Phenoxymethylpenicillin
Sold as Spec-pen vk, Athlone phenoxymethylpenicillin, Metpen, Austell-pen vk, Dezzpen, Dezovek, A-lennon phenoxymethylpenicillin, Len v k, Bio-vk, Novo vk, Gsa-phenoxy-meth-pen s125, Orapen, Betapen, V-k-cillin, Darocillin, Compu-pen, Incil vk s, Incil vk t, Len V.K., Betacillin V.K.
(2S,5R,6R)-3,3-Dimethyl-7-oxo-6-[(2-phenoxyacetyl)amino]-4-thia-1-azabicyclo[3.2.0]heptane-2-carboxylic acid
Drag to rotate. Structure from PubChem CID 6869.
Background
Registration
- Applicants
- 11
- Registrations
- 29
- Schedule source
- SAHPRA documentation
Applicants and registrations
| Applicant | Brands | Dosages | Registrations | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascendis Pharma (Pty) Ltd | Spec-pen vk | 250 | 320671 | Not determined | None |
| Dezzo Trading 392 (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Shanur Healthcare (Pty) Ltd | Athlone phenoxymethylpenicillin, Dezzpen | 125/5 ml, 250/5 ml, 250 mg | 330047, 330048, 450348 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCertificate held by Austell Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Metpen, Austell-pen vk, Dezovek | 125, 250 | 420038, 420039, 420040, 420041, 450349 | S4 | PIPIL |
| Pharmacare limited û woodmeadCancelled | A-lennon phenoxymethylpenicillin, Len v k, Compu-pen, Len V.K. | 125 MG/5 ML, 125 mg, 250 mg/5 ML, 250 mg, syrup | A0037, A0038, A0040, A0242, A0315, A0327, G0089, J0301 | Not determined | None |
| Biotech Laboratories (Pty) Ltd | Bio-vk, Novo vk | 125 mg / 5 ml, 250 ml/5 ml, 250 mg | A0422, A0423, A0428 | Not determined | None |
| Adcock ingram limitedCancelled | Gsa-phenoxy-meth-pen s125 | Not stated | A0542 | Not determined | None |
| Genpharm Pharmaceuticals (1993) (Pty) LtdCancelled | Orapen | 125 mg | B0050 | Not determined | None |
| Ranbaxy Pharmaceutical (Pty) Ltd | Betapen | 250 mg | B0203 | Not determined | None |
| Alliance Pharma (Pty) Ltd1 of 4 cancelled | V-k-cillin, Incil vk s, Incil vk t | 125, 250 | D0173, G0144, G0145, G0146 | Not determined | None |
| Hoechst Marion Roussel LtdCancelled | Darocillin | 250 | D0244 | Not determined | None |
| Be-tabs Pharmaceuticals (Pty) LtdCancelled | Betacillin V.K. | Not stated | W0326 | Not determined | None |
Variants
| Product | Strength and form | Registration | Status | Schedule | Leaflets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spec-pen vk 250 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | 32067132/20.1.2/0671 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Athlone phenoxymethylpenicillin 125/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125,0 mg | 125/5 ml | 33004733/20.1.2/0047 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Athlone phenoxymethylpenicillin 250/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250/5 ml | 33004833/20.1.2/0048 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Metpen 125 EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125,0 mg | 125Powder for oral solution | 42003842/20.1.2/0038Approved 30 January 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Metpen 250 EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250Powder for oral solution | 42003942/20.1.2/0039Approved 30 January 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Austell-pen vk 125 EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125,0 mg | 125Powder for oral solution | 42004042/20.1.2/0040Approved 31 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Austell-pen vk 250 EACH 5,0 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250Powder for oral solution | 42004142/20.1.2/0041Approved 31 March 2025 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Dezzpen 250 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 mgTablets | 45034845/20.1.2/0348Approved 13 March 2026 | Registered | S4 | PIPIL |
| Dezovek 250 EACH TABLET CONTAINS :PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250,0 mg | 250 | 45034945/20.1.2/0349 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon phenoxymethylpenicillin 250 mg/5 ML EACH 5 ML SYRUP CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 MG PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 250 mg/5 ML | A0037A/20.1.2/37 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon phenoxymethylpenicillin 125 mg/5 ML 5 ML OF PREPARED SYRUP PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM A EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125 MG | 125 MG/5 ML | A0038 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| A-lennon phenoxymethylpenicillin 250 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250 MG | 250 mgTablets | A0040A/20.1.2/40 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Len v k syrup EACH 5 ML SYRUP WHEN RECONSTITUTED CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM A EQUIVALENT TO 125 MG PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | Syrup | A0242 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Len v k 250 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 250 mgTablets | A0315A/20.1.2/315 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Len v k 125 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM A EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 125 mgTablets | A0327 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Bio-vk 125 MG / 5 ML granules EACH 5,0 ml SUSPENSION CONTAINS :PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 mg / 5 mlGranules | A0422A/20.1.2/0422 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Novo vk granules 250 ml/5 ML EACH 5,0 ml CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM A 318,8 mg | 250 ml/5 mlGranules | A0423 | Old Medicine | Not determined | None |
