Piroxicam
Sold as Roxifen, Xycam, Pyrocaps, Brexecam, Piroxiscript, Rheugesic, Pixicam, Pirofen, Merck-piroxicam, Piroxicam actor dt, Feldene, Adco-piroxicam, Adco piroxicam, Inflamed
4-Hydroxy-2-methyl-1,1-dioxo-N-pyridin-2-yl-1lambda6,2-benzothiazine-3-carboxamide
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 54676228.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 9
- Registrations
- 21
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gulf Drug Company (Pty) Ltd | Roxifen | Not stated | 270059 | Not determined | None |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCertificate held by Pharmacare limited3 of 5 cancelled | Xycam, Piroxiscript | suppositories, 10, 20 mg, dispersible tablets | 270159, 270304, 270305, V0250, Y0227 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Ranbaxy (SA) (Pty) Ltd | Pyrocaps | Not stated | 270187 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limited2 of 6 cancelled | Brexecam, Adco-piroxicam, Adco piroxicam, Inflamed | effervescent tablets, 10 mg, 20 mg | 270205, 330186, U0195, U0196, Z0088, Z0089 | Not determined | None |
| Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd2 of 3 cancelled | Rheugesic, Piroxicam actor dt | 20 mg, gel | 290302, 340095, 340141 | S2 | PIPIL |
| Kiara Health (Pty) Ltd | Pixicam | 20 mg | 290752 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pharma-q Holdings (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Pharma-q (Pty) Ltd | Pirofen | 20 mg | 310289 | S3 | PIPIL |
| Merck Generics Rsa (Pty) Ltd | Merck-piroxicam | 10, 20 | 320688, 320689 | Not determined | None |
| Pfizer Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Feldene | 5 mg | M0007 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roxifen EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | Not listed | 27005927/3.1/0059 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Xycam suppositories EACH SUPPOSITORY CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | Suppositories | 27015927/3.1/0159 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Pyrocaps EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | Not listed | 27018727/3.1/0187 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Brexecam EACH TABLET CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20,0 mg | Not listed | 27020527/3.1/0205 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Piroxiscript 10* EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 10 mg | 10 | 27030427/3.1/0304 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Piroxiscript 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | 20 | 27030527/3.1/0305 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Rheugesic EACH TABLET CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | 20 mgDispersible tablet | 29030229/3.1/0302Approved 7 April 2022 | Registered | S2 | PIPIL |
| Pixicam 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20,0 mg | 20 mg.Dispersible tablets | 29075229/3.1/0752Approved 8 May 2023 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Pirofen 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | 20 mgCapsule | 31028931/3.1/0289Approved 28 March 2025 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Merck-piroxicam 10 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 10,0 mg | 10 | 32068832/3.1/0688 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Merck-piroxicam 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20,0 mg | 20 | 32068932/3.1/0689 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Brexecam effervescent tablets EACH EFFERVESCENT TABLET CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20,0 mg | Effervescent tablets | 33018633/3.1/0186 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Piroxicam actor dt 20 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20,0 mg | 20 | 34009534/3.1/0095 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Rheugesic gel EACH 1,0 g GEL CONTAINS PIROXICAM 5,0 mg | Gel | 34014134/3.1/0141 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Feldene 5 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 5,0 mg | 5 mg | M0007M/3.1/0007 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco-piroxicam 10 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 10,0 mg | 10 mg | U0195U/3.1/195 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Adco piroxicam 20 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | 20 mg | U0196U/3.1/196 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Xycam - 20 EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | 20 mgCapsules | V0250V/3.1/250Approved 3 January 2023 | Registered | S3 | PIPIL |
| Xycam dispersible tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS PIROXICAM 20 mg | Dispersible tablets | Y0227Y/3.1/227 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Inflamed capsules 10 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM A 10 mg | 10 mgCapsules | Z0088 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Inflamed capsules 20 MG EACH CAPSULE CONTAINS PIROXICAM A 20 mg | 20 mgCapsules | Z0089 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S3 sits on the scale
Needs a doctor's prescription, dispensed by a pharmacist.
Schedule 3 medicines can only be sold on a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist. A pharmacist dispenses the medicine once they have the written prescription, or a verbal instruction from a prescriber they know. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S3, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Piroxicam
S3: Piroxicam
- when intended for the emergency treatment of acute gout attacks, for a maximum treatment period of 5 days; and
- when intended for the treatment of mild to moderate pain or fever of inflammatory origin or for the treatment of post-traumatic conditions, for a maximum treatment period of 5 days. (S2)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 4138 to 4142
S2: Piroxicam
- when intended for the emergency treatment of acute gout attacks, for a maximum treatment period of 5 days;(S3)
- when intended for the treatment of mild to moderate pain or fever of inflamamatory origin or for the treatment of post-traumatic conditions, for a maximum treatment period of 5 days; (S3)
- except when intended for veterinary use. (S3)
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, lines 2539 to 2547
Pharmacological class: Antirheumatics (anti-inflammatory agents). (class 3.1)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Rheugesic, Cipla Medpro (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S2 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.