Soflens (Pty) Ltd | Minims prednisolone sodium phosphate | 2.5 mg | P0212 | S4 | PIPIL |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prelone syrup EACH 5 ml CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE 15 mg | Syrup | 28015828/21.5.1/0158 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Nuflam EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE 15,0 mg | Not listed | 37002237/21.5.1/0022 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Adco prednisolone syrup EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS :PREDNISOLONE 15,0 mg | 15 mg/ 5 mlSyrup. | 38012538/21.5.1/0125Approved 7 November 2024 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Panafcortelone syrup EACH 5,0 ml SYRUP CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE 15,0 mg | Syrup | 38012638/21.5.1/0126 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Aspelone EACH 5,0 ml LIQUID CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO PREDNISOLONE 15,0 mg | 15 mg per 5 mlLiquid | 41018941/21.5.1/0189Approved 26 November 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Redipred EACH 5,0 ml LIQUID CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE EQUIVALENT TO PREDNISOLONE 15,0 mg | Not listed | 41024341/21.5.1/0243 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Deltacortril injectable suspension EACH 1,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE A 10,0 mg | Suspension | 83/488 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Solu-delta cortef 100 MG 1 ML PREDNISOLONE SODIUM SUCCINATE A 140,6 MG | 100 mg | 83/751 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Solu-delta cortef 500 MG 1 ML PREDNISOLONE SODIUM SUCCINATE A 731 MG | 500 MG | 83/752 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Prednisone 5mg tablet Each tablet contains 5mg Prednisone | 5mgTablet | G1670 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Lenisolone tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE A 5,0 mg | 5 mgTablets | G2968Approved 21 November 2023 | Old Medicine | S4 | PIPIL |
| Panafcortelone tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE A 5,0 MG | Tablets | G3055 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Prednisolone tablet B.P. EACH TABLET CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE A 5,0 mg | Tablet | G3094 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Predeltilone EACH TABLET CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE A 5,0 MG | Not listed | G3098 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Prednidor EACH TABLET CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE A 5,0 MG | Not listed | G3195 | Cancelled | S4 | None |
| Pred mild sterile eye suspension EACH 1 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE ACETATE 1,3 mg | Suspension | J0073J/15.2/73 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Pred forte sterile eye suspension EACH 1 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS :PREDNISOLONE ACETATE 10 mg | Suspension | J0077J/15.2/77 | Registered | S4 | None |
| Pred forte sterile eye suspension EACH ml CONTAINS PREDNISOLONE ACETATE A 10 mg | Suspension | J77 | Old Medicine | S4 | None |
| Minims prednisolone sodium phosphate 0,5 % EACH 0,5 ml SSOLUTION CONTAINS: PREDNISOLONE SODIUM PHOSPHATE 2,5 mg | 2.5 mgEye drops. | P0212P/15.2/212Approved 28 April 2021 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, matched to the Consolidated Schedules by ingredient, confidence high.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Prednisolone
S4: Prednisolone
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7635
Pharmacological class: Corticosteroids and analogues. (class 21.5.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Adco prednisolone syrup, Adcock ingram limited is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.