| Bio-vk 250 MG tablets EACH TABLET CONTAINS : PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM 280 MG EQUIVALENT TO 250 MG PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 250 mgTablets | A0428A/10.1.2/428 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Gsa-phenoxy-meth-pen s125 EACH 5 ml CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM A EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125 mg | Not listed | A0542 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Orapen 125 MG tablets* EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 125,0 mg | 125 mgTablets | B0050B/20.1.2/50 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Betapen 250 MG granules EACH 5 ml WHEN DILUTED CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM 250 ,0 mg | 250 mgGranules | B0203B/20.1.2/203 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| V-k-cillin EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250 mg | Not listed | D0173D/20.1.2/173 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Darocillin 250 granules EACH 5 ml SOLUTION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 250Granules | D0244D/20.1.2/244 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Compu-pen EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN 250 mg | Not listed | G0089G/20.1.2/89 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Incil vk s 125 EACH 5 ml CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 125 | G0144G/20.1.2/144 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Incil vk t 125 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 125 | G0145G/20.1.2/145 | Registered | Not determined | None |
| Incil vk t 250 EACH TABLET CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 250 | G0146G/20.1.2/146 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Len V.K. 250 syrup EACH 5 ml RECONSTITUTED SUSPENSION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 250 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | 250Syrup | J0301J/20.1.2/301 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
| Betacillin V.K.* EACH 5 ml SOLUION CONTAINS PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN POTASSIUM EQUIVALENT TO 125 mg PHENOXYMETHYLPENICILLIN | Not listed | W0326W/20.1.2/326 | Cancelled | Not determined | None |
Regulatory status
Where S4 sits on the scale
Prescription-only medicine.
Schedule 4 covers most ordinary prescription medicines. You need a prescription from an authorised prescriber, such as a doctor or dentist, and a pharmacist dispenses it. Its price, name, pack size and strength can still be told to the public, as long as nothing links it to what it treats.
Schedule S4, read from the product's PI-PIL leaflet.
Who may supply: A pharmacist dispensing against a written or verbal prescription from an authorised prescriber; a veterinarian, who may also prescribe, compound or dispense it directly; a medical practitioner or dentist, who may prescribe it and may compound or dispense it directly only if licensed under section 22C(1)(a); manufacturers and wholesalers may supply people who may lawfully possess it; and, for animal treatment, a person practising a para-veterinary profession, on a veterinarian's written or verbal instruction.
Consolidated Schedules listings for Phenoxymethylpenicillin potassium equivalent to phenoxymethylpenicillin
S4: Phenoxymethylpenicillin
- except when intended for the prophylaxis of rheumatic fever.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 7543
S3: Phenoxymethylpenicillin
- when intended for the prophylaxis of rheumatic fever.
Consolidated Schedules 06 July 2026, line 4118
Pharmacological class: Penicillins. (class 20.1.2)
This is an informational summary of the Medicines and Related Substances Act 101 of 1965 and its 2017 General Regulations. It is not medical advice and not legal advice. Always check the medicine's label, which carries the schedule number inside a square border, or ask a pharmacist if you are unsure.
SAHPRA documents
Schedule Verification
Metpen 125, Austell Pharmaceuticals (Pty) Ltd is scheduled S4 in its official SAHPRA documents, read with 90% confidence.
These documents are provided by SAHPRA for informational purposes. Always consult with a healthcare professional for medical advice.